Westlaw UK
Included in Encore
Westlaw UK
Included in Encore

Jurisdictions:
Content types:
Vendors
Offsite access availability
IALS staff, fellows & students
Description

The Westlaw UK service provides legal material relating to the UK, the EU and elsewhere, and some international law content. It includes cases, legislation, journals, journal abstracts and books. 

More Information

Included in the Encore Catalogue

Westlaw UK is mainly devoted to UK and EU material; for Canada, Australia and the United States, see Westlaw International. 

Access
Westlaw UK is available on site to all academic members of IALS Library. 

Remote access is only available to IALS staff, IALS fellows and IALS students (using Shibboleth, with same ID and password as StudyOnline / the IALS computer network). Other library members should check with their own college or university library about remote access to Westlaw. 

Content overview 

  • UK primary and secondary legislation, as amended. 
  • UK cases, with a case citator; several European law reports, notably the Common Market Law Reports and European Human Rights Reports. 
  • Journals: more than 110 full-text law journals and abstracts from over 800 law journals; most of these titles are published in the UK, but they also cover UK, European, international and comparative law. 
  • Current Awareness: legal news from the UK, EU, UN, et cetera. 
  • Books: about 350 law books and encyclopedias, the majority published by Sweet and Maxwell. 
  • European Union official publications:  the EU tab contains the Treaties, secondary legislation (directives, regulations, decisions and so on), cases, international agreements, COM documents, and material. The Journals tab has selected European law journals, including the European Law Review. 

Searching
There is a basic search facility on the Westlaw UK home page. Advanced search facilities are available on the Cases, Journals and Legislation tabs. 

Browsing 
Cases tab: select ‘Law Reports’ to browse the list of available law reports. 

Journals tab: click on ‘Publications’ to browse the list of journals (select ‘full-text only’ if required). 

Legislation tab: select ‘Primary and Secondary’ to browse legislation by jurisdiction (UK, Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland) and type of legislation. 

Printing, saving and emailing
To save, click on the down-arrow icon. To print, click on the printer icon. To email, click on the envelope icon. 

Help
A collection of User Guides is available via Westlaw UK, at the bottom of the page.

See also: IALS Library's Westlaw Guide (under 'Guides to Key Databases). 

title
Loading...