Sabinet Online

Sabinet Online

Access
Sabinet is available onsite and offsite to all academic members of IALS Library. 
Select Sabinet from the Law Databases page, then choose either ‘Law Collection’ or ‘Juta’s Law Journals’. 

Content
The IALS subscription to Sabinet includes journals in the collection called ‘Law’ and the collection called ‘Juta’s Law Journals’. Most, but not all, of the journals are South African.

• ‘Law’ is a collection of about thirty law and law-related journals, including SA Public Law, the Constitutional Court Review and the Journal for Juridical Science; some are open-access titles.
• ‘Juta’s Law Journals’ is a collection of about fifteen law and law-related journals published by Juta, including the South African Law Journal, Journal of South African Law and Journal of Comparative Law in Africa. 

Each Sabinet journal is also individually listed on the Library Catalogue.

Searching
The search facilities default to covering all Sabinet content, whether or not it is covered by IALS Library’s subscription. It is only possible to read or download the article if it is marked ‘Full access’ or ‘Open access’.

Use the Advanced Search to limit the results to one or more specific collections, or to full access / open access content.

Browsing
To browse by journal title, select a collection. This will be either ‘Law’ or ‘Juta’s Law Journals’. You can switch between the two using the Collections menu.

Reading and downloading
Content on Sabinet can be read online in either HTML or accessible PDF formats, or both. 

Documents can be downloaded in PDF format from the online PDF viewer. There is also an option to print.

Help
The Help menu offers a user guide, FAQs and other information. 

Accessibility
View Sabinet's accessibility information

The Sabinet platform complies with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines, and provides the majority of its content in accessible formats.