This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Competition Law and Antitrust Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Katherine Read, August 2020
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Competition Law and Antitrust Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). Textbooks
All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Issue & Enquiry Desk.
Comparative antitrust and competition law material is shelved at SB40
European Union antitrust and competition law material is shelved at GO1.A1.D.2 and at GO1.A8.D.2
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on antitrust and competition law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Anderman, S. EU competition law and intellectual property rights 2nd ed. 2011
Bailey, D. & John, L. Bellamy and Child: European Union law of competition 8th ed. 2018
Blackstone’s UK and EU competition documents 8th ed. 2015
Bishop, S & Walker, M. The economics of EC competition law 3rd ed. 2010
Brealey, M. & George, K. Competition litigation: UK practice and procedure 2019
Colino, S. Competition law of the EU and UK 7th ed. 2011
Dabbah, M. International and comparative competition law 2010
Dabbah, M. & Lasok, P. Merger control worldwide 2nd ed. 2012
Faull, J. & Nikpay, A. The EU law of competition. 3rd ed. 2014
Jones, A. Jones and Sufrin's EU competition law: text, cases and materials. 7th ed. 2019
Lianos, I. Competition law: analysis, cases and materials. 2019
Niels, G. Economics for competition lawyers 2nd ed. 2016
Rose, V.& Bailey, D. Bellamy and Child: Materials on European Union law of Competition. 2015
Wadlow, C. The law of passing off: unfair competition by misrepresentation 5th ed. 2016 S & M (e-book)
Whish, R. Competition law. 9th ed. 2018 OUP (e-book)
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on competition law and antitrust Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on competition law and antitrust law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning competition law and antitrust law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on competition and antitrust law.
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including competition and antitrust law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on competition and antitrust law.
American Antitrust Institute
Competition Appeal Tribunal (UK)
European Commission. Competition
IDEA: The IP Law review (University of New Hampshire)