This is the "Competition Law and Antitrust Law" page of the "Competition Law and Antitrust Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Competition Law and Antitrust Law  

An introduction to the library's holdings on competition and antitrust law
Last Updated: Feb 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/competitionandantitrust Print Guide RSS Updates
Competition Law and Antitrust Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Competition Law and Antitrust Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, Sept 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on  Competition Law and Antitrust Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

Please click here for more information on understanding the catalogue record. For further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Finding your way in the library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Comparative antitrust and competition law material is shelved at SB40
European Union antitrust and competition law material is shelved at GO1.A1.D.2 and at GO1.A8.D.2

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on antitrust and competition law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Anderman, S.    EU competition law and intellectual property rights 2nd ed. 2011           

Bael, I. Van and Bellis, J.F.  Competition law of the European Community. 5th ed. 2010       

Blackstone’s UK and EU competition documents  8th ed.  2015 

Bishop, S & Walker, M.  The economics of EC competition law  3rd ed. 2010        

Bork, R. H.   The antitrust paradox: a policy at war with itself. 1993  

Colino, S.  Competition law of the EU and UK 7th ed. 2011

Dabbah, M.  International and comparative competition law 2010    

Dabbah, M. & Lasok, P.  Merger control worldwide 2nd ed. 2012              

Faull, J. & Nikpay, A. The EC law of competition. 3rd ed. 2014         

Gellhorn, E. & Kovacic, W.E.   Antitrust law and economics in a nutshell. 5th ed. 2004                            

Hovenkamp, H. Federal antitrust policy: the law of competition and its practice. 4th ed. 2011   

Jones, A & Sufrin, B.  EU competition law: text, cases and materials. 6th ed.  2016      

Korah, V.  Cases and materials on E.C. competition law. 3rd ed. 2006          

Korah, V.  An introductory guide to EC competition law and practice. 9th ed. 2007               

Matsushita, M.  International trade and competition law in Japan.  1993              

Monti, G.   EC competition law      2007    

Niels, G. Economics for competition lawyers 2nd ed. 2016         

Rodger, B. & MacCulloch, A.  Competition law and policy in the EC and UK. 5th ed. 2015        

Rodger, B   Ten years of UK competition law reform 2010    

Rose, V.& Bailey, D.  Bellamy and Child: European Union law of Competition.  7th ed. 2013  

Rose, V.& Bailey, D.  Bellamy and Child: Materials on European Union law of Competition. 2013        

Whish, R.  Competition law. 7th ed. 2012  

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on competition law and antitrust Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on competition law and antitrust law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Antitrust bulletin

Antitrust law journal

Competition law journal

Common market law review

Competition law review

Competition law insight

European competition law review 

European law review

IIC: International review of intellectual property and competition law 

Wirtschaft und Wettbewerb

World competition: law and economics review

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning competition law and antitrust law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on competition and antitrust law  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including competition and antitrust law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on competition and antitrust law.

American Antitrust Institute

http://www.antitrustinstitute.org/

Competition Appeal Tribunal (UK)

http://www.catribunal.org.uk/

European Commission. Competition

http://ec.europa.eu/competition/index_en.html

IDEA: The IP Law review (University of New Hampshire)

http://law.unh.edu/ip-law-review

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip