Westlaw International Materials

Westlaw International Materials

Access
Westlaw IM is available on site to all academic members of IALS Library. 

Remote access is restricted to IALS staff, IALS fellows and IALS students (using Shibboleth, with the same ID and password as StudyOnline and the IALS computer network). Other library users should check with their own college or university library about remote access to Westlaw.

Content
Westlaw IM includes the following material (not an exhaustive list):-

Australia

• Federal and some state cases
• A few journals and one book

Canada

• Federal and provincial legislation
• Federal and provincial cases, with KeyCite Canada citator
• Substantial collections of journals and books

International law

• International cases: search for name of court/tribunal, or look under ‘Administrative Materials’ and ‘International Arbitration Materials’;
• Journals of international law: many are included in ‘World Journals’ (on IM homepage); others appear only in the US or Canadian journal collections.
• Treaties: 
  • US Treaties: search for United States Treaties (or see U.S. Materials - Administrative Decisions…  - All Federal Administrative Decisions…  - Department of State)
  • See also Administrative Materials – Multinational - International Economic/Environmental Law Documents 
  • EU international agreements are in the EU legislation collection; the Treaties (TFEU, etc.) are under ‘European Union Treaties’.

United States (via ‘U.S. Materials’ link, right-hand side of Westlaw IM homepage)

• Federal and state legislation
• Federal and state cases, with KeyCite citator
• Large collections of books and encyclopedias, including Corpus Juris Secundum
• Large collection of journals

Other Jurisdictions

• Westlaw IM also has some content from Hong Kong, Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and elsewhere.
   

Searching
For best results, use connectors (and, or, et cetera) between search terms, e.g: oil and gas, medical or clinical

The default is to search ‘International Materials’ (non-US content), but you can change this to ‘All Content’ (US and non-US) using the drop-down menu. Alternatively, select a jurisdiction or other material type - e.g. U.S. Materials, Canada, World Journals - using the links on the home page, then search.

To search within a particular series or collection - e.g. Harvard Law Review or International Court of Justice Decisions - enter its name in the search bar, select it when prompted, then search.

To find a known case or article,  enter the citation in the search bar, e.g. 22 F.Supp. 388, or 41 Sydney L. Rev. 73.  

An Advanced Search page is available via a link next to the main search bar.
 

Reading and downloading
Content on Westlaw IM is available to read online in fully accessible HTML format. There is a full screen reading mode available, as well as various options for changing the display of text, including changing font and font size. 

Content can be downloaded in accessible PDF and Word formats by clicking on the delivery menu (arrow next to ‘email’ icon). There are also options here to print and email documents. 

Help 
Westlaw IM’s Advanced Search page gives details of search connectors and truncation symbols.

User guides are available via the ‘Training and Support’ link at the bottom of the Westlaw IM home page.

IALS Library provides a detailed Westlaw guide, tailored to the IALS subscription: see Guides to Key Databases.