The United Nations Law Collection is available as part of the IALS subscription to HeinOnline. It consists of law-related publications from the UN, including yearbooks, conference reports, the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, publications of the International Court of Justice and UNCITRAL materials.
Access
Available onsite to all IALS Library academic members. Offsite access is available to IALS staff, fellows and students, SAS staff, fellows and students (other than IALS), University of London law staff and postgraduate students, IALS Library academic members.
Content
The UN Law Collection contains major UN law publications. It also includes material from the League of Nations. Some of the content pre-dates even the League of Nations, for example Hertslet's Map of Europe by Treaty (1875). Significant material in the collection includes the UN Treaty Series and the League of Nations Treaty Series, publications of the International Court of Justice, UNCITRAL publications and various UN Yearbooks.
Browsing
The Collection is arranged under the following headings:
Under each heading, the available publications are listed alphabetically. Click on a title to browse its contents.
Searching
The search facilities are towards the top of the UN Collection homepage, under the heading Finding Aids.
You can search for a treaty by citation or popular name. Wider search options are available under Search for a Treaty.
For non-treaty materials, choose Search all United Nations Publications.
Reading
Content is displayed in PDF format as a default. The PDFs are images of text and are not all fully accessible. There is an option to view content as plain text by clicking the ‘Text of this Page’ icon on the menu at the top of the document.
Printing, downloading and emailing
To download an accessible PDF version of a document, click on the ‘Download PDF’ icon on the menu at the top of the document.
There is also a ‘Print/Download options' icon on this menu for further options. This allows downloads as PDF or plain text.
A link to a document can also be sent by email by selecting the ‘Email PDF link’ icon.
TIP: ‘Current Section’ in the Print/Download dialog box means the document that you have displayed, for example, a whole treaty.
Accessibility
View HeinOnline's accessibility information
HeinOnline is partially compliant with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.
Content on HeinOnline is provided as images of the material as it originally appeared in print as a default. The images of text are not fully accessible and there are some reported issues with zooming to 200% or beyond. Content is also provided in an accessible format as plain OCR text, which has been converted to text from the image.