Skip to Main Content

LLMC
LLMC

Jurisdictions:
Content types:
Offsite access availability:
IALS Library academic members (all universities)
IALS staff, fellows & students
SAS staff, fellows & students (other than IALS)
Uni of London law staff & postgraduate students

Description

LLMC is a database of digitised legal and law-related publications. A large proportion of the content is from the US, but a substantial amount of material is also available for the UK, Canada, Germany and other jurisdictions. LLMC is a US-based non-profit library consortium.

More Information

Access
Onsite access through the IALS account is available in IALS, SAS libraries, SHL and University of London law departments.

Remote access is available to IALS and SAS staff, fellows and students; University of London law staff and postgraduate students (including LLM students); academic members of IALS Library; and University of London members of Senate House Library.

See our Library Search guide for advice on how to access databases

NOTE: For remote access to LLMC, you will need to select the ‘FOR MEMBERS’ option on the LLMC homepage once you have logged in to access the subscribed content. 

Content
LLMC includes books, journals, law reports, legislation, treaties, government publications, treatises, periodicals and other material. Much of the content is from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but earlier and more recent material are also represented.

The database is divided into the following collections:

  • U.S. Federal Government
  • U.S. States and Territories
  • Canada, federal, states, territories
  • Germany, Federal/National, states, kingdoms, free cities
  • United Kingdom
  • Other Countries: material from around 190 jurisdictions
  • Indigenous Law: material from North and Central America, India, Indonesia and Russia
  • International Law and Organizations
  • Special Focus Collections: material on comparative law, legal bibliography, Islamic law, ancient law, Jewish law and other subjects, together with a collection of official gazettes from 40 different jurisdictions around the world
  • Open access collection: selected titles from the US, UK, Indigenous law, Other Countries and Special Focus Collections are freely available

Searching and browsing
You can search within the database using the ‘Search the database’ bar at the top. Here you can search within the full text of all the content, search by citation, or search the abstracts (LLMC's description of each publication). There is an Advanced Search available which allows you to limit your search to a particular collection and use Boolean searching.

To browse the LLMC collections, use the filters on the homepage underneath the search bar. You can use these filters to select a country, and then within each country's page, you can perform a search or apply additional filters. There is also an option browse the ‘Special Focus Collections’ by clicking the tab with this title. 

Reading and downloading
Documents on LLMC are scanned images in PDF format, the majority of which are fully accessible. Content should therefore be compatible with assistive software such as screen readers, although it may not function well in all cases due to the age and typescripts of many of the documents. 

You can print and download one page of a document at a time. In order to download and print, you have to register for a personal account using your email address. 

Help
More information and help with searching and accessing content is available on the Help pages.
 

title
Loading...