Lexis+ UK’s Legal Research service covers the United Kingdom, the United States, other common law jurisdictions, international law and EU law.
Included in the Encore Catalogue
Access
Lexis+ is available on site to all academic members of IALS Library. Remote access is not currently available, for technical reasons.
Content
United Kingdom (Content tab):
Primary and secondary legislation, as amended;
Reported and unreported cases, with a case citator;
About 120 full-text journals; abstracts from around 150 journals and newsletters;
Halsbury's Laws of England, the encyclopedia of the law of England and Wales;
Books: Bennion, Bailey and Norbury on Statutory Interpretation, Erskine May Parliamentary Practice and a few other titles;
News: legal news, including cases/legislation updates and summaries of journal articles;
Newspapers: national and local newspapers.
United States (International tab):
Federal and state cases;
Federal and state legislation;
Over 850 journals;
Over 280 books.
European Union
EU cases are under Content – Cases – Case Reports.
Retained EU Legislation is under Content – Legislation.
‘View All Sources’ gives access to Archived EU Directives, Archived EU Consolidated Versions, Archived EU Non-Binding Regulations, EC Merger Decisions Archive, EU Cases, Retained EU Decisions and Retained EU Regulations. No other EU official publications were on Lexis+ at the time of writing.
Foreign law
Material from Australia, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Malaysia, New Zealand and South Africa is on the International tab. Irish material and a few other foreign law titles, such as West Indian Reports and Law Reports of the Commonwealth are on the Content tab.
Australian cases (including state/territory cases); about 15 journals (some Australian journals are listed under ‘United States’);
Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial); about 20 journals (some Canadian journals are listed under ‘United States’);
France: a few journals, notably La Semaine Juridique, which includes cases;
Hong Kong: cases and the encyclopedia, Halsbury’s Laws of Hong Kong;
Ireland: cases and two journals (Content tab);
Malaysian legislation and the Malayan Law Journal (which includes cases);
New Zealand cases, the New Zealand Law Journal and the encyclopedia, Laws of New Zealand.;
South African legislation and Butterworth’s South African Constitutional Law Reports.
International law
Cases from international courts and tribunals, including the WTO and International Court of Justice (International tab – International Law) and the European Court of Human Rights (Content tab – Cases – Case Reports);
Journals of international law (International tab and Content tab);
Treaties involving the United States: U.S. Treaties on LEXIS (comprehensive set, under View All Sources – United States) and USCS International Conventions (selected multilaterals, on International tab under International Law).
Searching
Lexis+ offers both general and advanced search facilities.
There are search tips on the Advanced Search pages and detailed guidance is available from Lexis+ Help.
Browsing
The Content tab lists material from the UK, Ireland, the EU, European Court of Human Rights and European Patent Office, arranged by type of publication (e.g. Cases).
The International tab lists material from other jurisdictions, as well as international law material (ICJ cases, journals of international law and so on).
Everything included in IALS Library's subscription is listed under My Sources - View All Sources. The list defaults to UK and Irish content, but can be changed by adjusting the filters, under ‘Narrow by’, top-right. N.B. Some Australian and Canadian content is found under ‘United States of America’ in the sources list, as is the main collection of treaties, U.S.Treaties on LEXIS.
Printing, emailing and downloading
Print/email/ download icons are available on the search results page ( ticking the required items in the list) and in the full document display.