Guide last updated by Katherine Read, March 2023
This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.
This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Information Technology/
Telecommunications Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Information Technology and Telecommunications Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). . All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Library Enquiry Desk.
Comparative IT and Telecommunications Law material is shelved at SB80.
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on information technology and telecommunications law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Barfield, W & Pagallo, U. Research handbook on the law of artificial intelligence 2018 CUP (e-book)
Barfield, W. Cambridge handbook on the law of algorithms 2021 CUP (e-book)
Blackstone’s statutes on IT and e-commerce law. 2008
Collins, R. Robotica: speech rights and artificial intelligence 2018 CUP (e-book)
DiMatteo, L. and others Cambridge handbook of artificial intelligence: global perspectives on law and ethics CUP 2022 (e-book)
Edwards, L. Law and the Internet: a framework for electronic commerce. 3rd ed. 2009
Ienca, M. and others Cambridge handbook of information technology, life sciences and human rights. CUP 2022 (e-book)
Lloyd, I.J. Information technology law. 9th ed. 2020
Lloyd, I. and Mellor, D. Telecommunications law 3rd ed. 2019 S & M (e-book)
Millard, C. Cloud computing law 2nd ed. 2021 OUP (e-book)
Morgan, R. Morgan, Burden and Berry on IT contracts. 10th ed. 2020
Murray, A. Information technology law: the law and society. 4th ed. 2020
Nihoul, P & Rodford, P. EU electronic communications law. 2nd ed. 2011
Reed, C. Computer Law. 7th ed. 2011
Reed, C. Internet law text and materials. 2nd ed. 2004 CUP (e-book)
Smith, G. Internet law and regulation 5th ed. 2020 S & M (e-book)
Walden, I & Angel, J. Telecommunications law and regulation. 5th ed. 2018 OUP (e-book)
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on information technology and telecommunications law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on information technology and telecommunications law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
Boston university journal of science and technology law open access
Communications law e-journal
Computer and telecommunications law review e-journal
Computer law and security review
Computers and law open access
Harvard journal of law and technology open access
Hastings communications and entertainment law journal open access
IDEA: Journal of the Franklin Pierce Centre for intellectual property open access
Information and communications technology law e-journal
International journal of law and information technology e-journal
International review of law, computers & technology e-journal
John Marshall journal of information technology and privacy law open access
Michigan telecommunications and technology law review open access
Rutgers computer and technology law journal e-journal
Santa Clara computer and high-technology law journal e-journal
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning information technology issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to Law Databases or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on information technology law
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including information technology law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on information technology law:
Berkeley Technology Law Journal
Yale Law School. Information Society Project
IViR. University of Amsterdam. Institute for Information Law
SCL. Society for Computers and Law (leading UK organisation for practitioners in IT law)