This is the "ADR and Commercial Arbitration" page of the "Alternative Dispute Resolution and Commercial Arbitration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Alternative Dispute Resolution and Commercial Arbitration  

A guide to the library holdings on ADR and Commercial Arbitration
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/ADRandcommercialarbitration Print Guide RSS Updates
ADR and Commercial Arbitration Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on ADR and Commercial Arbitration. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on ADR and Commercial Arbitration. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

ADR and Commercial Arbitration material for Common law jurisdictions is shelved at SJ350
International Commercial Arbitration material is shelved at SG20

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on ADR and commercial arbitration. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Born, G.B     International commercial arbitration  2014

Brown, C.   A common law of international adjudication 2007

Brown, H.J. & Marriott, A.   ADR principles and practice 2011

Carbonneau, T. Cases and materials on arbitration law and practice    2012

Craig, W.L., Park, W.W. and Paulsson, J.    International Chamber of Commerce arbitration   2000

El-Ahdab, A    Arbitration with the Arab countries  2011

Goldberg, S.   Dispute resolution: negotiation, mediation, and other processes    2007

Gulliver, P.    Disputes and negotiations. 1979

Kröll, S. et al.   International arbitration and international commercial law: synergy, convergence and evolution. 2011

Lew, J    Applicable law in international commercial arbitration. 1978

Lew, J. et al   Comparative international commercial arbitration  2003

Lew, J.  Contemporary problems in international arbitration. 1986

McLachlan, C. International investment arbitration: substantive principles.  2nd ed. 2017

Merkin, R.    Arbitration Act 1996  2014

Merkin, R.   Arbitration law  2004

Merrills, J.G.   International dispute settlement.  2017

Mistelis, L. & Lew, J.   Pervasive problems in international arbitration   2006

Mistelis, L.     Concise international arbitration 2010

Mustill, M.J. and Boyd, S.C    Law and practice of commercial arbitration in England.  1989                              

Palmer, M. & Roberts, S.    Dispute processes: ADR and the primary forms of decision making   2005

Palmeter, D & Mavroidis, P.   Dispute settlement in the World Trade Organization: Practice and procedure.  2004

Rau, A. et al.   Processes of dispute resolution: the role of lawyers  2006   

Redfern, A. and Hunter, M.   Redfern & Hunter on international arbitration. 2016

Reed, L.  Guide to ICSID arbitration  2011

Reisman, W.M. International commercial arbitration : cases, materials and  notes on the resolution of international business disputes 2nd ed. 2015                                          

Rosenne, S.   Interpretation, revision and other recourse from international judgments and awards 2007

Rutledge, Peter B.   Arbitration and the Constitution 2013

Sanders, P   Art of arbitration: essays on international arbitration. 1982

Sanders, P.   International arbitration: liber amicorum for Martin Domke. 1967

Sanders, P. and van den Berg, A.J.  International handbook on commercial arbitration (1999-)

Strong, S. ed. Arbitration of trust disputes: issues in national and international law 2016

Steingruber, A.  Consent in international arbitration 2012

Tweeddale, A. & Tweeddale, K.  Arbitration of commercial disputes. 2007

Várady, T.    International commercial arbitration: a transnational perspective. 2009

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on ADR and commercial arbitration from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on ADR and commercial arbitration but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

American review of international arbitration

Arbitration: Journal of the Institute of Arbitrators

Arbitration International

Dispute resolution journal: of the American Arbitration Association

Emory international law review

ICC international court of arbitration bulletin

International arbitration law review (Westlaw  only post 2006)

Investment arbitration reporter

Journal of dispute resolution

Journal of international arbitration

Law and practice of international courts and tribunals

Ohio state journal on dispute resolution

Pepperdine dispute resolution law journal  (Hein)

World trade and arbitration materials

Yearbook commercial arbitration

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning ADR and commercial arbitration issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on ADR & Commercial Arbitration  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on ADR & Commercial Arbitration. 

ASIL Electronic Resource Guide to Commercial Arbitration

http://www.asil.org/sites/default/files/ERG_ARB.pdf

International Centre for the Settlement of Investment Disputes

https://icsid.worldbank.org/ICSID/Index.jsp

ICC International Chamber of Commerce

http://www.iccwbo.org/about-icc/organization/dispute-resolution-services/icc-international-court-of-arbitration/

International Investment Arbitration & Public Policy (IIAPP). Open access resource

http://www.iiapp.org/

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip