This is the "Environmental Law and Climate Change" page of the "Environmental Law and Climate Change" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Environmental Law and Climate Change  

A guide to the library's holdings on environmental law and climate change
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/environmental Print Guide RSS Updates
Environmental Law and Climate Change Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Environmental Law and Climate Change. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Lauren Cummings, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Environmental Law and Climate Change. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

European Union material is shelved at GO1.A1.C.7 or GO1.A8.C.71.

International material is shelved at SG75.

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on environmental law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Akanle (Tamilola) International environmental law and distributive justice 2013

Alder, J. & Wilkinson, D. Environmental law and ethics 1999

Bell, S. et al. Environmental law 9th ed. 2017

Birnie, P. & Boyle, A. International law and the environment  3rd ed. 2009                       

Bodansky, D. et al. Oxford handbook of international environmental law 2007        

Burhenne, W.E. International environmental law: multilateral treaties

Burhenne, W.E. & Robinson, N.A. International protection of the environment: conservation in sustainable development

Burnett-Hall, R. & Jones, B. Burnett-Hall on environmental law 3rd ed. 2012  

Freestone, D. & Streck, C. Legal aspects of implementing the Kyoto protocol mechanisms 2005  

Hedemann-Robinson, M. Enforcement of European Union environmental law: legal issues and challenges  2007

Hughes, D. Environmental law 4th ed. 2002               

Jans, J.H. European environmental law: After Lisbon 4th ed. 2012                

Johnson, S.P. Environmental policy of the European Communities 2nd ed. 1995         

Kiss, A.  & Shelton, D. International environmental law  3rd ed. 2004

Krämer, L. EU environmental law 7th ed. 2011 

Leal-Arcas, R. Climate change and international trade 2013

Lee, M. EU environmental law, governance and decision making 2nd ed. 2014

Makuch, K. & Pereira, R. Environmental and energy law 2012

Peeters, M. & Deketelaere, K. EU climate change policy: the challenge of new regulatory initiatives 2006

Roggenkamp, M. Energy law in Europe: national, EU and international regulation.  3rd ed. 2016

Sands, P. Principles of international environmental law 3rd ed. 2012  

Sands, P. & Galizzi, P. Documents in international environmental law 2nd ed. 2004

Sands, P. & Galizzi, P. Documents in European Community environmental law 2nd ed. 2006

Robinson, J. Climate change law : emissions trading in the EU and the UK 2007

Soltau, F. Fairness in international climate change law and policy 2009

Tromans, S. Environmental impact protection 2012

Wolf, S. Wolf & Stanley on environmental law  6th ed. 2013

Zillman, D. Beyond the carbon economy 2008

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning environmental law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on environmental law and climate change  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm.

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including environmental law and climate change and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on environmental law and climate change:

ASIL Electronic Resource Guide: Environmental Law (Anne Burnett) updated August 2013.

http://www.asil.org/sites/default/files/ERG_ENVIROMENT.pdf

European Environmental Law Network (EEL)

http://www.asser.nl/default.aspx?site_id=7

Heidi Frostestad Kuehl.  Basic Guide to International Environmental Legal Research. Updated June 2017 (Globalex)

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/International_Environmental_Legal_Research1.htm

Deborah Paulus-Jagrič. Global warming: a comparative guide to the E.U. and the U.S. and their approaches to the U.N. framework convention on climate change and the Kyoto protocol. (Updated October 2014) (Globalex)

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Climate_Change_Kyoto_Protocol1.htm

These printed subject guides are all available on the IALS web site at the following address. 

http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/subjects

                                                                                    

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip