This is the "Classmarks for reference works & bibliographies" page of the "Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library  

A guide to the classification scheme used at IALS Library and locating the materials you need
Last Updated: Jul 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/classmarks Print Guide RSS Updates

Classmarks for reference works & bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Jump to classmarks for...

 

Reference Works

General reference

RF5

Quick reference, general, comprehensive, non-legal

RF9

Time-tables, guide books, maps, atlases

RF10

Yearbooks, geographical dictionaries

 

 

Directories and handbooks of persons and organizations

RF20

General, comprehensive, wholly or partly non-legal

RF25

U.K. non-legal

RF30

Legal

RF40

Librarians and libraries, guides to library collections, sources of information

RF50

Scholarships, grants, awards, fellowships, research and study programmes

RF53

Calendars, regulations, prospectuses of the University of London

RF54

Other U.K. universities and educational bodies

RF55

Foreign and Commonwealth universities and educational bodies

RF54

Examination papers

 

Language and law

RF60

Language manuals and writing guides, style guides, introduction to legal research and the use of law libraries

 

Dictionaries

RF70

English language

RF72

Judicial, legal and subject in English

RF73

Abbreviations, citations etc

RF75

Multilingual and bi-lingual. foreign language legal and judicial

Back to TOP

 

Bibliographies

BB

Bibliographies: comprehensive

BB10

General, wholly or mostly non-legal

BB20

Legal: general and comparative law not restricted by area or subject

BB50

Periodicals: general works on, and introduction to

BB55

Indexing and abstracting services of periodical articles

BB60

Union lists of serials, accessions lists and serial holdings of individual libraries

 

 

BG

Bibliographies: geographical

BG10

Common law in general, Commonwealth law (including the United Kingdom), comprehensive works

BG20

England and Wales; government publications and works about them

BG25

England and Wales (including the United Kingdom as a whole)

BG30

Other countries of the British Isles: Channel Islands, Ireland (Republic), Northern Ireland, Isle of Man, Scotland, Wales

BG40

Australasia, Australia, New Zealand

BG50

Western Hemisphere generally

BG52

North America: comprehensive, regional (Canada, USA, Caribbean)

BG55

Canada

BG60

United States of America: federal and state

BG70

Caribbean: Bahamas, Bermuda, Belize, Guyana, West Indies

BG80

Latin America as a whole; Pan-Americanism

BG85

Central America: regional and by country

BG90

South America: regional and by country

BG100

Europe as a whole (both Western and Eastern), comprehensive works

BG105

Western Europe: comprehensive works (including works on European integration containing law of member countries), comparative law of the area

BG110

European integration, European Communities, Council of Europe, etc.

BG120

Specific Western European countries

BG150

Mediterranean: Cyprus, Gibraltar, Greece (including Crete), Turkey

BG155

Scandinavia: Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden

BG160

Eastern Europe (including the USSR)

BG170

Asia and the Pacific: general

BG175

Middle East (including Arab League states and Israel)

BG185

Central and Southern Asia and the Far East, China, Hong Kong, India, Pakistan, Japan, Malaysia, Sri Lanka

BG195

Pacific islands

BG200

Africa: general and regional

BG205

North Africa: regional and by country

BG210

North-East Africa: regional and by country

BG220

West Africa: regional and by country; Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, Niger, Mauritania etc.

BG230

East Africa: regional and by country; Kenya, Mauritius, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, Mozambique, others

BG240

Central Africa: regional and by country; Malawi, Zimbabwe, Zambia

BG250

Southern Africa: regional and by country; Botswana, Lesotho, Republic of South Africa, Namibia (South-West Africa), St. Helena, Swaziland

BG300

Third World and developing countries

BS

Bibliographies: subject

BS5

Jurisprudence, political philosophy, legal sociology

BS10

Ancient and medieval law, including Greek, Roman and Roman-Dutch law in the Netherlands, legal history of more than area

BS15

Canon, ecclesiastical law

BS20

Jewish law

BS30

International law in general

BS35

International disputes

BS40

Treaties, works about them

BS45

Maritime law

BS50

International economic law

BS55

Air law, space law

BS59

Others, including human rights

BS60

Conflict of laws

BS70

Islamic law

BS80

Other specific legal topics not confined to any particular area, including copyright, computers and law, oil and gas law

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip