This is the "Banking and Financial Law" page of the "Banking and Financial Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Banking and Financial Law  

An introduction to the Library's holdings on banking and financial law
Last Updated: Mar 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/bankingandfinancial Print Guide RSS Updates
Banking and Financial Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Banking and Financial Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Banking and Financial Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Common law banking and financial law material is shelved at SJ125

Comparative banking and financial law material is shelved at SB40

International banking and financial law material is shelved at SG75

EU Banking and financial law material is shelved at GO1.A1.D.2 

 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on banking and financial law.  Please check the catalogue records for further information.

Alexander, K. & Dhumale, R.   Research handbook on international financial regulation. 2012

Alexander, K & Moloney, N. ed.    Law reform and financial markets. 2011

Barr, M.  Financial regulation: law and policy   2016

Blair, M. ed.       Blackstone’s guide to the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000. 2nd ed. 2009

Blair, M & Walker, G.      Financial services law  2nd ed. 2009

Blair, M & Walker, G.      Financial markets and exchanges law 2nd ed. 2012

Blair, W. & Brent, M.      Banks and financial crime: the international law of tainted money     2017

Cresswell, P.J. (ed.)        Encyclopaedia of banking law (looseleaf)

Dalhuisen, J.      Dalhuisen on Transnational comparative commercial

financial and trade law  6th ed. 2016

Ellinger, E et al. Modern banking law  5th ed. 2011

Evanoff, D.          International financial instability: global banking and national regulation. 2007

Fletcher, I.F.      Law of insolvency. 4th ed. 2009

Gilmore, W.     Dirty money : the evolution of international measures to counter money laundering and the financing of terrorism  4th ed. 2011

Goode, R.            Goode on legal problems of credit and security 5th ed. 2013

Gup, Benton E.  Corporate governance in banking   2007

Hadjiemmanuil, C.          Banking regulation & the Bank of England 1996

Henderson, S.   Henderson on derivatives 2nd ed. 2010

Lightman, G. & Moss, G.     Law of administrators and receivers of companies  5th ed. 2011

Lastra, R.M ed.  International financial and monetary law 2nd ed. 2015

Lomnicka, E. & Powell, J.    Encyclopedia of financial services law   1987-.

Macneil, I.     Introduction to the law on financial investment. 2nd ed. 2012

Moloney, N.  EU securities and financial markets regulation    2014

Moss, G. et al.   The EC regulation on insolvency proceedings: a commentary and annotated guide. 2009

Murray, C.     Schmitthoff:  law and practice of international trade. 12th ed. 2012

Neate, F. & Godfrey, G.    Neate and Godfrey: Bank confidentiality 5th ed. 2011

Olivares-Caminal, R. Debt restructuring 2nd ed. 2016

Paget, J. et al.    Paget’s law of banking 14th ed. 2014

Proctor, C.    Law and practice of international banking. 2nd ed. 2015

Proctor, C.           Mann on the legal aspect of money. 7th ed. 2012

Rider, B.A.K.      Guide to financial services regulations. 1997

Rider, B.A.K.    Market abuse and insider dealing  3rd ed. 2016

Rider, B.A.K. Research handbook on international financial crime 2015

Roberts, G.         Law relating to financial services 7th ed. 2009

Schooner, H.M. & Taylor, M.       Global bank regulation: principles and policies  2010

Scott, Hal S.        International finance law and regulation 2008

Scott, Hal S.        International finance, transaction, policy and regulation. 17th ed. 2010

Sealy, L.& Milman, D.     Annotated guide to the insolvency legislation….. 16th ed. 2013

Smits, R.   The European Central Bank, institutional aspects 1997

Swan, E. & Virgo, J.   Market abuse regulation 2nd ed. 2010

Tarullo, D.    Banking on Basel: the future of international banking regulation 2008

Tennekoon, R.C.    Law and regulation of international finance 1991

Valdez, S.    Introduction to global financial  markets 6th ed. 2010

Vinter, G.    Project finance: a legal guide 4th ed. 2013

Wood, P     Regulation of international finance     2007

Wood, P     Comparative law of security interests and title finance 2nd ed.  2007

Wood, P     International loans, bonds guarantees, legal opinions 2nd ed. 2007

Wood, P     Project finance, securitisations subordinated debt, 2nd ed. 2007

Wood, P    Set-off and netting, derivatives, clearing systems 2nd ed. 2007

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on banking and financial law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on banking and financial law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Titles marked  electronic resource can be accessed from the catalogue record for the relevant journal.

Bank for International Settlements. Annual report  electronic resource only 2012-              

Banking law journal    

Butterworths journal of international banking and financial law          

European Investment Bank. Annual report      

Florida international law journal      

George Washington international law review  

International company and commercial law review  electronic resource only 2011-     

International financial law review 

International trade and business law review   electronic resource

Journal of international banking law  

Journal of international economic law            

Journal of law and commerce              

Revue internationale de droit économique       

Stanford journal of law business and finance

Syracuse journal of international law and commerce  electronic resource only 2013-        

World trade review

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning banking and financial law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on banking and financial law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm.

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including banking and financial law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on Banking and Financial Law.

Bank for International Settlements

http://www.bis.org/

European Banking Authority (established Jan 2011)

http://www.eba.europa.eu/about-us;jsessionid=D28C7E7E8195BF750A36F631D31F3DC6

European Securities and Markets Authority

http://www.esma.europa.eu/

Financial Stability Board

http://www.financialstabilityboard.org/

Legal Framework of the European Central Bank (includes ESCB/ECB legislation in different languages)

http://www.ecb.europa.eu/ecb/legal/html/index.en.html

LSE Financial Markets Group

http://www.lse.ac.uk/fmg/home.aspx

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip