This is the "Employment Law" page of the "Employment law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Employment law  

An introduction to the library's holdings on employment law
Last Updated: Jul 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/employmentlaw Print Guide RSS Updates
Employment Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Employment Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Employment Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Employment law material for Common Law countries is shelved at SJ250
EU Employment law material is shelved at GO1.A1.C.5
Comparative labour law material is shelved at SB60

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on employment law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Allen, R.    Employment law and human rights. 2nd ed. 2007             

Barnard, C.   EU employment law. 4th ed. 2012           

Blanpain, R et al.  Comparative labour law & industrial relations in industrialised market economies 10th ed. 2010      

Butterworths employment law handbook. 18th ed. 2010             

Employment law (Blackstone’s Statutes) 26th  ed. 2016-2017     

Collins, H., Ewing, K.D. & McColgan, A.   Labour law   2012            

Collins, H., Ewing, K.D. & McColgan, A.   Labour law text and materials. 2nd ed. 2005       

Davies, A.   Perspectives on labour law    2009             

Davidov, G. & Langille, B.   The idea of labour law.  2011      

Dickens, L. & Neal, A. ed.   The changing institutional face of British employment relations 2006      

Davies, P. & Freedland, M.   Kahn-Freund's labour and the law. 3rd ed. 1983               

Deakin, S & Morris, G.    Labour law.  5th ed.  2009 

Emir, A.    Selwyn's law of employment  19th ed. 2016       

Hardy, S.     European employment laws: a comparative guide. 3rd ed. 2016              

McCann, D.   Regulating flexible work. 2008   

Pitt, G.     Pitt's employment law. 10th ed. 2016     

Smith, I. et al.  Smith & Wood’s employment law  11th ed. 2013              

 

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on employment law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on employment law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Comparative labor law & policy journal

Employment law bulletin

Entscheidungen des Bundesarbeitsgerichts

Hofstra labor and employment law journal

Industrial and labor relations review

Industrial cases reports

Industrial law journal 

Industrial law journal including the industrial law reports [South Africa]

Industrial relations law reports  

International journal of comparative labour law and industrial relations

International labour law reports

Labor lawyer

 

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning employment law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on employment law  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including employment law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on employment law.

ACAS – Independent UK body to resolve industrial disputes. Includes access to full text policy discussion papers

http://www.acas.org.uk/index.aspx?articleid=1461

Bundesarbeitsgericht (Federal Labour Court in Germany). Background information about the work of the court is available in English  

http://www.bundesarbeitsgericht.de/

International Labour Organization (ILO). Includes access to full text working papers

http://www.ilo.org/travail/lang--en/index.htm

NATLEX – database on national labour, social security and related human rights in different jurisdictions run by the ILO

http://www.ilo.org/dyn/natlex/natlex_browse.home

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip