This is the "Legislative Drafting" page of the "Legislative Drafting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legislative Drafting  

An introduction to the library's holdings on legislative drafting
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/Legislativedrafting Print Guide RSS Updates
Legislative Drafting Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Legislative Drafting. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, June 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Legislative Drafting. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Comparative legislative drafting material is shelved at SB25
Textbooks for Common law countries are shelved at SJ275
European Union textbooks on legislative drafting are shelved at GO1.A1.C.6

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on legislative drafting. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Brazier, A. et al. Law in the making: influence and change in the legislative process. 2008

Burger, A. A guide to legislative drafting in South Africa.   2002

Butt, P. & Castle, R. Modern legal drafting: a guide to using clearer language.   3rd ed. 2013

Crabbe, V. Legislative drafting  1993

Derlén, M. Multinational interpretation of European Union law  2009

Greenberg, D. Craies on legislation: a practitioners’ guide to the nature, process, effect and interpretation of legislation. 11th ed. 2017

Jones, Oliver, Bennion on statutory interpretation: a code   6th ed. 2013

Pozzo, B. & Jacometti, V. ed. Multilingualism and the harmonisation of European law.  2006

Salembier, P. Legal and legislative drafting 2009

Seidman, A. et al. Legislative drafting for democratic social change: a manual for drafters  2001

Stefanou, C. & Xanthaki, H. Drafting legislation: a modern approach. 2008

Stefanou, C. & Xanthaki, H. Manual in legislative drafting 2005

Thornton, G.C. & Xanthaki, H. Thornton's legislative drafting. 5th ed. 2013

Xanthaki, H. Enhancing legislative drafting in the Commonwealth: a wealth of innovation  2014

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on legislative drafting from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on  legislative drafting but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

CALC - Loophole  

Commonwealth law bulletin

European journal of law reform

International and comparative law quarterly

Journal of legislative studies

Legisprudence

Statute law review

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning legislative drafting issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on legislative drafting http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on legislative drafting:

CALC: Commonwealth Association of Legislative Counsel: Promotes cooperation amongst people in the Commonwealth involved in legislative drafting.

http://www.opc.gov.au/CALC/

CALC publishes a free online journal ‘Loophole’ with full text articles in Word and PDF formats.

https://www.opc.gov.au/calc/loophole.htm

Globalex guide to researching the drafting history of international agreements (Travaux Préparatoires) by Jonathan Pratter. Updated in 2012

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Travaux_Preparatoires1.htm

The Office of the Parliamentary Counsel at the Cabinet Office: A group of lawyers who specialise in drafting legislation. Gives access to documents concerning the process of drafting and the work of the department.

https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/office-of-the-parliamentary-counsel

Statute Law Review aims to further the study of legislative drafting, statutory interpretation and the process of parliamentary scrutiny. Full text access is available to academic users onsite. Please check the library catalogue for details of offsite access

http://slr.oxfordjournals.org/

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip