This is the "IT and Telecommunications Law" page of the "IT/Telecommunications Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

IT/Telecommunications Law  

An introduction to the library holdings on Information Technology/Telecommunications Law
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/Infotechandtelecommunications Print Guide RSS Updates
IT and Telecommunications Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Information Technology/
Telecommunications Law
. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Sharayne Kerr, September 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Information Technology and Telecommunications Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Comparative IT and Telecommunications Law material is shelved at SB80.

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on information technology and telecommunications law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Akdeniz, Y. et al. The Internet law and society. 2000           

Bainbridge, D. Introduction to computer law. 5th ed. 2004

Black, S. Telecommunications law in the internet age. 2002

Blackstone’s statutes on IT and e-commerce law. 2008

Edwards, L. Law and the Internet: a framework for electronic commerce.  3rd ed. 2009

Gillies, D. & Marshall, R. Telecommunications law. 2nd ed. 2003

Koenig, C. EC competition and telecommunications law. 2nd ed. 2009

Huber, P. Federal telecommunications law. 1999 (with 2003 supp.)

Lloyd, I.J. Information technology law.  7th ed. 2014

Lloyd, I.J. Legal aspects of the information society. 2000

Marsden, C. Regulating the global information society. 2000

Morgan, R. Morgan and Burden on IT contracts. 9th ed. 2013

Murray, A. Information technology law: the law and society. 2nd ed. 2013

Nihoul, P & Rodford, P. EU electronic communications law. 2nd ed. 2011

Reed, C. Computer Law. 7th ed. 2011      

Reed, C. Internet law text and materials. 2nd ed.  2004

Walden, I & Angel, J. Telecommunications law and regulation. 4th ed. 2012

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on information technology and telecommunications law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on information technology and telecommunications law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Boston university journal of science and technology law               

Communications law

Computer and telecommunications law review

Computer law and security report

Computers and law

Harvard journal of law and technology

Hastings communications and entertainment law journal

IDEA: intellectual property law review

Information and communications technology law

International journal of law and information technology

International review of law, computers & technology

John Marshall journal of computer and information law

Journal of law and information science

Michigan telecommunications and technology law review

Rutgers computer and technology law journal

Santa Clara computer and high-technology law journal

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning information technology issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on information technology law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including information technology law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on information technology law:

Berkeley Technology Law Journal

http://btlj.org/

Yale Law School. Information Society Project

http://www.yaleisp.org/policy-work

IViR. University of Amsterdam. Institute for Information Law

http://www.ivir.nl/?lang=en

SCL. Society for Computers and Law (leading UK organisation for practitioners in IT law)

http://www.scl.org/site.aspx?i=ho0

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip