Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases: Databases for EU law

An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources.

Journals, books, legal updates

Journals

If you are looking for any articles on a particular EU law topic......
Articles on EU law are published in UK, European, international and even US journals. Try the following databases (all are in the Electronic Law Library, except Find-eR, which is a free web resource):

Westlaw UK: full text articles or abstracts from over 1,000 UK and European/international law journals.

Lexis®Library: full text articles or abstracts from over 500 UK, European/international and US law journals.

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (part of HeinOnline): index covering journals from non-common law jurisdictions, plus international and comparative law journals; links to full-text articles if available on HeinOnline.

Find-eR, the European Commission's library catalogue (freely available online):  indexes journal articles from a range of European jurisdictions; filter search results by Resource Type 'Articles'; full text not available to external users.

HeinOnline's Law Journals Library: more than 2,700 full-text journals, mainly published in the US, but including a substantial number of articles on EU law.

If you are looking for a specific article...
First find the journal on the Library Catalogue. If it is available online, there will be a link on the Catalogue record; follow the link, then drill down to the year/volume required.

If you need more help...
See our research guide, Finding Journal Articles. 


Books
Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO) includes about 150 EU law books in its Law collection. The Library Catalogue has links to each OSO Law e-book; to search the OSO whole collection, select Oxford Scholarship Online from the Electronic Law Library, then filter by subject 'EU Law' and use 'Search within results'.

Westlaw UK, Cambridge Core, Hart and Elgaronline all include a few books on EU law: see Library Catalogue for individual titles. 


Legal updates

Practical Law has an EU law section with legal updates, practice notes and other material designed with practitioners in mind.

Need more help with EU research?

See IALS Library's EU research guide.

Legislation, cases, other EU official publications

Legislation
EU primary legislation ("the Treaties") is available on Westlaw UK, Lexis®Library and the free EUR-Lex website; all these sources have consolidated amended versions. TIP: EUR-Lex is the easiest database to use for researching the Treaties.

EU secondary legislation (regulations, directives, decisions and so on) is on Westlaw UK, Lexis®Library and EUR-Lex, in original and consolidated amended versions; the consolidated versions are occasionally not quite up-to-date. 


 Cases
The decisions of the Court of Justice, the General Court (formerly 'Court of First Instance') and the now-defunct Civil Service Tribunal are available on Westlaw UK, Lexis®Library, EUR-Lex and the EU court website, Curia.

For national court decisions on matters of EU law, see Dec.nat, a free database provided by the Association of the Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdictions of the European Union. 


COM documents (Commission proposals, reports, etc.)

EUR-Lex has COM documents from 1960 onwards, under 'Preparatory Documents'. Many old COM docs are available from the Archive of European IntegrationWestlaw UK and Lexis®Library have them from around the mid-1990s onwards. 


The Official Journal 
All issues of the Official Journal are on EUR-Lex, right back to the 1950s.

Individual documents published in the L series of the Official Journal (directives, regulations and other EU secondary legislation) are on Westlaw UK and Lexis®Library, but they are not grouped together into issues of the OJ.


Documents published in the C series of the Official Journal are on Westlaw UK from 1990 onwards (under 'Information and Notices') and on Lexis®Library from 2000 onwards (under 'EU Materials').

 


Other EU publications
For other EU official publications, try the Europa website or the Archive of European Integration.