This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Maritime Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Katherine Read, September 2020
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Maritime Law, Carriage of Goods by Sea and Marine Insurance. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH).
All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Library Enquiry Desk.
Common law material is shelved at SJ125.
International material is shelved at SG70.
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on maritime law, carriage of goods by sea and marine insurance. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Baatz, Y. et al. The Rotterdam Rules: a practical annotation 2009
Baatz, Y. Maritime Law 4th ed. 2017
Baughen, S. Shipping law 7th ed. 2019 (e-book)
Brice, G. Maritime law of salvage 5th ed. 2011
Chuah, J. Research handbook on maritime law and regulation. 2019 Elgar (e-book)
Debattista, C. Bills of lading in export trade 3rd ed. 2009
Derrington, S. & Turner, J. Law and practice of admiralty matters 2nd ed. 2016
De La Rue, C. Shipping and the environment: Law and practice 2009
Dockray, M. Cases and materials on the carriage of goods by sea 4th ed. 2016
Freestone, D. & Barnes, R. The law of the sea: Progress and prospects 2006 OUP (e-book)
Gilman, J. et al. Arnould: law of marine insurance and average 19th ed 2018 S & M (e-book)
Goldby, M. Electronic documents in maritime trade 2nd ed. 2019
Hill, C. Maritime law 6th ed. 2003
Ivamy, E.R.H. Marine insurance 4th ed. 1985
Jackson, D.C. Enforcement of maritime claims 4th ed. 2005
Mandaraka-Sheppard, A. Modern maritime law 3rd ed. 2013
Meeson, N. Admiralty jurisdiction and practice 5th ed. 2017 (e-book)
Mitchell, C. & Watterson, F. The world of maritime and commercial law: essays in honour of Francis Rose Bloomsbury 2020 (e-book)
Ozdel, M. Commercial maritime law Bloomsbury 2020 (e-book)
Rose, F.D. Kennedy and Rose: law of salvage 8th ed. 2013
Rothwell, D. & Stephens, T. International law of the sea 2016
Scrutton, T.E. Scrutton on charterparties and bills of lading 24th ed. 2020 (e-book)
Schmitthoff, C.M. Schmitthoff's export trade 12th ed. 2012
Tettenborn, A. Marsden & Gault on collisions at sea 15th ed. 2021
Thomas, D. Rhidian A new convention for the carriage of goods by sea: the Rotterdam Rules….. 2009
Wilford, M. Time charters 7th ed. 2014
Wilson, J.F. Carriage of goods by sea 7th ed. 2010
IALS Library holds a selection of current serial titles on maritime law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on maritime law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals. A further selection of journals can be accessed via I-Law Maritime Law resources
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning maritime law in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on maritime law
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including maritime law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on maritime law:
BIMCO – An NGO involved in the production and revision of maritime contracts
Center for Oceans, Law and Policy, University of Virginia, USA
International Maritime Organisation (IMO)