International Economic Law: IALS Library Guides

Guide last updated by Balqees Khan, September 2025.

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on international economic law. Please consult Library Search for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on International Economic Law. To find additional resources you will need to use Library Search, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. It is also possible to search by article and individual chapter title for some material.

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

• Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
• Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks on Common Law topics for Common Law jurisdictions (Australia, Canada, New Zealand, UK, USA) are shelved in a special section (SJ). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are using Library Search for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Library Enquiry Desk.

International Economic Law material is shelved at SG75

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on international economic law. Please follow the links to Library Search for further information and location. Titles are available in both print and electronic formats, unless indicated otherwise on the list below.

Bossche, P.V.  Law and policy of the World Trade Organization  5th ed. 2022 (e-book)

Brownlie, I.  Brownlie’s principles of public international law  9th ed. 2019 (e-book)

Burri, M.  Big data and global trade law  2021 CUP (e-book open access) 

Carr, I. and Peter, S.  International trade law  6th ed. 2018

Collins, D.  Foundations of International Economic Law  2019 Elgar (e-book)

Cottier, T. and others  Elgar encyclopedia of international economic law  2017 Elgar (e-book)

Dolzer, R. & Schreuer, C.  Principles of international investment law  3rd ed. 2022 OUP (e-book)

Douglas, Z.  International law of investment claims  2009

Hsieh, P.  New Asian regionalism in international economic law  2022 CUP (e-book)

Jackson, J., Davey, W & Sykes, A.  Legal problems of international economic relations  5th ed. 2008     

Lester, S. et al.  World trade law: text, materials & commentary  3rd ed. 2018

Lowenfeld, A.  International economic law  2nd ed. 2008

Marhold, A.  Energy in international trade law : concepts, regulation and changing markets  2021 CUP (e-book) 

Mishra, N.  International trade law and global data governance: aligning perspectives and practices  2024 Hart (open access)

Oppenheim, L.  Oppenheim's international law: Vol. 1 Peace.  9th ed. 1996

Palmeter, D. and others  Dispute settlement in the World Trade Organization: practice and procedure  2022 CUP (e-book) 

Peng, S.  International economic law in the era of datafication  2024 CUP (e-book)

Qureshi, A.H.  International economic law  4th ed. 2019

Schreuer, C. & Binder, C. ed.  International investment law for the 21^st century: essays in honour of Christoph Schreuer  2009

Schreuer, C.  The ICSID Convention: a commentary on the Convention on the Settlement of Investment Disputes between States and Nationals of other States  3rd ed. 2022 CUP (e-book)

Sornarajah, M.  International law on foreign investment  5th ed. 2021

Simma, B.  The Charter of the United Nations: a commentary  4th ed. 2024 OUP 

Spero, J & Hart, J.  The politics of international economic relations  6th ed. 2003

Subedi, S.  International investment law: reconciling policy and principle  5th ed. 2024

Trebilcock, M.  Regulation of international trade  4th ed. 2013

Trebilcock, M.  Advanced introduction to international trade law  3rd ed. 2025

Wood, P.  Regulation of international finance  3rd ed. 2019 Sweet & Maxwell (e-book)

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on international economic law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Titles are available in both print and electronic formats, unless indicated otherwise on the list below. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on international economic law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Antitrust bulletin  e-journal                                                                          

Antitrust law journal  e-journal                                                            

Arbitration   e-journal

Arbitration International  e-journal                                                            

Australian yearbook of international law  e-journal                                  

Banking law journal  e-journal                                                                         

George Washington international law review  Open access                       

Journal of international economic law  e-journal                                    

Journal of law and economics  e-journal

Journal of law, economics and organization  e-journal                   

Journal of world trade                                                                  

Minnesota journal of global trade  e-journal                                       

Trade-mark reporter  e-journal

Washington University global studies law review  e-journal

World trade review   e-journal                                                                                                        

University of Pennsylvania journal of international law  

World competition: law and economics review                        

World trade and arbitration materials                                            

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning international economic law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult Library Search to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to Law Databases or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on international economic law.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on international economic law:

OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development)  A compendium of OECD Legal Instruments

WTO and GATT Research  Libguide provided by the NYU Law Library, USA

WTO iLibrary  A searchable full text resource. A subscription is required to download documents