This is the "Immigration Law" page of the "Immigration Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Immigration Law  

A guide to the library's holdings on immigration law
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/immigration Print Guide RSS Updates
Immigration Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Immigration Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Immigration Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Immigration material for England & Wales is shelved at GA2.C.5
Immigration material for the European Union is shelved at GO1.A1.C.5
International migration material is shelved at SG85

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on immigration and migration law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Blake, N. & Husain, R.  Immigration, asylum & human rights 2003           

Plender, R.   Basic documents on international migration law. 2007           

Symes, M. & Jorro, P.     Asylum law and practice  2010   

 Cotran, E., Pearl, D. & Riza, A.     Butterworth's immigration law service. 1991-     

Clayton, G.   Textbook on immigration and asylum law   2016

Dummett, A. & Nicol, A.  Subjects, citizens, aliens & others : nationality and immigration law. 1990              

Fransman, L.  Fransman’s British nationality law.  2011 

Gammeltoft-Hansen, T.   Access to asylum: international refugee law and the globalisation of migration control. 2011    

Goodwin-Gill, G. S.  The refugee in international law.  2007   

Guild, E. & Harlow, C.   Implementing Amsterdam: immigration and asylum rights in EC law. 2001            

Hurwitz, A.    Collective responsibility of states to protect refugees  2009         

Jackson, D.   Immigration: law and practice. 2008       

Joint Council for the welfare of Immigrants (JCWI)   Immigration nationality and refugee law handbook 2006            

Juss, S. Singh      International migration and global justice 2006  

Kotzeva, A.         Asylum and human rights handbook 2008            

Macdonald, I. & Toal, R.    Immigration law & practice in the United Kingdom  2014

Moreno-Lax, V. & Papastavidris, E.  Boat refugees and migrants at sea: a comprehensive approach: integrating maritime security with human rights    2017 

Morris, P    Blackstone’s guide to the Asylum and Immigration (Treatment of claimants, etc.) Act  2004   2004        

Phelan, M. & Gillespie, J.   Immigration law handbook   2015              

Plender, R.   Basic documents on international migration law.  2007           

Shah, P. & Menski, W.   Migration, diasporas and legal systems in Europe  2006 

Rogers, N & Scannell, R.   Free movement of persons in the enlarged European Union 2005           

 

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on immigration law  from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on immigration law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Amnesty International report   electronic resource post 2007

European journal of migration and law

Georgetown immigration law journal

Human rights law journal

Human rights quarterly

Immigration and nationality law reports

Immigration and nationality law review

Immigration appeals reports (G.B.)

Journal of social welfare and family law

Tolley's immigration, asylum and nationality law

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning immigration law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on immigration law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including Immigration Law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on Immigration Law.

European Council on Refugees and Exiles

http://www.ecre.org/

Colin Fong ‘Researching the Legal Aspects of Asylum Seekers and Refugees in Australia, Canada and the United Kingdom’ (Globalex Guide. Updated 2010)

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Legal_aspects_asylum_refugees_Australia_Canada_UK1.htm

Human Rights Watch. Independent NGO

http://www.hrw.org/home

International Journal of Refugee Law. Gives access to abstracts and titles of articles from 1989-current. Subscribers have full text access from 1996.

http://ijrl.oxfordjournals.org/content/by/year/index

International Organization for Migration

http://unitedkingdom.iom.int/

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip