Skip to Main Content

Colonialism: Archives guide

Archives Guides

IALS Archives subject guide: Colonialism, Decolonisation and the Law

For the purposes of this guide, colonialism is primarily associated with the British empire and commonwealth, given that the bulk of relevant records in the IALS Archives relate to the law in British colonies and ex-colonies as viewed, overseen and developed by British legal education bodies in collaboration with government, local and international pressure groups.  The gradual extension of autonomy to formerly colonial legal systems depicted in the records should be viewed as part of the decolonisation of law.
The records below in the IALS Archives catalogues were identified using the following keywords: Africa; colonial; commonwealth; decolonisation; empire; and names of individual commonwealth and colonised countries.  There will no doubt be more relevant material in the general correspondence, minute books and training records of the institutions listed below which was not picked up in word searches.  To browse the Archives catalogues for more information see this link: https://ials.sas.ac.uk/ials-library/archives/ials-archives-collections.

Access: some items are closed to public access as they contain personal data.  Item descriptions are nevertheless included in this guide as indicative of the various organisations’ work in the fields of colonialism and deconolisation.

Council of Legal Education (CLE): Archives, 1852-1997

Council of Legal Education (CLE): Archives, 1852-1997

Administrative history: the Council of Legal Education (CLE) was established by Resolutions of the Inns of Court in 1852, following the recommendation that year of a Legal Education Committee of the Four Inns. The CLE was entrusted with the power and duty of superintending the education and examination of students who had been admitted to the Inns and was to consist of an equal number of Benchers appointed by each of the Inns.  Five Readerships or Professorships were set up, to each deliver three courses of lectures per year.  Students were required to attend a certain number of lectures and to pass public examinations.  The examinations were held thrice yearly, in Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity terms.  The CLE was given the power to grant dispensations to students unable to attend all required lectures.
The CLE continued to oversee legal education for the Bar until 1997. In that year the CLE transferred most of its responsibilities and assets to the ICSL.  Its responsibility for supporting education and training for the Bar was passed to a new body, the Inns of Court and Bar Educational Trust (ICBET), while its regulatory function was passed to the General Council of the Bar.  In 1997 the CLE ceased to operate.

The records: the files below have been selected as they specifically refer to colonial studies and students.  Some records may be closed to access under ICBET’s 30 year closure rule.  Others, which contain personal data, are closed for 75 years under the Data Protection Act.  

Closed items are designated in red.

Selected items:

CLE 11: Examinations Performance Records, 1861-1957

Scope and content: the country of origin of the candidates is not specified, but it is sometimes possible to determine nationality by surname.  A considerable number of students were from the British empire and later the commonwealth.  Some material is closed under the terms of the Data Protection Act.

Arrangement: arranged chronologically by examination, with name, Inn, marks and total marks. 

Reference Title Dates
CLE 11/01 Examinations performance record.  With index. Spine missing, but probably No 1 1861-1871
CLE 11/02 No 2 1871-1878
CLE 11/03 No 3 1879-1888
CLE 11/04 No 4 1888-1897
CLE 11/05 No 5 1897-1903
CLE 11/06 No 6 T1903-H1908
CLE 11/07 No 7 E1908-H1911
CLE 11/08 No 8 E1911-T1913
CLE 11/09 No 9 M1913-E1916
CLE 11/10 No 10 T1916-T1920
CLE 11/11  No 11 M1920-M1922
CLE 11/12 No 12 H1923-M1924
CLE 11/13 No 13 H1925-M1926
CLE 11/14 No 14 H1927-M1928
CLE 11/15 No 15 H1929-M1930
CLE 11/16 No 16 H1931-M1932
CLE 11/17 No 17 H1933-M1934
CLE 11/18 No 18 H1935-M1936
CLE 11/19 No 19 H1937-M1938
CLE 11/20 No 20
[Nos 21-23 wanting] 		 H1939-T1941
CLE 11/21 No 24. CLOSED until 2026
[Nos 25-27 wanting]		 M1949-T1950
CLE 11/22 No 28. CLOSED until 2029
[No 29 wanting]		 M1953-T1954
CLE 11/23 No 30. CLOSED until 2031 M1955-T1956
CLE 11/24 No 31. CLOSED until 2032 M1956-T1957

CLE 39: Historical Files, Teaching and Examinations, 1906-1967

Arrangement: the original file order, file numbers and titles have been retained.

Reference Title Dates
CLE 39/08 vii) Colonial students' law tutorials 1951
CLE 39/09 viii) Further memorandum of Gilbert Paull concerning his certificate of pupillage 1951
CLE 39/10 ix) Papers on the inclusion of Roman-Dutch Law and Hindu and Mohammedan Law 1906-1907; 1936
CLE 39/21 iv) Overseas examinations 1949

CLE 47: Dean's Overseas Correspondence, alphabetically arranged, 1959-1994

Arrangement: the series originally consisted of five bundles of files, marked as follows (the original order has been retained):

Reference Title Dates

CLE 47/01

Bermuda

1980-1989

CLE 47/03

Cyprus

1976-1985

CLE 47/04

Ghana

1969-1981

CLE 47/05

Hong Kong

1994

CLE 47/06

India

1969-1981

CLE 47/07

Northern Ireland

1969-1970

CLE 47/08

Isle of Man

1983-1989

CLE 47/09

Malaysia

1968-1988

CLE 47/10

Mauritius

1975-1988

CLE 47/11

Nigeria

1969-1980

CLE 47/12

Nigeria - legal problems

1959-1960

CLE 47/13

Pakistan

1969-1992

CLE 47/14

Rhodesia

1970-1972

CLE 47/15

Singapore

1976-1987

CLE 47/16

Sri Lanka

1979

CLE 47/17

Sudan

1973

CLE 47/18

Thailand

1988

CLE 47/19

Turks & Caicos

1990-1991

CLE 47/20

Uganda

1969

CLE 47/21

West Indies

1973-1985

CLE 47/22

West Indies: Cayman Islands

1982-1986

CLE 47/23

Overseas responses to new scheme of training

1970

CLE 47/24

Overseas responses to new scheme of training - High Commissions

1970-1971

CLE 51: Records relating to the Post Final Practical Training Course (PFPTC), 1950-1966

Administrative history: the first PFPTC was started by the CLE in 1951.  It was the first attempt to teach practical legal skills and techniques other than by the traditional method of apprenticeship.  

Reference Title Dates

CLE 51/03

Overseas students and the PFPTC

1965-1966

CLE 51/04

Letters from overseas

1965-1966

CLE 51/05

Commonwealth countries: documents relating to changes in Part I and the PFPTC

1966-1967

CLE 52: Records relating to Changes in Part I of the Bar Examinations, 1963-1966

Arrangement: this series formerly comprised three boxes marked "proposed changes in Part I: correspondence and draft/final documents".  Order is roughly chronological; original file titles have been retained.

Reference Title Dates

CLE 52/06

Nigeria

1965-1966

CLE 52/07

Replies from overseas

1966

CLE 52/11

Memoranda to Commonwealth countries and covering letter to UK universities

1966

CLE 52/12

Memoranda on proposals for Part I exams

1966

CLE 52/13

Lord Diplock's letter to the Law Faculties of UK universities

1966

CLE 52/14

Changes in Part I: note on transitional arrangements

1966

CLE 52/15

Draft circular to Commonwealth countries

1966

CLE 65: Bar Examination Staff Working Party Records, 1991-1993

Administrative history: in 1991 a committee chaired by Robert Wright Q.C. was set up to consider a revised Bar Examination for overseas students.  Its report was approved by the Curriculum Development Group and a Staff Working Group of the CLE was established to implement its recommendations.  By mid-1993 its work programme had been completed and its recommendations accepted by the BOS; its final meeting was held in October 1993.

Reference Title Dates

CLE 65/01

1st - 6th meetings: papers

Nov - Dec 1991

CLE 65/02

7th - 11th meetings: papers

Jan - June 1992

CLE 65/03

17th - 20th meetings: papers

June - July 1992

CLE 65/04

21st - 33rd meetings: papers

Oct - Nov 1992

Commonwealth Legal Association (CLEA): Records, 1971-1995

Commonwealth Legal Association (CLEA): Records, 1971-1995

Administrative history: the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) was founded during the Fourth Commonwealth Law Conference in New Delhi in 1971.   The idea was initiated by Indian lawyer Dr Laxmi Singhvi, CLEA's first chairman.  The Association's objects were to foster high standards of legal education and research in Commonwealth countries: to build up contacts between interested individuals and organizations, and to disseminate information and literature concerning legal education and research.
The CLEA's structure, objectives and functions are set out in its Constitution, adopted soon after its foundation.  Membership is open to individuals, schools of law and other institutions concerned with legal education and research.  Patrons are appointed from various Commonwealth countries.  The affairs of the Association are managed by an Executive Committee, drawn from the Commonwealth regions, which meets annually: its actions are reviewed at 5 yearly General Meetings, the first of which was held in Edinburgh during the Fifth Commonwealth Law Conference in 1977.  There is an Advisory Panel in the United Kingdom.  The administration of the Association was carried out by a chairman and two secretaries, one in London and one abroad.  In 1990 the office of chairman was replaced by a president and executive chairperson (since renamed vice president).  The President may be elected from any part of the Commonwealth: the Vice President must be established in the UK.  In 1994 a South Asian regional chapter was formed.

The records: all the records of the CLEA may be classified as relating to colonialism in its positive sense, given that the aim of the organisation is to assist all the countries in the UK Commonwealth by fostering contact, exchange of ideas and research.  Some records are currently closed to public access under the Data Protection Act.  Closed items are designated in red.

Selected items:

CLEA 01: Secretary's Correspondence and Papers, alphabetically arranged, 1971-1991

Reference Title Dates

CLEA 01/01

Accounts: mainly relating to access projects.  Marked confidential.  CLOSED until 2062

1987

CLEA 01/02

Advisory Panel: minutes, agenda, papers and correspondence concerning meetings of the Advisory Panel and the Executive Committee, plus some General Meetings, seminars, working parties and statements of financial affairs (included as appendices to minutes)

1979-1988

CLEA 01/03

African law faculty problems: circular to African law schools seeking their response to a suggested survey on resources. With replies

1989

CLEA 01/04

Access to legal education: correspondence and papers concerning CLEA's project on access to legal education and the legal profession

1984-1986

CLEA 01/05

British Council: correspondence including overseas visitors, discussions and comments on courses and working parties, and information papers from BC's Education Information Service and Law Advisory Committee

1986-1989

CLEA 01/06

Commonwealth Law Teaching Clinic: correspondence and papers on a law teaching workshop co-sponsored with Warwick University, 1986

1985-1986

CLEA 01/07

Commonwealth Institute - CILET (Commonwealth Institute for Legal Education and Training, Ontario): correspondence with CILET on projects partly sponsored by CLEA

1986-1987

CLEA 01/08

Commonwealth Lawyers' Association: correspondence with the Commonwealth Legal Bureau and other Commonwealth organisations on forming an association

1976-1984

CLEA 01/09

Commonwealth Magistrates' Association: agenda, minutes and papers of meetings on legal training attended by CLEA, with related correspondence

1983-1984

CLEA 01/10

Community legal education: note by Chairman W Twining, plus a copy of his paper to the 1983 meeting of Commonwealth Law Ministers in Sri Lanka

1983

CLEA 01/11

Continuing legal education: correspondence and papers on continuing legal education throughout the Commonwealth

1976-1987

CLEA 01/12

Council of Legal Education: correspondence

1987-1988

CLEA 01/13

Commonwealth Foundation: correspondence and submissions concerning funding, including financial statements, reports on CLEA activities and audited accounts

1981-1989

CLEA 01/14

Commonwealth Law Conference: papers and correspondence, especially concerning arrangements for mooting competitions

1984-1989

CLEA 01/15

(Parts 1-2)

Cumberland Lodge: letters concerning attendance and agenda topics for annual seminars for Commonwealth Law Teachers: programmes: lists of participants: related papers and correspondence and seminar papers and reports

1984-1989

CLEA 01/16

Executive Committee arrangements for meetings: papers and accounts circulated to Committee members, with some correspondence

1975-1976

CLEA 01/17

Executive Committee minutes: minutes, agenda and papers, including the report of a conference held in 1971 to discuss CLEA's formation.  Some  Advisory Panel minutes and accounts are also included

1971-1988

CLEA 01/18

Funding of Legal Research: correspondence

1984

CLEA 01/19

General Meeting: notices of general meetings of CLEA, minutes, related correspondence and papers

1977-1986

CLEA 01/20

(Parts1-2)

Human Rights: Part 1: correspondence and papers relating to a seminar on promotion of human rights and the Commonwealth

Part 2: correspondence and papers relating to an initiative for human rights - meeting at the Royal Commonwealth Society, 1988

1986-1988

CLEA 01/21

International Third World Legal Studies Association: correspondence with the International Legal Center on legal education in the third world, including workshops, meetings, papers

1975-1985

CLEA 01/22

Training of judicial officers: correspondence and papers, including summaries of situation overseas, plans for training courses and workshops and Commonwealth Magistrates Association Training Committee meetings and agenda

1985-1987

CLEA 01/23

Distance learning: correspondence and papers (possibly part 2 to CLEA 01/22)

1988-1991

CLEA 01/24

Law Book Project: correspondence and papers on various projects on information resources in the Commonwealth

1986-1988

CLEA 01/25

Law teaching in a second language: correspondence and articles (includes confidential reports) CLOSED until 2058

1981-1983

CLEA 01/26

Law Foundations: correspondence relating to a proposed project

1985-1987

CLEA 01/27 (Parts 1-2)

Legal Literature: correspondence

1981-1988

CLEA 01/28

Miscellaneous: letters concerning policy, appointment of officers, seminar papers, descriptive papers on CLEA's functions

1974-1985

CLEA 01/29

Membership: Policy and analyses of membership

1974-1985

CLEA 01/30

Mooting competition: correspondence, procedure, rules, programmes, reports (one marked confidential), photographs. CLOSED until 2063

1985-1988

CLEA 01/31

Newsletter: circular asking for subscriptions

1983

CLEA 01/32

Overseas students: statistics and analyses of overseas law students at UK universities

[Overseas legal education]:-

1980-1983

CLEA 01/33

Australasia: [includes New Zealand, but see also CLEA 01/46]: articles, correspondence, prospecti, syllabi etc

1976-1988

CLEA 01/34

Bangladesh: correspondence

1975

CLEA 01/35

Botswana: correspondence

1988

CLEA 01/36

Canada: reports, articles, correspondence

1983-1986

CLEA 01/37

Cayman Islands: reports and correspondence

1981-1985

CLEA 01/38

Caribbean law schools: reports and correspondence

1981-1984

CLEA 01/39

Hong Kong: reports and correspondence.  Contains some confidential material. CLOSED until 2060

1974-1985

CLEA 01/40

India: reports and correspondence

1975-1987

CLEA 01/41

Kenya: reports and correspondence

1974-1987

CLEA 01/42

Lesotho: correspondence

1985

CLEA 01/43

Malaysia: reports and correspondence

1977-1984

CLEA 01/44

Malta: reports and correspondence

1982-1984

CLEA 01/45

Mauritius: reports and correspondence

1984-1987

CLEA 01/46

New Zealand: correspondence [see also CLEA 01/33]

1986

CLEA 01/47

Nigeria: reports and correspondence

1974-1988

CLEA 01/48

Papua New Guinea: reports and correspondence

1975-1984

CLEA 01/49

South Africa: copies of articles concerning law and apartheid, notes, statutes

1985-1986

CLEA 01/50

Sri Lanka: reports, articles, correspondence

1974-1987

CLEA 01/51

Tanzania: reports and correspondence

1987-1988

CLEA 01/52

Uganda: reports and correspondence

1974-1988

CLEA 01/53

USA: reports, articles, correspondence

1977-1984

CLEA 01/54

Zambia: reports and correspondence

1975-1985

CLEA 01/55

Zimbabwe: reports and correspondence

1985-1986

CLEA 01/56

Paralegals: correspondence relating to training

1983-1984

CLEA 01/57

Postgraduate level courses taught: correspondence.  includes papers concerning the CLEA/Cwealth Secretariat Commonwealth Directory of Post-Graduate Legal Programmes: drafts, press cuttings, lists of contributors

1983-1986

CLEA 01/58

Post-graduate students: papers and correspondence relating to CLEA's Directory of Postgraduate Courses in the Commonwealth

1984

CLEA 01/59

Reciprocity and minimum standards: correspondence and information

1976-1984

CLEA 01/60

Servicing the Legal System: correspondence

1987

CLEA 01/61

SPTL: papers on impressions of speakers at conferences

1987-1988

CLEA 01/62

Staff exchange schemes: financial aid schemes: collected material on postgraduate study in different countries, plus staff exchanges

1980

CLEA 01/63

Teaching professional skills: correspondence

1984-1985

CLEA 01/64 (Parts 1-2)

Women in Law: articles, correspondence, papers, including material on CLEA's domestic violence survey, 1987

1979-1987

CLEA 01/65

Women and the Law in the Commonwealth: articles, correspondence, background papers for CLEA brochure

1985

CLEA 01/66

Women and violence: bibliography, background papers, papers relating to conferences, correspondence

1986-1987

CLEA 01/67

Working party on overseas students’ problems: minutes, agenda, correspondence, background paper, surveys (CLEA was represented on the working party)

1987-1988

CLEA 02: Papers of W L Twining as a CLEA Officer, 1973-1994

Biographical note: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.  He has been Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961), Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965), Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972) and Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982).  From 1983-1996 he was the Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London.  
He has edited many publications concerning legal education, including Legal Records in the Commonwealth (joint editor with E Varnden Quick), for the papers of which project see the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP) collection in the IALS Archives.

Professor William Twining was a CLEA officer as follows:

  • Advisory Panel member 1977-1983
  • Executive Committee member 1980-1983
  • Chairman/President 1983-1990
  • Executive Chairman 1990-1994

Scope, content and arrangement: the papers comprise the following files, arranged chronologically:

  • Papers as a member of CLEA committees, including ad hoc committees, Advisory Panel (1977-1978) and Executive Committees (1980-1983), 1973-1983.
  • Papers as Chairman 1983-1990.
  • Papers as Executive Chairman 1990-1994.
  • Papers relating to the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (CHRI), 1988-1990.  CHRI was an area in which the CLEA was involved primarily as a member and supporter.  CLEA nominated one member to CHRI and had representatives on the CHRI's Advisory Commission and Steering Committee: William Twining was one of those representatives.  CLEA also played a major role in drafting the CHRI report Put our World to Rights. 
Reference Title Dates

 

 Papers as a member of CLEA committees, including ad hoc committees, Advisory Panel and Executive Committees:

 

CLEA 02/01

Correspondence and papers relating to moots and meetings

1973-1975

CLEA 02/02

Advisory Panel minutes and correspondence

1978-1979

CLEA 02/03

Advisory Panel minutes and correspondence

1979-1981

CLEA 02/04

Miscellaneous minutes and correspondence

1981

CLEA 02/05

Advisory Panel correspondence

1981-1983

CLEA 02/06

Correspondence relating to legal literature seminar

1981

CLEA 02/07

Papers relating to Cumberland Lodge seminar, June 8-10, 1983

1981-1984

CLEA 02/08

Papers relating to post graduate degrees

1981

CLEA 02/09

Letters from CLEA Secretary concerning Bar examinations for overseas students

1982

 

 Papers as Chairman:

 

CLEA 02/10

General correspondence and papers

1982-1984

CLEA 02/11

General correspondence and papers

1983

CLEA 02/12

General correspondence and papers

1984

CLEA 02/13

General correspondence and papers

1984-1986

CLEA 02/14

General correspondence and papers

1985

CLEA 02/15

Miscellaneous correspondence

1986

CLEA 02/16

Miscellaneous correspondence

1986

CLEA 02/17

Miscellaneous correspondence

1986

CLEA 02/18

Miscellaneous correspondence

1987

CLEA 02/19

Miscellaneous correspondence

1987

CLEA 02/20

Miscellaneous correspondence

1987

CLEA 02/21

Miscellaneous correspondence

1988

CLEA 02/22

Miscellaneous correspondence

1988-1990

CLEA 02/23

Miscellaneous correspondence

1988-1990

CLEA 02/24

Miscellaneous correspondence

1990-1993

CLEA 02/25

Miscellaneous correspondence

1993

CLEA 02/26

Papers relating to Cumberland Lodge seminar

1983-1984

CLEA 02/27

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1984

CLEA 02/28

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1985

CLEA 02/29

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1985

CLEA 02/30

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1986

CLEA 02/31

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1987

CLEA 02/32

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1988

CLEA 02/33

Cumberland Lodge seminar

1989

CLEA 02/34

Correspondence concerning the Constitution and membership

1989-1993

CLEA 02/35

Chairman's notes on CLEA policy and activities

1984

CLEA 02/36

Papers concerning a meeting with Professor Elton on formal training in professional skills

1984-1985

CLEA 02/37

Papers relating to law foundations research funding

1984-1990

CLEA 02/38

Papers relating to law foundations

1989

CLEA 02/39

Papers relating to Ocho Rios conference

1986

CLEA 02/40

Papers relating to moots

1986

CLEA 02/41

Papers relating to post graduate seminar

1986

CLEA 02/42

Papers relating to CILET (Commonwealth Institute of Legal Education and Training)

1986-1987

CLEA 02/43

Papers relating to awards schemes

1987

CLEA 02/44

Papers relating to Commonwealth book scheme

1987-1991

CLEA 02/45

Notes and correspondence on continuing legal education

1988

CLEA 02/46

Papers concerning books for Africa

1988-1989

CLEA 02/47

Papers concerning distance learning

1988

CLEA 02/48

Miscellaneous correspondence

1989

CLEA 02/49

Papers relating to Zimbabwe working party

1989-1991

CLEA 02/50

Papers relating to Zimbabwe working party

1989-1991

CLEA 02/51

Papers concerning distance learning

1989-1992

CLEA 02/52

Correspondence concerning CLEA publications

1989-1991

CLEA 02/53

Papers relating to funding of Commonwealth law books project

1989-1991

CLEA 02/54

Papers relating to African law books project (Dartmouth publications)

1989-1991

CLEA 02/55

Papers relating to African law books project (Dartmouth publications)

1989-1991

 

 Papers as Executive Chairman:

 

CLEA 02/56

General correspondence

1990

CLEA 02/57

General correspondence

1991

CLEA 02/58

General correspondence

1992

CLEA 02/59

General correspondence

1993

CLEA 02/60

Correspondence concerning CLEA administration

1991-1992

CLEA 02/61

Miscellaneous correspondence

1991-1992

CLEA 02/62

Papers relating to transfer tests for qualified lawyers

1990-1991

CLEA 02/63

Papers concerning CLEA Secretary's responsibilities

1991

CLEA 02/64

Papers relating to establishment of a human rights database, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

1991

CLEA 02/65

CLEA notices and leaflets, annotated

1991-1993

CLEA 02/66

Correspondence and papers relating to meetings with Overseas Development Agency

1991

CLEA 02/67

Correspondence and papers relating to meetings with Overseas Development Agency

1991-1992

CLEA 02/68

Information on Commonwealth law schools

1991

CLEA 02/69

Papers relating to Cyprus mooting competition

1992

CLEA 02/70

Papers relating to Cyprus mooting competition

1993

CLEA 02/71

Papers concerning Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative

1993

CLEA 02/72

Printed papers on CLEA meetings and conferences, plus handwritten notes on CLEA's activities

1994

CLEA 02/73

Notes on CLEA meetings

1994

 

 Papers concerning the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (CHRI):

 

CLEA 02/74

Letters to other CLEA officers ON sponsoring CHRI

1988-1989

CLEA 02/75

Papers relating to the setting up of CHRI

1988-1990

CLEA 02/76

Folder containing UN material on human rights and related CLEA papers

1989

CLEA 02/77

Background papers and notes on CLEA's role

1989

CLEA 02/78

"Right to development" - Seminar papers

1989

CLEA 02/79

Correspondence with CHRI: survey and background papers

1989

CLEA 02/80

Correspondence relating to financing CHRI, organisation, programme etc.  Includes steering committee reports and minutes

1989-1990

CLEA 02/81

Correspondence, with minutes and agenda of meetings

1989

CLEA 02/82

Copies of UN documents on human rights, agenda and minutes of meetings, supporting documents and articles

1989

CLEA 02/83

Steering committee agenda and notes for meetings

1990

CLEA 02/84

Background papers and correspondence

1990

CLEA 02/85

"CHRI for Hong Kong": correspondence, papers, reports, minutes of steering committee

1991

CLEA 02/86

Reports, agenda and minutes of steering committee

1991-1992

CLEA 02/87

Folder with CHRI operating procedures and principles, plus correspondence

1992-1993

CLEA 02/88

Background papers

1992-1993

CLEA 03: Professor James Read: Papers as CLEA Chairman and Advisory Council member, 1974-1995

Biographical note: James Read graduated in Law from the University of London in 1953 and qualified as a barrister in 1954.  He has been Assistant Lecturer in law at UCL (1956-1958), Lecturer in African Law, SOAS (1958-1965), Senior Lecturer in Law, the University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1963-1966), Reader in African Law, SOAS (1964-1975) and Professor of Comparative Public Law with special reference to Africa at SOAS from 1974.  

Reference Title Dates

CLEA 03/01

Proposed CLEA Workshop on the Organisation, Content and Techniques of Legal Training: minutes and papers

1974-1975

CLEA 03/02

Chairman's correspondence and papers

1976-1978

CLEA 03/03

Chairman's correspondence and papers

1979-1980

CLEA 03/04

(Parts 1-2)

Chairman's correspondence and papers

1981

CLEA 03/05

Chairman's correspondence and papers

1982

CLEA 03/06

Chairman's correspondence and papers

1983

CLEA 03/07

Miscellaneous correspondence and papers, including papers as a member of the Advisory Panel

1983-1995

CLEA 04: CLEA Newsletter, 1974-2001

Content: the following issues are extant:

Issue No. Date Issue No. Date
1 Nov 1974 2 Feb 1975
3 June 1975 4 Sept 1975
5 Dec 1975 6 Mar 1976
7 June 1976 8 Sept 1976
9 Dec 1976 10 Mar 1977
14 Apr 1978 15 July 1978
16 Sept 1978 18 Apr 1979
21 Dec 1979 22 Mar 1980
23 June 1980 24 Oct 1980
25 Feb 1981 26 May 1981
27 Aug 1981 28 Dec 1981
29 Mar 1982 30 June 1982
31 Sept 1982 32 Dec 1982
33 Mar 1983 34 July 1983
35 Oct 1983 36 Jan 1984
37 Apr 1984 38 July 1984
39 Oct 1984 44 Jan 1986
45 Apr 1986 46 July 1986
52 Jan 1988 56 Jan 1988
71 Dec 1994 72 July 1995
88 Oct 2001    

CLEA 05: CLEA Directory of Schools of Law in the Commonwealth, 1979-1988

Scope and content: the directories list the schools (defined as universities or educational institutions of comparable status teaching law as the main or whole subject for a degree or similar award), head of school, degrees/diplomas conferred, student numbers and standing of degrees etc in relation to local professional qualification.  

1979 Directory
1981 Directory
1983 Directory
1985 Directory
1988 Directory

CLEA 06: Miscellaneous CLEA Publications and Offprints, 1978-1992

Reference Title Dates

CLEA 06/01

CLEA paper: Legal Literature in Small Jurisdictions, W L Twining and Jenny Uglow

1978  

CLEA 06/02

CLEA paper: A Proposal to Assess the Legal Information needs and practices of the Legal Profession in the Commonwealth Caribbean, and to establish a system for Printing and Publishing the Legal Literature of the Region Velma Newton

1979

CLEA 06/03

CLEA paper: Localising Legal Literature, Jenny Uglow

1981

CLEA 06/04

CLEA paper: Information need and research practice, Velma Newton

1981

CLEA 06/05

CLEA paper: Survey of Vocational Stage Facilities and Practices in Canadian Provinces, Neal Gold

1983

CLEA 06/06

CLEA Working Paper No 1: Law Foundations in the Commonwealth - a Campaign Strategy, Jeremy Cooper, Polytechnic of East London

n.d. (c.1987)

CLEA 06/07

CLEA paper: Distance Teaching in Law - a proposal for Commonwealth Co-operation, John Goldring, Australian Law Reform Commission

1988

CLEA 06/08

Pacific Law Bibliography, compiled by J D Elliott, CLEA

1988

CLEA 06/09

Peter Slinn, Conference on Emerging Educational Challenges for Law in Commonwealth Asia and Australasia: the Implications for Legal Education, CLEA

1992

CLEA 07 Conference on emerging educational challenges for law in Commonwealth Asia and Australasia: the implications for Legal Education – conference papers, 1992

Administrative history: this conference was run by the CLEA together with the Hong Kong Law Teachers’ Association, the City Polytechnic of Hong Kong and the University of Hong Kong from April 10-12, 1992.

Reference Title Dates

CLEA 07/01

Keynote address: Upendra Bai, Delhi University: Observations on Law, Language and Culture

1992

CLEA 07/02

Peter Slinn, SOAS: The Training Course for Young Commonwealth Lawyers

1992

CLEA 07/03

Hilary Lewis-Ruttley, IALS: The Internationalisation of Legal Practice in Commonwealth Asia and Australasia

1992

CLEA 07/04

Prof S C Srivastava, Kurukshetra University: Horizons of New Lawyers of the Commonwealth Asia and Australia

1992

CLEA 07/05

E Eugene Clark & Dr Martin Tsamenyi, University of Tasmania: An Australian Perspective on Overseas Students and International Legal Education

1992

CLEA 07/06

Helen Endre, Queensland University of Technology & Erika Martens, University of Adelaide: Deconstruction, Decolonisation and reconstruction in the Australian Legal Culture: the place of the Indigeneous Australian

1992

CLEA 07/07

Jane Kelsey, University of Auckland: Decolonising Legal Education in Aoteroa [New Zealand]

1992

CLEA 07/08

Prof Dr Pyayag Singh, University of Patna: Decolonisation of the Common Law and its Implications

1992

CLEA 07/09

Isan A Eddie & Fay Hicks, University of New England: Comparative Law, Culture and Legal Education in the Asia-Pacific Region

1992

CLEA 07/10

Naorem Sanajaoba, Gauhati University: Asianisation and Easternisation of received Common Law in Asian Legal Systems (ALS)

1992

CLEA 07/11

Shah Alam, Rajshahi University: Bilingual Hazards in Legal Education and Legal Practice in Bangladesh

1992

CLEA 07/12

Eva Lau: Bilingual Legislation in Hong Kong – a Bilingual’s View

1992

CLEA 07/13

Albert Chen, University of Hong Kong: Law in a Foreign Language: the Case of Hong Kong

1992

CLEA 07/14

Alison W Conner, University of Hong Kong: The Regulation of Foreign Lawyers in Hong Kong

1992

CLEA 07/15

William Macneil, University of Hong Kong: Hong Kong, the Bill of Rights and the Question of Identity

1992

CLEA 07/16

H M Zafrullah, City Polytechnic of Hong Kong: Law and Language in a Multi-Racial Society – the Switchover from English to the National Languages in Sri Lanka

1992

CLEA 07/17

Prof Jack Goldring, University of Wollongong and Prof Neil Gold, City Polytechnic of Hong Kong: The International LLB

1992

CLEA 07/18

Bart Rwezaura, University of Hong Kong: The Constraints of Adopting Kiswahili as a Language of the Law in Tanzania

1992

CLEA 07/19

NRM Menon, National Law School of India, Impact of Cultural Pluralism in Political Discourse and Legal Development: Some Reflections from the Indian Scene

1992

CLEA 07/20

Mrs Kazi Ashraf Unnisa, University Law College, Bangalore: Lex Loci and the English Language – Lessons from the Indian Experience

1992

CLEA 07/21

Dr Nik Ramlah Mahmood, University of Malaya: Bilingualism in Legal Education – a Malaysia Experience

1992

CLEA 07/22

John Nongorr, University of Papua New Guinea: Language Problems in Papua New Guinea Courts

1992

CLEA 07/23

Ann Stewart: Women and Law

1992

CLEA 07/24

Margaret Davies, The Flanders University of South Australia: Back to the Common Law?  The Limits of Law and the Problems of Translation

1992

CLEA 07/25

Michael Kyriacon Peters, The University of Sydney: Social engineering and the Law: Immigration and Multicultural Legal Principles

1992

CLEA 07/26

D D Kaushik, Meerut College: Distance Education – Perspectives for Legal Education

1992

CLEA 07/27

Dr V B Coutinho, Bangalore University: The Changing World Economy and the Challenge of Providing Quality Legal Education to Meet the Demands of the Twenty First Century

1992

CLEA 07/28

Monica Langford, The College of Law: Internationalisation of Legal Practise

1992

Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP): Archives, 1989-1993

Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP): Archives, 1989-1993

Administrative history: the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP), which began its investigations in 1990, was jointly sponsored by the Association of Commonwealth Archivists and Records Managers (ACARM) and the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA), and was financed by a grant from the Leverhulme Foundation.  It comprised a three-year programme of research into modern legal records throughout the Commonwealth.  The objectives of the study were to:

  • analyse questions relating to the nature, extent and potential uses of legal records of all kinds;
  • collect information about the state of legal records in selected Commonwealth jurisdictions;
  • analyse factors relevant to devising informed policies regarding the management, appraisal, preservation and destruction of legal records and suggest guidelines;
  • produce and disseminate the findings of the study in a form that would be useful to interested institutions and individuals in different jurisdictions in the Commonwealth, especially developing countries.  

Publications: the project produced one book, Legal Records in the Commonwealth, and one major study, Legal Records in Accra (Ghana).  

Scope and content: the archive of the Commonwealth Legal Records Project consists of administrative records, 1989-1993; records relating to the publication of Legal Records in the Commonwealth, 1991-1993; general research files, 1984-1993; England and Wales research files, 1989-1993; Ghana research files, 1990-1992.

The records cover both the specific research resulting in the production of the publication and the collection of evidence relating to all aspects of the creation and disposal of legal records. 

Selected items:

CLRP 01: Administrative Records, 1989-1993

Reference Title Dates

CLRP 01/01

Description of project, application to Leverhulme Trust for grant and progress reports to Trust

1989-1993

CLRP 01/02

Correspondence relating to financial arrangements

1990-1993

CLRP 01/03

Correspondence relating to deposit of Legal Records archive at Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

1992-1993

CLRP 02: Records relating to the Publication of Legal Records in the Commonwealth, 1991-1993

Reference Title Dates

CLRP 02/01

Correspondence with publisher

1992-1993

CLRP 02/02

Correspondence with contributors

1991-1993

CLRP 02/03

Publicity arrangements

1993

CLRP 03: Research Files – General, 1989-1993

Reference Title Dates

CLRP 03/01

Background papers and articles

1988-1991

CLRP 03/02

Progress reports

1989-1993

CLRP 03/03

Horror stories

1990-1992

CLRP 03/04

Papers relating to symposium on legal records, 4 July 1991

1991

CLRP 03/05

Copies of articles on sampling techniques

n.d.

CLRP 03/06

Correspondence and papers, including copies of disposal schedules - Commonwealth and overseas generally

1989-1991

CLRP 03/07

(Parts 1-2)

Correspondence, papers and copies of disposal schedules – Australia

1990-1992

CLRP 03/08

Correspondence, papers and copies of disposal schedules - Canada

1989-1992

CLRP 03/09

Papers relating to international agencies

1984-1987

CLRP 03/10

Bibliography - background papers and list

n.d.

CLRP 03/11

(Parts 1-9)

Bibliography - copies of articles A-Z

n.d.

CLRP 05: Research Files – Ghana, 1990-1992

Reference Title Dates

CLRP 05/01

Case study: correspondence and background papers

1990-1992

CLRP 05/02

Case study: original manuscript and completed case study

1992

CLRP 05/03

(Parts 1-2)

Legal records workshop: aims, objectives and background papers

1990

CLRP 05/04

Legal records workshop: correspondence concerning arrangements and participants, with evaluation reports

1990-1992

CLRP 05/05

Legal records workshop: correspondence relating to financial arrangements

1990-1991

CLRP 05/06

Legal records workshop: working papers - master set with contents list

n.d.

Sir Dingle Mackintosh Foot (FOOT): Papers, 1926-1979

Biographical history: Sir Dingle Mackintosh Foot (1905–1978), politician and lawyer, was born on 24 August 1905 in Plymouth, the eldest child in the family of five sons and two daughters of Isaac Foot (1880-1960), MP and solicitor, and his wife, Eva Mackintosh (1878-1946).  He was educated at Bembridge School, Isle of Wight and at Balliol College, Oxford, where he took a second in modern history in 1927. He was president of the University Liberal Club in 1927 and of the Oxford Union one year later, before becoming secretary to his father in the House of Commons after the latter's election in 1929.  
He was called to the bar at Gray's Inn in 1930, joining the western circuit.
Foot served several terms as a member of parliament.  He became a bencher of Gray's Inn in 1952 and took silk two years later. He was a member of the Royal Commission on Justices of the Peace from 1946 to 1948, was appointed a member of the Committee on Intermediaries in 1949 and chaired the Observer Trust from 1953 to 1955. It was at this time that Foot cultivated his links with legal practice in the Commonwealth, being admitted as an advocate in the Gold Coast, Ceylon, Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Sierra Leone, India, Bahrain, Malaysia, and Southern Rhodesia. He specialized in constitutional and civil liberties cases, defending Dr Hastings Banda, then leader of the Nyasaland African Congress Party, when he was gaoled in Southern Rhodesia, and Shaikh Muhammad Abdullah, the former chief minister of Kashmir, in the Kashmir conspiracy case. He was expelled from Nigeria in 1962 while challenging the Emergency Powers Act on behalf of the western Nigerian premier, Alhaji D S Adegbenro, and was refused entry the next year when he sought to represent Chief Enaharo on a treason charge after his expulsion from the United Kingdom. Lord Diplock described him as 'an ambassador of common law throughout the Commonwealth' (The Times, 20 June 1978), and he established one of the first multiracial chambers in the Temple.
He died on 18 June 1978, during a case in Hong Kong, by choking on a sandwich in his hotel room. His remains were cremated in Hong Kong.

Selected items:

FOOT 01: Legal files, 1926-1960

Reference

Title

Dates

FOOT 01/01

 

Legal file comprising:

- One letter [from Foot?] to Mr Adalabu, 6 December 1957. Concerning whether the Secretary of State will confer powers on the Minority Commission to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of documents.

- Two untitled summarising typescript memorandum, nd. [Possibly written by Foot].

‘Memorandum for Submission to the Minority Commission by the Western NCNC [National Council of Nigeria and the Cameroons] Official Opposition’, typescript paper, nd.

‘A Memorandum Submitted by the Central Yoruba State Movement. Sponsored by the NCNC delegation’, typescript paper, 24 May 1957.

1957

FOOT 01/02

 

Memoranda and other papers relating to the Minority Commission with reference to the United Muslim Party.   Including:

- Minutes of the Proceedings of the Minorities Commission’s Sitting at Lagos on 28 December 1957.

- ‘The National Muslim League’s Memorandum on the Fears of the Muslim Minorities in the Regions’, typescript paper by Hassan T A Funsho, Administrative Secretary, 28 December 1957.

- ‘United Muslim Party Memorandum on Chief Obafemi Awolowo’s Threat to Legislate Against Political Parties Based on Islamic Religion’, typescript paper, n.d.

- ‘Human Rights in Nigeria. United Muslim Party Proposals on Fundamental Rights of Citizens of Nigeria and on Matters Relating to Minorities in a Self-Governing and Independent Nigeria, typescript paper, n.d.

n.d.; 1957

FOOT 01/03

Correspondence, memoranda, notes and other papers relating to the Toro [or Tooro] Kingdom [subnational constitutional monarchy within Uganda].  Including:

- ‘Uganda Protectorate. Enquiry into the Grievances of the Mukama and People of Toro. Report of the Committee’, typescript memoranda, 28 July 1926.

- Minutes of the Meetings of Toro Rukurato held from 20 to 23 July 1960.

- ‘Record of a meeting held by the Minister of Local Government with the Toro Constitutional Committee…’, typescript draft report, 9 August 1960.

- Draft agreement between the Governor and Commander in Chief of the Uganda Protectorate and George David Kamurasi Rukidi III Omukama of Toro Kingdom, c1960.

1926-1960

FOOT 05: Newspaper cuttings and other papers, c.1933-c.1967

Reference Title Dates
FOOT 05 Newspaper cuttings published reports and other publications mainly relating to Africa, 1961-1967   c.1933-c.1967

FOOT 06: Photograph album, n.d.

Extent and form: 1 photograph album

Access: as it was not possible to date this item, which may contain sensitive personal data, it is CLOSED for 75 years from receipt of the FOOT papers in 2001.

Item list:

Reference

Title

Dates

FOOT 06

. Album of uncaptioned black and white photographs relating to African [Libya? Egypt?] or possibly Middle Eastern countries

. Depicting graphic scenes of atrocities, corpses, damage buildings, riots, n.d.

CLOSED until 2076

n.d.

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS): Institutional Archives, 1934-2021 

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS): Institutional Archives, 1934-2021  

Administrative History: the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS) was established in 1946 as part of the University of London.  Its aims were "the prosecution and promotion of legal research and the training of graduate students in its principles and methods" (39th Annual Report, 1985/86).  Since its inception the scope of the Institute has expanded considerably, with sponsorship of and support for many research projects and the provision of facilities for other research bodies and for conferences, seminars and workshops.  The Library provides facilities for academic and research staff and postgraduate research students from universities all over the world, and is one of the world's largest legal research libraries.   In 1994 IALS became a major component of the School of Advanced Study. 

The records: the items listed below were selected as they contain specific references to overseas education. 

Selected items:

IALS 02: IALS Directors - correspondence and papers, 1946-1995

IALS 02/02: Correspondence and papers of Sir Norman D Anderson (Director 1960-1976) 1946-1977

Reference Title Dates

IALS 02/02/03

 “Miscellaneous papers relating to applications for Ford African-Asian junior research fellowships”.  Includes minutes of the Fellowship Sub-committee, Director’s correspondence and applications

1969-1970

IALS 02/02/06

File: Committee on Legal Education for Africans

1960

IALS 13: Printed and Published Papers produced by or concerning the Institute, 1947-2019

IALS 13/09: Union Lists and Guides to the Location of Sources 1949-1978

Scope and contents:  one of the primary objectives for the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, as outlined in the Lord Chancellor’s Committee 1934 was the “making the contents of other law libraries as well as its own known and available to “approved readers.” (IALS 13/09/01).  The 3 Union Lists were the primary means of achieving this aim.  Commencing with the Union List of Legal Periodicals: A Location Guide to Holdings of Legal Periodicals in Libraries in the United Kingdom, published in 1949, these publications went on to encompass Commonwealth and South African, United States, Air and Space, and Western European Law Literature.  

Reference Title Dates

IALS 13/09/06

IALS Publication No. 2: Union List of Commonwealth Law Literature in Libraries in Oxford, Cambridge and London

1952

IALS 13/09/07

Union List of Commonwealth and South African Law: A Location Guide to Commonwealth and South African Legislation, Law Reports and Digests held by Libraries in the United Kingdom at May 1963. 

1963

IALS 13/11: Lists of Official Committees, Commissions and Other Bodies Concerned with the Reform of the Law 1964-1979

Scope and contents: this list was first issued in 1963/4 and focused on the UK.  By 1967, the fourth edition covered committees in Commonwealth countries and the Republic of Ireland.

Reference Title Dates

IALS 13/11/01

Official Committees, Commissions and Other Bodies Concerned with the Reform of the Law, 1st, 3rd-9th editions

May 1964- June 1979

IALS 13/12: IALS Research Publications 1956-2020

Reference Title Dates

IALS 13/12/03

Manual of Legal Citations, Part II: The British Commonwealth

1960

IALS 13/12/24

Dennis Dominic Adjei, IALS Inns of Court Judicial fellow, The Right to Information to Promote Transparency and Accountability, and the Right of Protection provided by International and National Laws within the Ghanaian Context

2023

IALS 21: Legal Skills Research Group: Records, 1987-1994 

Administrative history: the Legal Skills Research Group (LSRG) was formed in 1989 as a collective enterprise by some of the country's leading researchers into the skills needed for the study and practice of the law.  The Group intended that it should act as a resource for professional legal and judicial bodies, users of legal services and institutions providing legal education at all levels, by:

  • doing original research on legal skills;    
  • monitoring and evaluating current and completed research in the field;
  • developing and evaluating curricula for the teaching of legal skills and providing information and consultancy services.

IALS 21/06 Legal Skills working papers 1991-1994

Scope and contents: the papers were produced by the Legal Skills Research Group’s programme of collective research, group discussions, and seminar presentations 

Reference Title Dates

IALS 21/06/01

P Hassett, P Bell & C O’Leary, (eds), An Agenda for Comparative Legal Skills Research: the European Community and the Commonwealth, 1992 Symposium

1992

IALS 26: International and Professional Training Unit (IPTU): records, 1990-1996

Scope and content: this series contains Hilary Lewis-Ruttley’s records relating to the Commonwealth Young Lawyers Course and other records of the Law and Development Programme. The papers are currently being catalogued and will be added to this guide as soon as the work is completed.

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library (IALSLIB): Manuscript Material relating to Legal Education and Research

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library (IALSLIB): Manuscript Material relating to Legal Education and Research

Scope and content: the mss comprise a collection of donated or purchased items relating to legal education and research, 1870-1936. Several are undated.  In some cases the provenance is unknown, as the transaction, whether by purchase or donation, was unrecorded; in some other cases the author of the documents is also unknown.

The records: the items below were selected as they contain specific references to colonial matters.

