Skip to main content

Training at IALS Library: Autumn term

An introduction to research skills training offered by the IALS Library

About Autumn training

Please refer to the induction / training timetable given to you by your college or school, if you are based in London or attached to the University of London. This will list any IALS Library training that has been arranged especially for the people on your course.

In addition to course-specific training, IALS Library also runs a number of free training sessions that anyone with an academic reader ticket (student or teaching staff) may attend. The Autumn training programme is designed to introduce you to the library and its resources and to give you the opportunity to gets some hands-on experience with the key legal databases. We encourage all new students to the Westlaw and Lexis Library session, as well as any others that are relevant to your research.

Induction Days

The Induction Day gives all eligible postgraduate law students the chance to register for a library card, go on a library tour and attend the Introduction to the Library and its Resources talk on this day. The Induction Day took will take place on Friday 28 September 2018. 

We strongly encourage new masters students to attend the relevant Induction Day. However if this isn't possible, don't worry, you can sign up for your library card the first time you come to the library.


LLM Induction Day

Back to TOP

Library tours

Library tours will take place in the first week of the Autumn term. Sign up on the 2nd floor of the library or contact us and we can put your name on the list.

Back to TOP

Introduction to the IALS Library and its Resources

What does the presentation cover?

This presentation will introduce you to the collections, service and facilities available in the Library, and the electronic databases for legal research that you will need for your law studies. It includes

  • An introduction to the extensive law collections in the Library
  • How to search the Library Catalogue
  • Finding what you need in the Library
  • How to access the wide range of law databases for legal research (including remote access)
  • How to print, copy, scan, borrow books and connect to the WiFi
  • How to find journal articles using print and electronic resources
  • Where to get help and further legal research training

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where and when does it take place?

Monday 1st October 2018, 3pm, IALS Council Chamber

Wednesday 3rd October 2018, 3pm, IALS Council Chamber

Tuesday 9th October, 2.30pm, IALS Council Chamber

No need to book a place, just turn up.

Back to TOP

Westlaw and Lexis Library Introduction: hands-on sessions

What does this hands-on session cover?

Lexis Library and Westlaw are the key databases you need to master for effective legal research. At this session you will learn how to

  • choose your database and log in
  • find UK legislation and cases
  • find legal journal articles
  • find foreign / international law
  • search and browse effectively
  • download your results

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

Thursday 11th October 2018

Monday 15th October 2018

Tuesday 16th October 2018

Wednesday 17th October 2018

Thursday 18th October 2018

Monday 22nd October 2018 (evening)

Wednesday 24th October 2018 (evening)

Thursday 25th October 2018

Monday 29th October 2018

Tuesday 30th October 2018 (evening)

Thursday 1st November 2018

Monday 5th November 2018

Tuesday 6th November 2018

Wednesday 7th November 2018

Thursday 8th November 2018

Tuesday 13th November 2018

Monday 19th November 2018

Day time sessions take place at between 10:15 - 12:00 in the Computer and Training Room on the 5th Floor.

Evening sessions take place between 18:00 - 19:45 in the Computer and Training Room on the 5th Floor.

How can I book a place?

Please use the following link to book online: http://ials.sas.ac.uk/events

Back to TOP

Sources of Public International Law: hands-on session

What does this introductory lecture cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to

  • find treaties from the UN, Council of Europe and EU
  • access regional, domestic and subject-specfic treaty collections
  • use a treaty index to find a citation find international law cases from the ICJ, EcHR and criminal courts and tribunals
  • find cases in the International Law Reports series
  • find domestic cases on points of international law

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

Tuesday 20th November 2018

Wednesday 28th November 2018

Both sessions take place at between 10:15 - 12:00 in the Computer and Training Room on the 5th Floor.

How can I book a place?

Please use the following link to book online: http://ials.sas.ac.uk/events

Back to TOP

Introduction to OSCOLA

What does this introductory lecture cover?

OSCOLA stands for the Oxford Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities. In this session you will learn how to

  • cite your references using OSCOLA
  • avoid plagiarism
  • cite UK legislation & cases
  • cite foreign legal materials
  • cite books & journal articles
  • cite websites & online material
  • cite international law
  • cite a source that isn't covered by the OSCOLA rules
  • write your bibliography
  • keep your word count down by cross-referencing footnotes

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard who need to use OSCOLA to cite their references.

Where / when does it take place?

Tuesday 27th November 2018, 3pm, IALS Council Chamber

Monday 3rd December 2018, 3pm, IALS Council Chamber

Tuesday 4th December, 11am, IALS Council Chamber

How can I book a place?

Please use the following link to book online: http://ials.sas.ac.uk/events

Back to TOP