This is the "Law of Treaties" page of the "Law of Treaties" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Law of Treaties  

An introduction to the library's holdings on the law of treaties
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2016 URL: http://libguides.ials.sas.ac.uk/treaties Print Guide RSS Updates
Law of Treaties Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on the Law of Treaties. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

 

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, June 2015

 

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Click here for Katherine's full profile and contact details.

 

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Subject Guide. Leave a comment here or drop us an email.

 

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on the Law of Treaties. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk on the 4th Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

 

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk on the 4th floor.

Treaties and Law of Treaties material is shelved at SG35 and SG40.

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Law of Treaties. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location:

Aust, A.  Modern treaty law and practice  3rd ed. 2013     

Brownlie, I. Basic documents in International law. 6th ed. 2009          

Corten, O & Klein, P. The Vienna Conventions on the Law of Treaties 2011       

Dougan, M. & Currie, S. 50 years of the European treaties: looking back and thinking forward. 2009         

Evans ed.  International law 3rd ed. 2010   

Evans ed. Blackstone’s International law documents  10th ed. 2010             

Foster, N.  Blackstone’s EU treaties and legislation  26th ed. 2015-2016           

Hollis, D.  Oxford guide to treaties 2012    

Klabbers, J. The concept of treaty in international law 1996 

Klabbers, J. Treaty conflict and the European Union 2009     

McNair, A.D. Law of treaties 1961       

Orakhelashvili, A. & Williams, S. ed.  40 years of the Vienna Convention on the law of Treaties 2010  

Ramcharan, B.   Fundamentals of international human rights treaty law 2011      

Rosenne, S.  Developments in the law of treaties. 1945-1986. 1989                    

Sinclair, I.   Vienna Convention on the law of treaties 2nd ed. 1984    

Vandevelde, K. Bilateral investment treaties: history policy and interpretation. 2010       

Waelde, T.  ed.  The energy charter treaty 1996  

Zamora, S.  Basic documents of international economic law 1990                  

Back to TOP

 

Serials

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on the law of treaties from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on the law of treaties but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

British yearbook of international law

European Union treaty series (HMSO)

European journal of international law

International and comparative law quarterly

International law reports

International legal materials

International tax treaties of all nations

Max Planck yearbook of United Nations law

Treaties in force (U.S.)

United Kingdom treaty series 

United Nations treaty series

United States treaty index: 1776-2000 consolidation

Back to TOP

 

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning the law of treaties issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Back to TOP

 

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on treaties. http://193.62.18.232/dbtw-wpd/textbase/searchEI.htm

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on treaties.

Globalex guide to researching the drafting history of international agreements (Travaux Préparatoires) by Jonathan Pratter. Updated in 2012

http://www.nyulawglobal.org/globalex/Travaux_Preparatoires1.htm

African Union Treaties in full text.

http://www.au.int/en/treaties

Treaties section of Eur-Lex.  Includes founding, amending and accession treaties of the European Union and also some protocols.

http://eur-lex.europa.eu/collection/eu-law/treaties.html

WIPO Lex provides a search facility for intellectual laws and treaties for a wide range of jurisdictions

http://www.wipo.int/wipolex/en/index.jsp

Back to TOP

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip