This is the "Tax law" page of the "Tax law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Tax law  

An introduction to library holdings on tax law
Last Updated: Aug 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/taxlaw Print Guide RSS Updates
Tax law Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Tax Law . Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, December 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Tax Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

UK tax material is shelved at GA2.C.8

International Law tax books are shelved at SG78

EU Tax materials are shelved at GO1.A1.C.8

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Tax Law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Brookes, D.    Revenue law: Principles and practice. 33rd ed. 2015    

Clarke, G.   Clarke’s offshore tax planning 22nd  ed. 2015       

Harris, P.   International commercial tax  2010          

Harris, P.   Corporate tax law: structure, policy and practice 2013    

IBFD Online publications (including the following titles)

African tax systems           

Bulletin for international taxation        

European taxation         

Taxation of companies in Europe       

Value added taxation in Europe       

Taxation of patent royalties, dividends interest in Europe   

Taxation in Latin America        

Kessler, J    Taxation of non-residents and foreign domiciliaries 2014-2015 13th ed. 2014

Miller, A.      Principles of international taxation    5th ed. 2016     

O'Hare, J. & Browne, K.    Civil litigation 16th ed. 2013   

Panayi, C.    European Union corporate tax law  2013     

Panayi, C.    Double taxation, tax treaties, treaty shopping and the European Community.  2007     

Salter, D & Kerr, J.   Revenue law: text and materials on revenue law. 2007 

Schwarz, J.    Schwarz on tax treaties.   4rd ed. 2015   

Schwarz, J.   Booth: residence domicile and UK taxation  17th ed.2013     

Southern, D.      Taxation of loan relationships and derivative contracts. 10th ed.  2017    

Spitz, B. & Clarke, G. eds.   Offshore Service  2008-             

Raad, K. Van    Materials on international and EU tax law   2011    Vol. 1 International,  Vol. 2 EU    

Simon’s Taxes     2008-

Tiley, J. Revenue law   8th ed. 2016           

Vogel, K.   Klaus Vogel on double taxation conventions 4th ed. 2015                       

Williams, D.   Davies: principles of tax law  7th ed. 2012                                         

               

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on Tax Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on Tax Law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Australian tax cases

Australian tax review

Berkeley journal of international law

British tax cases  ( For recent issues see Electronic Resource )

British tax review

Butterworths orange tax handbook, 

Butterworths yellow tax handbook  

Income tax reporter 

International tax law reports 

International tax review 

Intertax  ( For recent issues see Electronic Resource ) 

MHA MacIntyre Hudson's yellow tax guide 

MHA MacIntyre Hudson's orange tax guide

New Zealand tax cases

Reports of tax cases

Simon's tax cases

Simon's tax intelligence

Simon's Tiley & Collison U.K. tax guide

South African tax cases

Tax law review

Tax lawyer

 

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning Tax Law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on Tax Law http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including Tax Law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII  (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on Tax Law:

 

European Commission. Taxation and Customs Union

http://ec.europa.eu/taxation_customs/index_en.htm
 

Christopher Sykes. Globalex Research Guide on international Tax Law. Published January 2015

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/International_Tax_Law_Research1.html 

HM Revenue and Customs. Business section

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/businesses/index.shtml

 

  

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip