This is the "Maritime Law" page of the "Maritime Law (including Carriage of Goods by Sea and Marine Insurance)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maritime Law (including Carriage of Goods by Sea and Marine Insurance)  

A guide to the library's holdings on maritime law (including carriage of goods by sea and marine insurance)
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/maritime Print Guide RSS Updates
Maritime Law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Maritime Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, June 2016

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Maritime LawCarriage of Goods by Sea and Marine Insurance.  To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Common law material is shelved at SJ125.

International material is shelved at SG70.

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on maritime law, carriage of goods by sea and marine insurance. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Baatz, Y. et al. The Rotterdam Rules: a practical annotation 2009

Baughen, S. Shipping law 6th ed. 2015

Brice, G. Maritime law of salvage  5th ed. 2011

Debattista, C. Bills of lading in export trade 3rd ed. 2009

Derrington, S. & Turner, J. Law and practice of admiralty matters  2nd ed. 2016

De La Rue, C. Shipping and the environment: Law and practice 2009

Dockray, M. Cases and materials on the carriage of goods by sea  4th ed. 2016

Freestone, D. & Barnes, R. The law of the sea: Progress and prospects 2006 

Gilman, J. et al. Arnould:  law of marine insurance and average 18th ed 2013

Goldby, M. Electronic documents in maritime trade 2013

Hill, C. Maritime law 6th ed. 2003

Ivamy, E.R.H. Marine insurance 4th ed. 1985

Jackson, D.C. Enforcement of maritime claims  4th ed. 2005

Mandaraka-Sheppard, A. Modern maritime law 3rd ed. 2013

Meeson, N. Admiralty jurisdiction and practice  4th ed. 2011

Rose, F.D. Kennedy and Rose: law of salvage  8th ed. 2013

Rothwell, D. & Stephens, T.  International law of the sea  2016

Scrutton, T.E. Scrutton on charterparties and bills of lading 23rd  ed. 2015

Schmitthoff, C.M. Schmitthoff's export trade 12th ed. 2012

Thomas, D. Rhidian A new convention for the carriage of goods by sea: the Rotterdam Rules….. 2009

Soyer, B. & Tettenborn, A. Carriage of goods by sea, land and air: unimodal and multimodal transport in the 21st century 2014

Wilford, M. Time charters 7th ed. 2014

Wilson, J.F. Carriage of goods by sea 7th ed. 2010

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on maritime law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on maritime law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

American maritime cases

Droit maritime français

Journal of maritime law and commerce

Lloyd's maritime and commercial law quarterly

Loyola maritime law journal

Ocean development and international law: the journal of marine affairs

University of San Francisco maritime law journal

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning maritime law in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on maritime law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including maritime law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on maritime law:

BIMCO – An NGO involved in the production and revision of maritime contracts

https://www.bimco.org/

Center for Oceans, Law and Policy, University of Virginia, USA

http://www.virginia.edu/colp/index.html

International Maritime Organisation (IMO)

http://www.imo.org/EN/Pages/Default.aspx

Tetley’s Maritime and Admiralty Law.  A collection of full text articles and related documents by Professor William Tetley.

http://www.mcgill.ca/maritimelaw/maritime-admiralty

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip