This is the "Air and Space Law" page of the "Air and Space Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Air and Space Law  

An introduction to the Library's holdings on air and space law
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/airandspacelaw Print Guide RSS Updates
Air and Space Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on air and space law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, November 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on air and space law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

International air and space law material is shelved at SG90.

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on air and space law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Benkö, M. Space law: reconsidering the definition/delimitation question and the passage of spacecraft through foreign airspace. 2013

Cheng, B. Law of international air transport. 1962

Diederiks-Verschoor, I. Introduction to space law. 3rd rev. ed. 2008

Diederiks-Verschoor, I. Introduction to air law. 9th rev. ed. 2012

Dunk, F.G.  Von der & Brus, M.M.T.A. The international space station: commercial utilisation from a European legal perspective. 2006

Dunk, F.G. Von der & Tronchetti, F. Handbook of space law 2015

Giemulla, E. & Weber, L. International and EU aviation law. Selected issues. 2011

Goldhirsch, L. The Warsaw Convention annotated: legal handbook. 2000

Goh, G. Dispute settlement in international space law : a multi-door courthouse for outer space. 2007

Haanappel, P. Law and policy of air space and outer space: a comparative approach. 2003

Hobe, S et al. Cologne commentary on space law 3 vols. 2009-2015

Jakhu, Ram S. National regulation of space activities. 2010

Krause, Charles, F. Aviation tort and regulatory law. 2nd ed. 2016-2017

Larsen, P. Aviation law: cases, laws and related sources. 2nd ed. 2012

Lyall, F. & Larsen, P. Space law. 2007

Lyall, F. & Larsen, P. Space law: a treatise. 2009

Oduntan (Gbenga). Sovereignty and jurisdiction in the airspace and outer space. 2012

Ronzitti, N. & Venturini, G. Law of air warfare : contemporary issues. 2006

Shawcross, C. & Beaumont. Air law. 1977-

Tompkins, G. Liability rules applicable to international air transportation as developed by the courts in the United States. 2010

Unmack, T. Civil aviation standards and liabilities. 1999

Zylicz, M. International air transport law. 1992

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on air and space law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on criminal law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Air and space law

Annals of air and space law

Aviation law reporter

Colloquium on the law of outer space. Proceedings

Journal of air law and commerce

Journal of space law

Revue française de droit aérien et spatial

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning air and space law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

 

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on air and space law.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on air and space law.

Air Transport Portal of the European Commission

http://ec.europa.eu/transport/modes/air/index_en.htm

Civil Aviation Authority

http://www.caa.co.uk

European Space Policy Institute

http://www.espi.or.at

London Institute of Space Policy and Law

http://www.space-institute.org

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip