Guide last updated by Katherine Read, July 2020 (currently being updated)
This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Company law and Corporate Insolvency. Please consult the Library Catalogue for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Company law and Corporate Insolvency. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Enquiry Desk.
Common law books on Company Law are shelved at SJ100
Common law books on Insolvency Law are shelved at SJ350
Comparative law books on Company Law and Corporate Insolvency are shelved at SB40
European Union books on Company Law and Corporate Insolvency are shelved at GO1.A1.D.2
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Company law and Corporate Insolvency. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Andenas, M. European comparative company law 2009 (e-book)
Boyle, A.J. & Bird, J. Boyle and Bird's company law. 9th ed. 2014
Bruce, M. Rights and duties of directors 13th ed. 2016
Cork, K. Cork report. 1982 (Cmnd. 8558)
Dabbah, M. & Lasok, P. Merger control worldwide. 2nd ed. 2012 (e-book)
Davies, P.L. Gower's principles of modern company law. 11th ed. 2021
Dignam, A. & Lowry, J. Company law. 11th ed. 2020
Dine, J. Companies, international trade & human rights. 2005
Ferran, E. Principles of corporate finance law 2nd ed. 2014 OUP (e-book)
Finch, V. Corporate insolvency law : perspectives and principles 3rd ed. 2017 S & M (e-book)
Fuller, G. Corporate borrowing: law and practice 5th ed. 2016
Gerner-Beuerle, C. and Schillig, M. Comparative company law OUP 2019 (e-book)
Goode, R.M. & McKendrick, E Goode and McKendrick on commercial law 6th ed. 2020
Goode, R.M. & Gullifer, L. Goode and Gullifer on legal problems of credit and security 6th ed. 2017 (e-book)
Goode, R.M. Goode on payment obligations in commercial and financial transactions. 2nd ed. 2009
Goode, R.M Principles of corporate insolvency law 5th ed. 2018 S & M (e-book)
Goode, R.M Transnational commercial law: text cases and materials 2nd ed. 2015 (e-book)
Goode, R.M Transnational commercial law: Primary materials 2007
Heidemann, M Transnational commercial law 2019
Kraakman, H. The anatomy of corporate law: a comparative and functional approach 3rd ed. 2017 OUP (e-book)
Lightman, G. & Moss, G. The law of administrators and receivers of companies. 6th ed. 2017 (e-book)
Mallin, C. Corporate governance 5th ed. 2016
Mayson, S. Mayson, French & Ryan on company law 37th ed. 2021
Micheler, E. Company law : a real entity theory 2021 (e-book)
Panayi, C. European Union corporate tax law 2013
Pennington, R.R Pennington's company law. 8th ed. 2001
Pennington, R.R. Pennington's corporate insolvency law. 2nd ed. 1997
Rajak, H. Company rescue and liquidation. 3rd ed. 2013
Reisberg, A. & Donovan, A. Pettet, Lowry & Reisberg's company law. 5th ed. 2018 Pearson (e-book)
Scanlan, G. et al. Companies Act 2006. 2007
Sealy, L.S. Commercial law text, cases and materials 5th ed. 2017
Sealy, L.& Milman, D. Annotated guide to the insolvency legislation 24th ed. 2021 S & M (e-book)
Sjåfjell, B and Bruner, C. The Cambridge handbook of corporate law, corporate governance and sustainability CUP 2020 (e-book)
Southern, D. Taxation of loan relationships and derivative contracts 10th ed. 2017
Wells, H. Research handbook on the history of corporate and company law Elgar 2018 (e-book)
Witting, C. Liability of corporate groups and networks CUP 2018 (e-book)
Worthington, S. Sealy and Worthington’s text, cases and materials in company law. 11th ed. 2016
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on company law and corporate insolvency from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others are available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on company law and corporate insolvency but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning company law and corporate insolvency issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on company law and corporate insolvency.
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including company law and corporate insolvency and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on company law and corporate insolvency.
Corporate law governance: A blog maintained by Robert Goddard (Aston Law School). Focuses on UK law but features from other jurisdictions may be included.
European Corporate Governance Institute: Website of the European Corporate Governance Institute (ECGI), a not for profit, membership organisation based in Belgium. The ECGI promotes good practice in corporate governance and conducts and commissions research into corporate governance issues.
Global Insolvency Law Database: The Global Insolvency Law Database (GILD) is a portal to World Bank and other documentation relating to insolvency and creditor rights.
The Institute of International Commercial Law, established in 1991, is maintained by Pace Law School in the USA. The CISG database provides access to a wide selection of resources concerning the UN Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods.