This is the "Company law and corporate insolvency" page of the "Company Law and Corporate Insolvency" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Company Law and Corporate Insolvency  

A guide to library holdings on company law and corporate insolvency
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/companyandcorporateinsolvency Print Guide RSS Updates
Company law and corporate insolvency Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Company law and Corporate Insolvency. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, November 2016

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Company law and Corporate Insolvency.  To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Common law books on Company Law are shelved at SJ100
Common law books on Insolvency Law are  shelved at SJ350
Comparative law
books on Company  Law and Corporate Insolvency are shelved at SB40
European Union
books on  Company  Law and Corporate Insolvency are shelved at GO1.A1.D.2
 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Company law and Corporate Insolvency. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Andenas, M.      European comparative company law  2009          

Boyle, A.J. & Bird, J.   Boyle and Bird's company law. 9th ed. 2014

Bruce, M.    Rights and duties of directors 13th ed. 2016                           

Cork report. 1982 (Cmnd. 8558)

Dignam, A. & Lowry, J.   Company law. 9th ed. 2016

Dine, J.    Companies, international trade & human rights.   2005

Dine, J. and Hughes, B.  Gore-Browne on EU company law  1991- (looseleaf)

Dabbah, M. & Lasok, P. Merger control worldwide. 2nd ed. 2012

Davies, P.L.   Gower's principles of modern company law. 10th ed. 2016

Farrar, J.H.   Company law. 4th ed. 1998

Ferran, E.   Principles of corporate finance law  2nd ed. 2014

Finch, V.      Corporate insolvency law : perspectives and principles 2nd ed.  2009

Fletcher, I.F.   Law of insolvency. 4th ed. 2009

Fuller, G.           Corporate borrowing: law and practice 5th ed. 2016

Goode, R.M.      Goode on commercial law  5th ed. 2016

Goode, R.M.      Goode on legal problems of credit and security 5th ed. 2013

Goode, R.M.      Goode on payment obligations in commercial and financial transactions. 2nd ed. 2009

Goode, R.M       Principles of corporate insolvency law   4th ed. 2011

Goode, R.M       Transnational commercial law: text cases and materials 2007

Goode, R.M       Transnational commercial law: Primary materials 2007

Hopt, K.    Capital markets and company law  2003

Kraakman, H.     The anatomy of corporate law: a comparative and functional approach    3rd ed. 2017

Lightman, G. & Moss, G.    The law of receivers and administrators of companies. 5th ed. 2011

Lowry, J. & Reisberg, A.  Pettet’s company law: company law and corporate finance 4th ed. 2012

Mallin, C.     Corporate governance  3rd ed. 2010

Mayson, S.    Mayson, French & Ryan on company law 31st ed. 2014

Moore, M.    Company law statutes 2012-2013   2013

Palmer, F & Morse, G.   Palmer’s company law: annotated guide to the Companies Act 2006   2007

Panayi, C.     European Union corporate tax law  2013

Pennington, R.R     Pennington's company law. 8th ed. 2001

Pennington, R.R.    Pennington's corporate insolvency law.    2nd ed. 1997            

Picarda, H      Law relating to receivers, managers and administrators 4th ed. 2006

Rajak, H      Sourcebook of company law. 2nd ed. 1995          

Rajak, H.     Company rescue and liquidation. 3rd ed. 2013

Rajak, H.     Insolvency law theory and practice. 1993             

Scanlan, G. et al.     Companies Act 2006.  2007

Sealy, L.S.    Commercial law text, cases and materials 4th ed. 2009

Sealy, L.& Milman, D.    Annotated guide to the insolvency legislation….. 16th ed. 2013

Worthington, S.    Sealy and Worthington’s text, cases and materials in company law. 11th ed. 2016

Southern, D.   Taxation of loan relationships and derivative contracts 9th ed. 2012

Ziegel, J.S.     Current developments in international and comparative insolvency law 1994                     

 

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning company law and corporate insolvency issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on company law and corporate insolvency http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm.

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including company law and corporate insolvency and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on company law and corporate insolvency.

European Corporate Governance Institute: Site provides access to a full text collection of SSRN articles.

http://www.ecgi.org/wp/wp.php?series=Law

International Bar Association: Insolvency Links: Gateway to a selection of sites concerning insolvency.

http://www.ibanet.org/LPD/Insolvency_Section/Insolvency_Section/Insolvency_Links.aspx

The Institute of International Commercial Law, established in 1991, is maintained by Pace Law School in the USA. The CISG database provides access to a wide selection of resources concerning the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods.

http://law.pace.edu/iicl

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip