World Treaty Library is available as part of the IALS subscription to HeinOnline. It brings together the following collections of treaties into one searchable database: Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties.
Access
Available onsite to all IALS Library academic members. Offsite access is available to IALS staff, fellows and students, SAS staff, fellows and students (other than IALS), University of London law staff and postgraduate students, IALS Library academic members.
Content
Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, selected scholarly articles as chosen by the editors, and a bibliography of related publications.
Browsing
To browse, select All Titles or Major Treaty Collections from the collection homepage. The All Titles option has a convenient letter index to help quickly navigate the list of titles. Adjust the list of titles and browse by Title, Author, Date or Subject.
Select US Treaties & Agreements to open a sub-collection of treaty publication, guides and indexes, books, CRS Reports, hearings and external links to important US treaties and agreements.
Searching
Start typing search terms, then select the type of search when prompted: keyword search (‘Just search for’), author/title/citation search, or Catalog search (the Catalog is the contents list of the whole HeinOnline service, not just the World Trials Library).
Search connectors must be in capital letters, for example, employment OR labour OR labor. Click on ‘Search help’ below the search box to see a full list of search syntax that can be used in HeinOnline.
The Advanced Search page allows you to search using additional fields. It is possible to search across the all of the materials, or just one collection. There are multiple treaty specific search fields available, including short title, countries, treaty number, sign place and sign date. If the full text of any treaty found using these indexes is available in HeinOnline, a link to that treaty will be available.
Reading
Content is displayed in PDF format as a default. The PDFs are images of text and are not all fully accessible. There is an option to view content as plain text by clicking the ‘Text of this Page’ icon on the menu at the top of the document.
Printing, downloading and emailing
To download an accessible PDF version of a document, click on the ‘Download PDF’ icon on the menu at the top of the document.
There is also a ‘Print/Download options' icon on this menu for further options. This allows downloads as PDF or plain text.
A link to a document can also be sent by email by selecting the ‘Email PDF link’ icon.
TIP: ‘Current Section’ in the Print/Download dialog box means the document that you have displayed, for example, a whole treaty.
Help
HeinOnline has a Help menu with a user guide and other information.
Accessibility
View HeinOnline's accessibility information
HeinOnline is partially compliant with Web Content Accessibility Guidelines.
Content on HeinOnline is provided as images of the material as it originally appeared in print as a default. The images of text are not fully accessible and there are some reported issues with zooming to 200% or beyond. Content is also provided in an accessible format as plain OCR text, which has been converted to text from the image.