Guide last updated by Katherine Read, March 2023
This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.
This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Library Enquiry Desk.
Comparative Industrial and Intellectual Property Law material is shelved at SB55.
Common Law Material is shelved at SJ325
Private International Law Material is shelved at SH35
EU material is shelved at GO1.A1.D.2
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Anderman, S. EU competition law and intellectual property rights; the regulation of innovation. 2nd ed. 2011
Aplin, T. Copyright law in the digital society 2005
Aplin, T. Intellectual property law: text, cases and materials. 4th ed. 2021
Bainbridge D. Information technology and intellectual property law 7th ed. 2019
Bainbridge, D. Intellectual property. 8th ed. 2010
Bently, L & Sherman, B. Intellectual property law 6th ed. 2022
Bently, L. & Aplin, T. Global mandatory fair use: the nature and scope of the right to quote copyright works. 2021 CUP (e-book)
Brown, A. and others Contemporary intellectual property: law and policy 5th ed. 2019
Calboli, I. and Ginsburg J. ed. Cambridge handbook of international and comparative trademark law 2020 CUP (e-book)
Christie, A. & Gare, S. Blackstone’s statutes on intellectual property 15th ed. 2020
Contreras, J. Intellectual property licensing and transactions: theory and practice CUP 2022 Open Access
Cornish, W. Llewelyn, D. & Aplin, T. Intellectual property: Patents copyright, trademarks and allied rights. 9th ed. 2019
Cornish, W. Cases and materials on intellectual property. 5th ed. 2006
Copinger, W.A. Copinger and Skone James on copyright. 18th ed. 2021 Sweet & Maxwell (e-book)
Dreyfuss, Rochelle C. & Pila, J. The Oxford Handbook of Intellectual Property Law 2017 OUP (e-book)
Gervais, D. The TRIPS agreement: drafting history and analysis. 5th ed. 2021
Gibson, J. Intellectual property, medicine and health 2nd ed. 2018 Routledge (e-book)
Holyoak, J. and Torremans, P. Intellectual property law 9th ed. 2019
Hudson, E. Drafting copyright exceptions: from the law in books to the law in action 2020 CUP (e-book)
Kelleher, P. Life sciences and intellectual property: law and practice 2020 Thomson Reuters (Sweet and Maxwell) (e-book)
Maniatis, S. & Mühlendahl, A. Trade mark law in Europe: a practical jurisprudence. 3rd ed. 2016
Matthews, D. & Zech, H. Research handbook on intellectual property and the life sciences 2017 Elgar (e-book)
Mellor, J. and others Kerly's law of trade marks. 16th ed. 2018 S & M (e-book)
Morcom, C. Modern law of trademarks 6th ed. 2021
Ricketson, S. & Ginsburg, J. International copyright and neighbouring rights: the Berne convention and beyond. 3rd ed. 2022 2 vols.
Rosati, E. Routledge handbook of EU copyright law 2021 Routledge (e-book)
Sterling, J.A.L. Sterling on world copyright law 5th ed. 2018 S & M (e-book)
Stokes, S. Art and copyright 3rd ed. 2021
Stokes, S. Digital copyright law and practice 5th ed. 2019 Bloomsbury (e-book)
Torremans, P.L.C. Intellectual property law and human rights 4th ed. 2020 Wolters Kluwer (e-book)
Wadlow, C. Law of passing off: unfair competition by misrepresentation 6th ed. 2021 S & M
Walter, M. & Van Lewinsky, S. European copyright law: a commentary 2010
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on Industrial and Intellectual Property Law but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
European intellectual property review e-journal
Information & communications technology law e-journal
Intellectual property law bulletin e-journal
Intellectual property quarterly e-journal
International review of intellectual property and competition law (IIC) e-journal
Journal of the Copyright Society of the U.S.A. e-journal
Journal of the Patent and Trademark Office Society e-journal
Journal of world intellectual property e-journal
Reports of patent design and trade mark cases e-journal
Texas intellectual property law journal e-journal
Tulane journal of technology and intellectual property e-journal
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning Industrial and Intellectual Property Law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to Law Databases or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on Intellectual Property Law.
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal Information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including Intellectual Property Law and also links to other free World Law databases. Jurisdictions covered in these resources include Commonwealth countries eg. AustLII (Australia) and CanLII (Canada), France, Germany, Italy, the USA and South Africa.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on Intellectual Property Law
Cambridge University. Centre for Intellectual Property and Information Law
European Patent Office
Globalex Guide to International Trademark Law ( by Vicenç Feliú). Updated March/April 2021
Oxford University. Oxford Intellectual Property Research Centre
WIPO Lex. Full text access to IP legislation for jurisdictions which are WIPO members.