Training at IALS Library: Training events

What does this session cover?

This afternoon of training sessions is aimed at postgraduate law students who are preparing to write a dissertation or thesis. There are three sessions included in the afternoon:

•  Finding legal journal articles for your literature review More info
• 
  At this session attendees will learn about finding legal journal articles using print and online resources. This includes identifying the most relevant databases for your research topic and constructing searches to effectively find articles relevant to your research topic.
•  Introduction to citing your sources with OSCOLA More info
• 
  At this session attendees will learn the basics of citing references using the Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA). This includes how to cite primary material from the UK; how to construct a citation for foreign primary material; the rules for citation of secondary materials.
• Formatting your dissertation with MS Word More info

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard are invited to attend this training. Holders of provisional library cards are also welcome to attend.

How can I book a place?

Sessions will be taking place on:

• 21 March, 1pm Book a place
• 11 April, 1pm Book a place

What does this session cover?

OSCOLA stands for the Oxford Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities. At this session you will learn the basics of citing your references using OSCOLA. This includes how to:

• cite UK legislation & cases;
• cite foreign and international legal materials;
• cite books, journal articles, websites & online material;
• cite a source that isn't covered by the OSCOLA rules;
• avoid plagiarism;
• write your bibliography;
• keep your word count down by cross-referencing footnotes.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What do these sessions cover?

Lexis+ UK and Westlaw UK are the key databases you need to master for effective legal research in the UK.

At these introductory sessions you will learn how to:

• choose your database and log in;
• find UK legislation and cases;
• find legal journal articles;
• find foreign and international law materials;
• search and browse effectively;
• download your results.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What does this session cover?

This session will prepare you for researching public international law documentation. At this session we will explain how to:

• use the UN Treaty Collection;
• access regional and national treaty collections, print and online;
• use a treaty index;
• find decisions from the ICJ, ECHR and other international courts using online and print resources;
• find cases in the International Law Reports series and the ORIL database.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. 

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What does this session cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to use legal databases to find legal journal articles. The session will help you to:

• find the full-text of an article if you only have a citation;
• identify the most relevant databases for your research topic;
• efficiently search databases for relevant journal articles;
• get the most out of the e-resources available at IALS Library.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. 

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.