Training at IALS Library: Training events

Book a one-to-one advice session with an IALS librarian. Appointments can take place in-person or online.

We can help you with all aspects of using library resources and correct use of OSCOLA, for example;

• Finding secondary sources such as books and journal articles
• Finding primary sources such as cases and legislation
• Advice on which database to use
• Constructing effective searches
• Citing unusual sources using OSCOLA

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

We offer regular appointments on Mondays to Fridays in the spring and summer terms.

How can I book a place?

You can view availability and book online.

What does this session cover?

OSCOLA stands for the Oxford Standard for the Citation of Legal Authorities. At this session you will learn the basics of citing your references using OSCOLA. This includes how to:

• cite UK legislation & cases;
• cite foreign and international legal materials;
• cite books, journal articles, websites & online material;
• cite a source that isn't covered by the OSCOLA rules;
• avoid plagiarism;
• write your bibliography;
• keep your word count down by cross-referencing footnotes.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What do these sessions cover?

Lexis+ UK and Westlaw UK are the key databases you need to master for effective legal research in the UK.

At these introductory sessions you will learn how to:

• choose your database and log in;
• find UK legislation and cases;
• find legal journal articles;
• find foreign and international law materials;
• search and browse effectively;
• download your results.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard.

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What does this session cover?

This session will prepare you for researching public international law documentation. At this session we will explain how to:

• use the UN Treaty Collection;
• access regional and national treaty collections, print and online;
• use a treaty index;
• find decisions from the ICJ, ECHR and other international courts using online and print resources;
• find cases in the International Law Reports series and the ORIL database.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. 

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.

What does this session cover?

In this introductory session you will learn how to use legal databases to find legal journal articles. The session will help you to:

• find the full-text of an article if you only have a citation;
• identify the most relevant databases for your research topic;
• efficiently search databases for relevant journal articles;
• get the most out of the e-resources available at IALS Library.

Who is it for?

All postgraduate law students and academic researchers with a current IALS Library card or SAScard. 

Where / when does it take place?

All autumn term sessions have taken place.