This is the "Constitutional and Administrative Law" page of the "Constitutional and Administrative Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Constitutional and Administrative Law  

An introduction to the library's holdings on constitutional and administrative law
Last Updated: Jul 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/constitutionalandadministrative Print Guide RSS Updates
Constitutional and Administrative Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Constitutional and Administrative Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Constitutional and Administrative Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Constitutional material for England and Wales is shelved at GA2.C.1

Administrative material for England and Wales is shelved at GA2.C.6

Local Government material for England and Wales is shelved at GA2.C.9

Comparative material on constitutional and administrative law is shelved at SB25

 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on constitutional and administrative law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Allen, M. & Thompson, B. Cases and materials on constitutional and administrative law  10th ed. 2011

Barnett, H. Constitutional and administrative law  11th ed. 2016

Bradley, A.W & Ewing, K.D  Constitutional and administrative law  16th ed. 2014

Brazier, R. Constitutional reform: reshaping the British political system. 3rd ed. 2008

Bailey, S.H. Cases, materials and commentary on administrative law 4th ed. 2005

Harlow, C. & Rawlings, R.  Law and administration 3rd ed. 2009

Hartley, T.C. The foundations of European Union law: an introduction to constitutional and administrative law of the European Union 8th ed. 2014

A.W. Heringa, Constitutions compared: Introduction to comparative constitutional law 4th ed. 2016

Hofmann, H. et al. Administrative law and policy of the European Union  2011

Kende, M.S. Constitutional rights in two worlds: South Africa and the United States.  2009

Jowell, J. & Oliver, D. (eds.) The changing constitution 8th ed. 2015

Leyland, P.  Textbook on administrative law 7th ed 2013               

Oliver, D. et al. The regulatory state: constitutional implications  2010

Pollard, D. et al. Constitutional and administrative law: text with materials 4th ed. 2007

Wade, H.W.R  & Forsyth, C. Administrative law 11th ed.  2014            

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on constitutional and administrative law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on Constitutional and Administrative law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Administrative law decisions (Australia)   

Archiv des öffentlichen Rechts          

Cambridge law journal          

Civil justice quarterly   

Constitutional commentary 

Current legal problems

Gazette: weekly journal of the Law Society 

International journal of constitutional law   

Law quarterly review 

Modern law review 

New law journal         

Quaderni costituzionali          

Revista Española de derecho constitucional  

Revista de derecho politico   

Statute law review 

Verfassung und Recht in ┼░bersee  

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning constitutional and administrative law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on constitutional and administrative law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including Constitutional and Administrative Law   and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on constitutional and administrative law.

Constitution Committee of the UK House of Lords (Official site)

http://www.parliament.uk/business/committees/committees-a-z/lords-select/constitution-committee/

Current Constitutional Developments in Latin America. Globalex article by Dante Figueroa and Jonathan Arendt. Updated July 2016

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Constitutional_Developments_Latin_America1.htm

Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany (English translation which includes amendments up to Dec 2014)

https://www.btg-bestellservice.de/index.php?sid=e4036d7990f16c161609cdf456ec9524&navi=1&subnavi=68&anr=80201000

The African Law Library is a new open access online portal which covers aspects of African law and governance. It was set up in 2012.

http://www.africanlawlibrary.net/home

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip