This is the "European Union" page of the "European Union" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

European Union  

A Guide to the Library holdings on European Union Law
Last Updated: Nov 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/Europeanunion Print Guide RSS Updates
European Union Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on European Union Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on European Union Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

European Union Law material is shelved at GO1.A1

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on European Union Law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Barnard, C.    Substantive law of the EU: the four freedoms 4th ed. 2013

Blackstone’s UK and EU competition documents 8th ed. 2015                    

Blackstone’s  EU treaties & legislation 2015/2016  26th ed. 2015

Cameron, P. & Heffron, R. Legal aspects of EU energy regulation: the consolidation of EU energy regulation across Europe. 2nd ed. 2016

Chalmers, D.   European Union law text cases and materials 3rd ed. 2014

Craig, P. & De Burca, G.  The evolution of EU law  2nd ed. 2011

Craig, P. & De Burca, G. EU law: text,  cases and materials 6th ed. 2015

Eeckhout, P.    EU external relations  law  2nd ed. 2011

Hartley, T.     The foundations of European Union law: an introduction to the constitutional and administrative law of the European Union 8th ed. 2014

Hofmann, H. et al     Administrative law and policy of the European Union 2011

Krämer, L.     EU Environmental law 8th ed. 2015

Mathijsen, P.     Mathijsen’s guide to European Union law  11th ed. 2013

O’Keeffe, D & Twomey, P.   Legal issues of the Amsterdam Treaty 1999

Lasok, K.  Law and Institutions of the European Union 7th ed. 2001

Lindsay, A. & Berridge, A.    The EU merger regulation: substantive issues  4th ed. 2012

Moloney, N.       EU securities and financial markets regulation 3rd ed. 2014

Nihoul, Paul & Rodford, P.   EU electronic telecommunications law  2nd ed. 2011

Peers, S. EU justice and home affairs law 4th ed. 2016

Rudden, B & Wyatt, D.   EU treaties and legislation 9th ed. 2004

Steiner, J. & Woods, L.   Steiner & Woods EU law 12th ed. 2014    

Walter, M. & Von Lewinsky, S.   European copyright law. A commentary 2010

Weatherill, S.     Cases and materials on EU law 12th ed. 2016

Dashwood, A. et al.    Wyatt & Dashwood’s European Union law  6th ed. 2011

 

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on European Union Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on European Union Law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Common Market law reports

Common Market law review

Court of Justice of the European Union. Reports of cases before the Court  See Eur-Lex post 2011

EC tax review

European Business organization law review

European Union treaty series (HMSO)

European Competition law review 

European Constitutional law review

European Court reports See Eur-Lex post 2011

European human rights law review

European law review

Official journal of the European Union C series  Now available on Eur-Lex

Official journal of the European Union L Series.  Now available on Eur-Lex.

Official journal of the European Union. special edition, 2nd series (in force 1973)  Now available on Eur-Lex.

Yearbook of European law

 

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

Primary legislation

The treaties establishing the EC, other amending treaties, acts of accession, and the Treaty on European Union constitute the primary legislation for the EU. A collection of treaties in 2 volumes (English Text), I Treaties establishing the European Union, II Documents concerning the accessions to the European Union is available from the Short Loan Collection.

 

Secondary legislation

A number of different instruments constitute the secondary legislation of the EU. These include:

Directives - to be implemented by law of each member state.

Regulations - automatically law in each member state.

Decisions - binding to those to whom they are addressed.

Recommendations and Opinions - not binding.

Such secondary legislation is published in the Official Journal of the European Union

 

Official Journal of the European Union (OJ)

 " L " series (Legislation) FOL GO1.A1.E(a)1 (Eur-Lex post 2013)

This series lists secondary legislation divided into regulations ("whose publication is obligatory") and directives, decisions, recommendations and opinions ("whose publication is not obligatory").

" C " series (Information and Notices - Communications) FOL GO1.A1.E(a)1 (Eur-Lex post 2013)

This series contains texts of resolutions adopted by the European Parliament, minutes of proceedings of the European Parliament, parliamentary questions and answers, judgments of the Court of Justice, draft legislation, and opinions of the Economic and Social Committee and of the Court of Auditors

 

Commission Documents (COM documents)

COM documents publish the EU Commission's official views on Union matters. They include: the Commission's proposals for legislation, views on general policy, annual reports from various bodies and reports on the implementation of policy. Each document is given a unique number e.g. COM (93) 213 final - indicating that this is the final draft of a Commission document no. 213 for 1993. Draft documents are not normally distributed to the general public.

To trace COM docs on a particular subject use EUR-Lex  http://eur-lex.europa.eu/en/index.htm

 

Court of Justice of the European Union

The Court of Justice or European Court of Justice, in Luxembourg ensures that EU law is observed in each member state, and passes judgments on the interpretation of EU law. Law reports of cases before this Court were published in:

European Court Reports ECR (until 2014 with cases heard up to December 2011)    

Case decisions from 2012- are only available

electronically on Eur-Lex at  http://eur-lex.europa.eu/collection/eu-law/eu-case-law.html

General Court (known as the Court of First Instance until December 2009)

This Court began operating in 1989. Law reports of cases before this court were published in:

European Court Reports Part II until the ECR ceased printed publication.

The Civil Service Tribunal was established in 2004 and hears actions brought by EU employees.  Published in ECR Staff cases (online only from 2010 cases)

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find EU sources. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

 

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on European Union Law  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on European Union Law.

ASIL Electronic Resource Guide. European Union. Updated by M. Raisch, March 2014.

http://www.asil.org/sites/default/files/ERG_EU.pdf

Council of the European Union

http://www.consilium.europa.eu/en/home/

Eur-lex gives access to a wide range of EU legislation and case law in the EU languages. For a fuller description, please see http://eur-lex.europa.eu/content/welcome/about.html

European Banking Authority. Established January 2011

http://www.eba.europa.eu/

European E-Justice Portal

https://e-justice.europa.eu/home.do

European Parliament. Legislative Observatory

http://www.europarl.europa.eu/oeil/home/home.do

 

For a more detailed research guide to EU law, please refer to

http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/eu

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip