This is the "Databases for foreign law" page of the "Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases  

An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases for foreign law Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contents

Commonwealth - Europe - United States - Other - Multi-jurisdictional sources

TIPS
All the databases mentioned can be found in the Electronic Law Library.

For foreign law material 
on Lexis®Library, open Sources tab (top-right), click on Browse Sources and select country. On Westlaw UK, click on Services and select International Materials.

 

Multi-jurisdictional sources

Subscription databases

Cases
Justis has cases from Singapore, Bermuda, Jamaica, the British Virgin Islands and the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court. Justis will acquire the content of Carilaw - cases from almost twenty Caribbean jurisdictions and from Caribbean regional courts - in November 2017.

SCC Online has cases from twenty Commonwealth jurisdictions, mainly in Asia and Africa; a few non-Commonwealth jurisdictions; and the West African Court of Appeal. (Details on SCC website.) 

Legislation
The Foreign Law Guide database lists sources of foreign legislation, in the vernacular and in translation. It gives citations and links, not the legislation itself. It also provides some information about foreign cases, as well as an overview of each jurisdiction's legal system.

HeinOnline's World Constitutions Illustrated module provides current and historical constitutions, commentary and bibliographies. 

Journals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, part of HeinOnline, indexes journals from many non-common law jurisdictions; also covers comparative law.
 

Other
IBFD Online has surveys and analysis of tax regimes worldwide, plus tax cases from various jurisdictions.


Free websites
WorldLII: a large collection of legislation, cases and related materials from all over the world

Eagle-i: a gateway to high-quality legal information on the web, covering many different jurisdictions.

N-Lex:  a search facility covering the national legislation websites of 27 EU member states.

 

Commonwealth

Africa 
Lexis®Library has Butterworths Statutes of South Africa and

Sabinet has a small collection of South African journals, including the South African Law Journal. 

SCC Online has cases from the following African jurisdictions: 

Botswana 

Kenya

Lesotho

Mauritius

Namibia

Nigeria

Seychelles

South Africa

Swaziland

Tanzania

Uganda

Zambia

(Details of SCC Online coverage.)

Westlaw International Materials has the encyclopedia, Constitutional Law of South Africa.

Asia
Justis has the Singapore Law Reports.

Lexis®Library has the Indian journal, 

LLMC Digital has the All India Reporter from 1914 to 1947.

SCC Online has Indian cases from the late C18th to the present; Indian primary and secondary legislation, as amended; articles from about twenty Indian law journals. SCC Online also includes case collections (of varying sizes) from Bangladesh, Malaysia, Pakistan and Sri Lanka (details).

Lexis®Library has Malayan Law Journal, which includes cases as well as articles.

Westlaw International Materials has the Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.

Australia
Lexis®Library has Australian case law and more than ten Australian journals.

Westlaw International has Australian case law and a few journals (not the same ones as Lexis).

HeinOnline has more than 90 Australian journals (see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country).

CaseBase indexes Australian cases and journal articles.


Canada
Westlaw International Materials has Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial), about 60 Canadian journals/newsletters and more than 60 books, including the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest.

Lexis®Library has Canadian federal cases, federal legislation, provincial cases, some provincial legislation, and 21 journals.

HeinOnline has more than 100 Canadian journals (see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country).

Caribbean
The Carilaw database has a large collection of Caribbean cases, covering both national and regional courts. It also has some treaties.

Justis has cases from Jamaica, Bermuda and the British Virgin Islands. Justis will expand its Caribbean content in November 2017 with the addition of cases from almost twenty Caribbean jurisdictions and from Caribbean regional courts.

Lexis®Library has the West Indian Reports.

New Zealand
Lexis®Library has New Zealand cases and legislation, New Zealand Law Journal, and Laws of New Zealand (an encyclopedia).

Westlaw International Materials has a few New Zealand journals.

HeinOnline has thirteen New Zealand journals (see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country).

CaseBase indexes New Zealand cases and some New Zealand journals. 

Index to Legal Periodicals covers some New Zealand journals.

 

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

 

Need more help with foreign law research?

IALS has written research guides covering more than twenty-five different foreign jurisdictions.

 

Europe

France
LexisNexis JurisClasseur (soon to become 'Lexis 360'), the French version of Lexis, includes legislation, cases, encyclopedias and journals. 

Le Doctrinal indexes about 300 law journals, mainly French.

Germany
Beck-Online: IALS Library's subscription to Beck covers legislation (annotated) and some journals and cases.

Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Germany.

(See also J. von Staudingers Kommentar zum Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch, a commentary on the German Civil Code, available online via the Library Catalogue).

Ireland
Lexis®Library has some Irish cases, including the Irish Reports, and the journal Data Protection Ireland

HeinOnline has twenty-six Irish journals, some current, some historical (see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country).

Westlaw UK has two Irish journals (full text) and indexes more than thirty.

 

 

United States

Lexis®Library and Westlaw International Materials are the main US law databases. Both have vast US content, including federal and state legislation, federal and state cases, and very large collections of journals and books.

HeinOnline is another leading US database, with almost 2,000 journals, federal legislation, US Supreme Court cases, presidential materials, classic books and more.

Index to Legal Periodicals searches across about 900 different journals, most of them published in the US.

NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository is an open-access (free) database of working papers, reports, lectures, workshop presentations and other scholarship by US academics.

For interdisciplinary research, see the following databases, which cover many US journals (some full-text, others not):

  • EBSCO Academic
  • EBSCO Business
  • Index to Periodical Articles Related to Law (part of HeinOnline)
  • JSTOR

 

Other jurisdictions

Chile: HeinOnline has Revista Chilena de Derecho

China: Westlaw International Materials has a collection of English-language treatises on Chinese law. Westlaw and Lexis both cover Hong Kong - see below.

ColombiaWestlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Colombia.

Hong Kong: Lexis®Library and Westlaw International Materials both have Hong Kong legislation and cases (under "China" on Lexis). Westlaw International Materials also has the Hong Kong Law Journal.

Israel:  Lexis®Library has the Israel Law Review; HeinOnline has nine Israeli journals (see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country).

JapanWestlaw International Materials has one treatise, Japanese Patent Litigation.

Korea: Westlaw International Materials has Korean cases (in English).

Kuwait: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Kuwait and Qatar.

Lebanon: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Lebanon.

MexicoLexis®Library has Mexican codes and laws, the Constitution, Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in Mexico, Supreme Court cases (the latter up to 2004 only) and a few other sources; Westlaw International Materials has two Mexican codes (in Spanish and English), a legal dictionary and two US-Mexican journals.

Peru: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Peru

Qatar: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Kuwait and Qatar.

Russia: Westlaw International Materials has Corporate Counsel's Guide to Doing Business in Russia.

Saudi Arabia: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Saudi Arabia

Taiwan: Westlaw International Materials has the National Taiwan University Law Review.

Thailand: SCC Online has a collection of cases (details).

United Arab Emirates: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of United Arab Emirates.

Venezuela: Westlaw International Materials has Business Laws of Venezuela.

VietnamWestlaw International Materials has Doing Business in Vietnam.

ZimbabweSCC Online has a small collection of cases (details).

See also: Multi-jurisdictional sources.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip