This is the "International Economic Law" page of the "International Economic Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Economic Law  

An introduction to the library's holdings on international economic law
Last Updated: Sep 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/internationaleconomiclaw Print Guide RSS Updates
International Economic Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on international economic law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, June 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on International Economic Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

International Economic Law material is shelved at SG75

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on international economic law . Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Bossche, P. Van den  Law and policy of the World Trade Organization   4th ed. 2017

Brownlie, I.  Brownlie’s principles of public international law 8th ed. 2012

Carr, I.  International trade law  5th ed. 2014

Carr, I. & Goldby, M.  International trade law:  Statutes & conventions 2011-2013.  7th ed. 2012                                       

Chuah, J.  Law of international trade: cross-border commercial transactions  5th ed. 2013

Dolzer, R. & Schreuer, C.  Principles of international investment law   2nd ed. 2012

Douglas, Z.  International law of investment claims. 2009

Gessner, V.  Contractual certainty in international trade: empirical studies & theoretical debates on institutional support for global economic exchanges. 2009

Lester, S. et al.  World trade law: text materials & commentary  2nd ed. 2012

Jackson, J., Davey, W & Sykes, A.  Legal problems of international economic relations 5th  ed. 2008     

Lowenfeld, A.  International economic law    2nd ed. 2008

Oppenheim, L.  Oppenheim's international law: Vol. 1 Peace. ed. Jennings & Watts 9th ed. 1992

Pescatore, P. et al.  Handbook of WTO/GATT dispute settlement 1991

Qureshi, A.H.  International economic law  3rd ed. 2011

Qureshi, A.H.  Perspectives in international economic law   2002

Schreuer, C. & Binder, C. ed.  International investment law for the 21st century: essays in honour of Christoph Schreuer 2009

Schreuer, C. The ICSID Convention: a commentary:  commentary on the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of other States  2nd ed. 2009

Sornarajah, M.  International law on foreign investment  3rd ed. 2010

Simma, B.  The Charter of the United Nations: commentary  3rd ed. 2012

Shihata, I.  The world bank in a changing world: selected essays 2000 

Spero, J & Hart, J.  The politics of international economic relations  6th ed. 2003

Trebilcock, M.  Regulation of international trade 4th ed. 2013

Trebilcock, M. Advanced introduction to international trade law   rev. ed. 2015

Wood, Philip  Regulation of international finance. 2nd ed. 2007                                           

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on international economic law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on international economic law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Antitrust bulletin                                                                              

Antitrust law journal                                                                 

Arbitration

Arbitration International                                                               

Australian year book of international law                                     

Banking law journal                                                                              

George Washington international law review                         

Journal of international economic law                                        

Journal of law and economics    

Journal of law, economics and organization                      

Journal of world trade                                                                     

Minnesota journal of global trade                                          

Trade-mark reporter

Washington University global studies law review

World trade review                                                                                                             

University of Pennsylvania journal of international law

World competition: law and economics review                        

World trade and arbitration materials                                             

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning international economic law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on international economic law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on international economic law:

ASIL international electronic resource guide: international economic law

http://www.asil.org/sites/default/files/ERG_IECONL.pdf

EISIL electronic information system for international law: international economic law

http://www.eisil.org/index.php?sid=111119507&t=sub_pages&cat=19

OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development). Legal Instruments

http://webnet.oecd.org/oecdacts/

Journal of international economic law.  Archive of contents post 1998

 http://jiel.oxfordjournals.org/content/by/year

WTO and GATT Research. Libguide provided by the NYU Law Library, USA

http://nyulaw.libguides.com/wto_gatt

 

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip