Law e-books from Bloomsbury Collections. Titles are sourced from Hart Publishing, Bloomsbury Professional, Nomos, and C.H. Beck.
Access
Bloomsbury Collections e-books are available on site to all academic members of IALS Library.
Off-site access is available to IALS staff, fellows and students; SAS staff, fellows and students (other than IALS); University of London law staff and postgraduate students; and other academic members of IALS Library.
Content
IALS Library's subscription includes the following collections: Bloomsbury Professional Law 2017-Present; C.H. Beck-Hart-Nomos 2014-Present; Comparative Law, Legal History and Legal Studies; Competition Law; Constitutional and Administrative Law; Contract, Tort and Restitution; Corporate and Financial Law; Criminal Law and Justice; Energy, Environmental & Natural Resources Law; European Law; Family and Social Law; Hart Publishing 2014-Present; Hart Publishing Practitioner 2020-Present; Human Rights Law; Intellectual Property Law; International Law; Labour & Discrimination Law; Legal Philosophy; Litigation & Civil Procedure; Medical Law & Ethics; The Law of Property and Trusts.
Browsing
To see only those e-books that are available under the IALS subscription, tick ‘Only Show content which I have full access to’ (under ‘Refine Results by’, on the left). It is then possible to filter the list of books by area of law, date range or collection/series.
Searching
To restrict your search to books that are covered by the IALS subscription, tick ‘Only Show content which I have full access to’ (under ‘Refine Results by’).
Basic and advanced search facilities are available. Advanced search allows you to search by title, author, key word, date and/or other criteria. Click ‘Add Field’ to search by multiple criteria; the default ‘AND’ connector between fields can be changed to ‘OR’ or ‘NOT’.
After selecting a book, there is an option to search within it.
Hart can also be searched at the same time as other book and journal databases, using the Encore Discovery Catalogue.
Reading and downloading
Content can be read online in HTML format. Chapters/sections can also be viewed and downloaded in accessible PDF format by selecting the ‘Download Chapter PDF’ option from the top menu.
There are also options to print or share a link by email.
Help
The ‘About’ section of the platform includes a ‘Help’ page.
Search tips are available on the Advanced Search page if you click on the ‘?’ icon.
Accessibility
View Bloomsbury Collections' accessibility information
The Bloomsbury Collections' online platform complies with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines, and provides the majority of its content in accessible formats.