Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases: Databases for foreign law

An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources.

Contents

Multijurisdictional sources - AfricaAmericas - Asia - Australia and New Zealand -  Europe - Middle East 

The subscription resources mentioned on this tab can be found in the IALS Electronic Law Library (except Staudinger - see Germany, below).

TIPS
To access foreign law material 
on Lexis®Library, open the Sources tab (top-right) and select International Content. 

To access Westlaw's foreign law material, select Westlaw International Materials from the Electronic Law Library. Alternatively, from Westlaw UK, use the Region menu to switch platforms.

Multi-jurisdictional sources

Subscription databases

Cases
Foreign Law Guide lists print and online sources of cases for almost every jurisdiction in the world. It also gives an overview of each jurisdiction's history and legal system.  

IBFD Online has tax cases from a wide range of jurisdictions.

Legislation
World Constitutions Illustrated provides the current and historical constitutions for every jurisdiction, with commentary and bibliographies. 

The Foreign Law Guide database, a global directory published by Brill, gives titles and citations of legislation for almost every jurisdiction of the world, arranged by subject (it does not include the legislation itself).

Journals
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals indexes law journals from all around the world (about 600 journals in total).

Other
IBFD Online has surveys and analysis of tax regimes worldwide.

Foreign Law Guide gives an overview of the history and legal system of each jurisdiction, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe.

Practical Law has a set of Global Guides that provide overviews of about seventy topics in more than twenty foreign jurisdictions, accompanied by a comparison tool (see Resources tab).

Lexis®Library has the Lex Mundi Guide to Doing Business in... for about thirty foreign jurisdictions (see Browse - International Content - United States).


Free websites
WorldLII: a large collection of legislation, cases and related materials from all over the world

Eagle-i: a gateway to high-quality legal information on the web, covering many different jurisdictions.

N-Lex:  a search facility covering the national legislation websites of each EU member state.

Africa

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes journals from several African jurisdictions, including about twenty South African titles. It also has journals focusing on African law in general.

Sabinet Online provides fourteen South African law journals under the IALS subscription, together with several open access titles.

SCC Online has cases from about fifteen African jurisdictions (details on SCC coverage page under 'Foreign Materials').

Lexis®Library has Butterworths Statutes of South Africa and Butterworths South African Constitutional Law Reports (see Sources - International Content).

Westlaw International Materials has Constitutional Law of South Africa​, a treatise published by Juta.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Americas

Canada
Westlaw International Materials has Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial), about sixty Canadian journals/newsletters and more than sixty books, including the Canadian Encyclopedic Digest.

Lexis®Library has Canadian cases and legislation (federal and provincial) and twenty-one journals; most of the Canadian journals are currently listed under 'United States'.

HeinOnline has  more than 100 Canadian journals. Canada Supreme Court Reports and Revised Statutes of Canada (historical collections of statutes as amended).

 

Caribbean
JustisOne has a large collection of cases, covering eighteen Caribbean states, the Caribbean Court of Justice and the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

Lexis®Library (UK platform) has the West Indian Reports.

Westlaw International Materials has primary and secondary legislation from Barbados and the Cayman Islands.


Latin America
HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes about fifteen Latin American journals.

Westlaw International Materials has United States-Mexico Law Journal and U.S.-Mexico Legal Review.

Lexis®Library has a collection called Mexican Caselaw, covering Supreme Court cases up about 2004 (Sources - International Content - United States). 
 

United States
Lexis®Library's US content includes federal and state legislation, federal and state cases, over 850 journals and about 200 books, including the American Law Institute’s Restatement of the Law series (see Browse - International Content - United States).

Westlaw International Materials' US content includes federal and state legislation, federal and state cases (with the KeyCite citator), over 1,000 US journals and over 2,500 US books, including the encyclopedia Corpus Juris Secundum.

HeinOnline includes almost 2,000 US journals, federal legislation, US Supreme Court cases, presidential materials, classic books and more.

Index to Legal Periodicals covers over 1,000 journals, the majority of which are US publications (see title list).

NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository is a database of working papers, reports, lectures, workshop presentations and other scholarship by US academics.

For interdisciplinary research, see the following databases, which cover many US journals (some full-text, others not):

  • EBSCOHost:  Academic Search Complete, Business Source Premier
  • JSTOR

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Need more help with foreign law research?

IALS librarians have written research guides covering more than thirty foreign jurisdictions.

Asia

Lexis®Library (see Sources - International Content) has:

Halsbury's Laws of Hong Kong (an encyclopedia) and a collection of cases from Hong Kong.

Jindal Global Law Review (India) and ​Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in India (under 'United States')

Malayan Law Journal (which publishes cases as well as articles), Malayan Court Practice and Unannotated Malaysian Statutes

SCC Online has:

Indian cases from the late C18th to the present, Indian primary and secondary legislation as amended, more than thirty Indian law journals

cases from Bangladesh, Malaysia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand (details on SCC coverage page under 'Foreign Materials')

two journals from Singapore and one journal from Bangladesh (Dhaka University Law Journal).

Westlaw International Materials has:

about ten books on Chinese law (in English), Hong Kong Law Journal, Hong Kong cases and legislation

Korean cases and legislation, about ten Korean journals

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Doing Business In India

Singapore Year Book of International Law and the Singapore Journal of Legal Studies.

HeinOnline has 16 Indian law journals (some historical) and several law journals from Korea and Singapore.

JustisOne has the Singapore Law Reports.

LLMC Digital has the All India Reporter from 1914 to 1947.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Australia and New Zealand

Australia
Lexis®Library has Australian case law and more than ten Australian journals (some Australian journals are under 'United States').

Westlaw International has Australian case law and a few Australian journals (not the same ones as Lexis).

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library includes more than ninety Australian journals.

CaseBase indexes Australian cases and journal articles.

New Zealand
Lexis®Library has New Zealand cases, New Zealand Law Journal, and Laws of New Zealand (an encyclopedia).

Westlaw International Materials has five New Zealand journals.

HeinOnline has thirteen New Zealand journals.

CaseBase indexes New Zealand cases and some New Zealand journals.  

Index to Legal Periodicals covers some New Zealand journals.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Europe

France
Dalloz.fr has French legislation, cases, encyclopedias, journals and other publications.

Le Doctrinal indexes more than 350 law journals, mainly French.

HeinOnline has a collection of old French law journals (nineteenth century / first half of twentieth century).

Germany

Beck-Online: IALS Library's subscription to this service covers legislation (annotated) and some journals and cases.

J. von Staudingers Kommentar zum Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuch, a commentary on the German Civil Code, is available online via the Juris platform, under 'Kommentare/Bücher': see 'Staudinger - BGB online', on IALS Library Catalogue.

Westlaw International Materials has the German Law Journal.

Ireland
HeinOnline has twenty-six Irish journals, some current, some historical.

Lexis®Library has Irish cases, including the Irish Reports, and two Irish journals (see Sources - Browse Sources - Ireland).

JustisOne has the Irish Reports and Irish Digest.

Westlaw UK indexes about thirty Irish journals and has two full-text ones. 

Other
HeinOnline includes law journals from about twenty different European jurisdictions, including many in Eastern Europe: see Law Journal Library - Browse by Country.

Westlaw International Materials includes two Swiss books.

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.

Middle East

HeinOnline's Law Journal Library has six Israeli journals, including Israel Law Review (with a two-year embargo on the full text).

Lexis®Library has Israel Law Review (1999 onwards, under International Content - United States).

Westlaw International Materials has two Israeli journals. 

See alsoMulti-jurisdictional sources.