This is the "Industrial & Intellectual Property Law" page of the "Industrial and Intellectual Property Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Industrial and Intellectual Property Law  

An introduction to the Library's holdings on industrial and intellectual property law
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/intellectualproperty Print Guide RSS Updates
Industrial & Intellectual Property Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, July 2017

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Comparative Industrial and Intellectual Property Law material is shelved at SB55.
Common Law Material is shelved at SJ325
Private International Law Material
is shelved at SH35
EU material
is shelved at GO1.A1.D.2

 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Anderman, S.    EU competition law and intellectual property rights; the regulation of innovation. 2nd ed. 2011

Annand, R. and Norman, H.   Blackstone's guide to the Trade Marks Act 1994. 1994

Aplin, T.   Copyright law in the digital society  2005

Aplin, T.   Intellectual property law: text, cases and materials.  3rd ed. 2017

Bainbridge, D.I. Intellectual property.  8th ed. 2010

Bainbridge, D.I. Cases and materials in intellectual property 2nd ed. 1998

Bently, L & Sherman, B. Intellectual property law  4th ed. 2014

Christie, A. & Gare, S.  Blackstone’s statutes on intellectual property  13th ed. 2016

Cornish, W.   Intellectual property: Patents copyright, trademarks and allied rights. 8th ed. 2013

Cornish, W.   Cases and materials on intellectual property. 5th ed. 2006

Copinger, W.A. Copinger and Skone James on copyright. 17th ed. 2016

Davison, Mark J.  The legal protection of databases 2003

Gervais, D.   The TRIPS agreement: drafting history and analysis. 4th ed. 2012

Holyoak, J. and Torremans, P.    Intellectual property law 7th ed. 2013

Kerly,  D. et al.   Kerly's law of trade marks. 15th ed. 2011

MacQueen, H.   Contemporary intellectual property: law and policy 3rd ed. 2014        

Makeen, M.F.   Copyright in a global information society  2000

Maniatis, S.   Trade marks in Europe: a practical jurisprudence.  2nd ed. 2010

May, C. ed.   The political economy of intellectual property rights 2010

Matthews, D.   Intellectual property, human rights and development. 2011

Phillips, J. and Firth, A.   An introduction to intellectual property law. 4th ed. 2001

Rodriguez Pardo, J    Copyright and multimedia 2003

Ricketson, S. & Ginsburg, J.   International copyright and neighbouring rights: the Berne convention and beyond.  2nd ed. 2006  2 vols.

Senftleben, M.R.F.   Copyright limitations and the three-step test: an analysis of the three-step test in international and EC copyright law   2004

Sterling, J.A.L.  Intellectual property rights in sound recordings... 1992 (with 1994 supp.)

Sterling, J.A.L.  World copyright law protection of author's works 3rd ed. 2008

Stokes, S.    Art and copyright 2nd ed. 2012

Stokes, S.   Digital copyright law and practice 4th ed. 2013

Torremans, P.L.C.   Intellectual property and human rights  2008

Wadlow, C.   Law of passing off: unfair competition by misrepresentation  4th ed. 2011

Walter, M. & Van Lewinsky, S.   European copyright law: a commentary 2010

Yu, Peter K.   Intellectual property and information wealth: issues and practices in the digital age. 2007

 

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law  but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

 

Annales de la propriété industrielle artistique et littéraire

European intellectual property review

European patent office reports

Fleet Street reports

Information & communications technology law

Intellectual property journal

Intellectual property law bulletin

Intellectual property quarterly

Intellectual property reports

International review of intellectual property and competition law (IIC) 

Journal of the Copyright Society of the U.S.A.

Journal of the Patent and Trademark Office Society

Journal of world intellectual property

Reports of patent design and trade mark cases        

Texas intellectual property law journal

Tulane journal of technology and intellectual property

WIPO Magazine

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning Industrial and Intellectual Property Law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on Intellectual Property Law  http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal Information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including Intellectual Property Law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on Intellectual Property Law 

 

Cambridge University. Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law

http://www.cipil.law.cam.ac.uk/

European Patent Office

http://www.epo.org/index.html

Globalex Guide to International Trademark Law ( by Vicenç Feliú). Updated April 2016 

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/International_Trademark_Law1.htm

Oxford University. Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre

http://www.oiprc.ox.ac.uk/

WIPO Lex. Full text access to IP legislation for jurisdictions which are WIPO members.

http://www.wipo.int/wipolex/en/about.html

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip