HeinOnline contains US, international, Canadian, UK and other law publications, including journals, treaties, constitutions, UN material, legislation, classic treatises, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and more.
Access
On-site access to HeinOnline is available at IALS Library, Senate House Library, SAS, and University of London law departments.
Remote access is available to holders of current IALS Library, SAS, or Senate House Library cards if they are: IALS/SAS staff, fellows or students; University of London law staff or students; or academic members of Senate House Library.
Content
HeinOnline contains US, international, Canadian, UK and other law publications, in about 50 different databases.
It includes a library of more than 3,200 law journals, from all around the world; a vast collection of treaties; a global database of constitutions, with commentary; United Nations documentation; Canadian legislation and cases; US legislation and cases; thousands of classic law treatises; the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals; year books of international law; publications of the International Law Association and International Commission of Jurists; material on the history of international law; law librarianship material; and much more.
Hein's ScholarCheck facility features in many of the collections. It shows how many journal articles and cases cite a given journal article or case, with links to the citing material.
Searching
Start typing search terms in the main search box, then select the type of search when prompted: -
The Catalog is the contents list of the entire HeinOnline service. Enter the name of a book, journal or other publication in a Catalog search to see if it is on HeinOnline.
To restrict your search to a specific HeinOnline database – for example, the Law Journal Library - select it from the home page before searching. Some collections have a Citation Navigator, for searching by citation.
To search two or more collections, click on the ‘All Databases’ drop-down menu next to the search box, then make your selection.
An Advanced Search facility is available below the main search box.
Printing, downloading and emailing
To download a PDF version of a document, click on the PDF icon at the top; For other downloading and printing options, use the download icon (the arrow pointing down).
To send a link to a document by email, select the envelope icon.
Help
HeinOnline has a Help menu with a user guide and other information.
See also IALS Library's HeinOnline Guide.