Selected items:

IALSLIB 10: GOADBY, Frederick Maurice: notes, memoranda and annotated typescripts 1924-1939

Archives reference Original Library reference Title Dates

IALSLIB 10/2

a/c 48687

“Memoranda, judgements etc as to law and jurisprudence in matters of personal status, correspondence [and] memoranda, notes of cases relating to private international law, mainly in Cyprus, Palestine and Egypt” (as per handwritten notes on original file cover, front and back); includes letters, press clippings and papers dated 1930-1937.  Purchased 7 Nov 1957

1930-1937

IALSLIB 10/4

a/c 49000

“Mineral rights under Moslem Law in the Zanzibar and Kenya Protectorate”, typescript, 1939; includes letter from Ernest M Dowson to Under Secretary of State, 6/4/39.  Purchased 9 Oct 1958

1939

IALSLIB 13: DENNING, Alfred Thompson, Baron Denning (1899-1999): Sunday Times Weekly Review; folder of articles on Lord Denning 17 & 24 June 1973

Copyright: The Sunday Times

Archives reference Original Library reference Title Dates

IALSLIB 13

R/A a/c 116854

DENNING, Alfred Thompson, Baron Denning (1899-1999), judge, Master of the Rolls, Chairman, Committee on Legal Education for Students from Africa and Committee on Legal Records: Sunday Times Weekly Review; folder of articles on Lord Denning dated 17 & 24 June 1973.

1973

International Law Association (ILA): Archives, 1866-2019

International Law Association (ILA): Archives, 1866-2019

Administrative History: the International Law Association (ILA) was founded in Brussels in 1873 as an association 'to consist of Jurists, Economists, Legislators, Politicians and others taking an interest in the question of the reform and Codification of Public and Private International Law, the Settlement of Disputes by Arbitration, and the assimilation of the laws, practice and procedure of the Nations in reference to such laws' (afternoon sitting of the first conference of members, 19 November 1873: reference ILA 01/01). It was initially called the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Law of Nations, changing its title to the International Law Association in the early 20th century. 
The Association was to consist of a Council of officers comprising a President, vice presidents, secretaries and other members of the Conference (called the Bureau), plus a series of local, departmental or provincial committees who were to report to the President. These committees have since expanded into International Committees. The ILA's activities are now organised by an Executive Council, assisted by the Headquarters Secretariat in London. Membership of the Association, at present about 4,200, is spread among branches throughout the world and ranges from lawyers in private practice, academia, industrial and financial spheres, and representatives of bodies such as shipping and arbitration organisations and chambers of commerce. The ILA has consultative status, as an international non-governmental organisation, with a number of the United Nations specialised agencies. 
The ILA's objectives are pursued primarily through the work of its International Committees and the focal point of its activities is the series of Biennial Conferences. These conferences, of which over 70 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the committees.

The records: the material below has been selected from the ILA archive due to its particular relevance to law in colonial jurisdictions.  Some items are closed to public access under The Data Protection Act.  Closed items are designated in red.

Selected items:

ILA 01: Records of the Executive Council, 1873-2010

ILA 01/07/01: Papers and correspondence of Henry Diedrich Jencken, 1873-1910

Biographical note: Henry Diedrich Jencken served as Honorary General Secretary to the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Law of Nations between 1876 and 1881.

Reference Title Dates
ILA 01/07/01 Three letters from Henry Dunant [to Henry Diedrich Jencken] re the formation of the Association for the Reform and Codification of the International Law; newsletters of the English branch of the Universal Alliance; proposal paper of the International Anti-Slavery Committee of the Universal Alliance; occasional bulletin of the Alliance (French language); pamphlet ‘International Society for the Protection of Prisoners of War: A lecture delivered at Brighton, on the 15th of September, 1873 … by Henry Dunant’. Also includes envelope addressed to Wyndham Anstis Bewes in which the material was found. 1873-1910

ILA 01/07/05: Papers and correspondence of Francis Temple Grey, 1873-1930

Scope and content: the collection consists largely of records from Grey's work on the Samoa Relief Force in 1918.

Reference Title Dates

ILA 01/07/05/01

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Log books. Journals, with enclosed correspondence, chronicling Grey's participation on the mission, with details of health conditions and provisions, supplies required and action pursued. Also contains loose sheets of hand-written notes, possibly drafts for correspondence. 2 volumes

1918-1919

ILA 01/07/05/02

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Equipment and Stores. Lists of equipment ordered under Grey's instructions; correspondence and telegrams re orders and attempts to fill them. Includes orders of drugs and medical supplies, food and bedding. Telegrams also refer to outbreak of influenza, deaths among the soldiers

1918-1919

ILA 01/07/05/03

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Routine Orders.  Notebook labelled 'Samoa Relief Force 1918 Order Book', outlining staff duties, and several loose sheets of numbered 'Routine Orders', again allocating staff duties and timetables. Includes notes on rations; list of instructions for treatment and prevention of disease, entitled 'Lectures by Medical Officers to Men: Treatment of Patients'; sick notes; special orders for individual deployment. Also includes 'Wind-charts of the Samoa-Islands: Made with the assistance of natives by H. Neffgen, Government Interpreter, Apia'

1918-1919

ILA 01/07/05/04

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Medical notes made by Grey on conditions and treatments. Includes his notes for a survey into deaths on the islands; 'Reports of medical officers in charge of Sections'; notes on conditions in Tonga; 'Notes on Epidemic Bronchopneumonia (Spanish Influenza) in Samoa' by Francis Temple Grey (multiple copies); notes on insect borne disease, with sketch of insect [mosquito]; two small notebooks labelled A.T.S. 66 and 67, Royal Australian Navy, with details of patient symptoms; 'List of deaths of natives of Savaii', December 1918; lists of births and deaths in Savaii for the quarter ending 31st December 1918, forwarded to Grey by the Deputy Administrator of the British Military Occupation of Samoa; reports of medical relief cruises, 3rd and 14th December 1918

1918-1919

ILA 01/07/05/05

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Cables and correspondence sent and received between Grey, the Administrator of Samoa, and the Governors of Fiji and New Zealand; Melbourne; Major Alexander and H.M.A.S. Encounter

1918-1919

ILA 01/07/05/06

Samoa Relief Force 1918 – Crimes. Charge sheets detailing names of accused, offences and punishments

1919

ILA 01/07/05/07

Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Costs

1918

ILA 01/07/11: ILA Secretary's registered correspondence files: branch files, 1949-1993

Scope and content: contains the administrative correspondence of each branch.

Reference Title Dates

ILA 01/07/11/04

Australian branch

1959-1987

ILA 01/07/11/06

Bangladesh branch

1966-1989

ILA 01/07/11/07

Barbados branch

1980

ILA 01/07/11/13

Cameroon branch

1975

ILA 01/07/11/14

Canadian branch

1952-1987

ILA 01/07/11/18

Congolese branch

1963

ILA 01/08: Projects and partnerships with external organisations, 1968-2003

ILA 01/08/01: UNESCO subventions, 1969-1995

Scope and content: correspondence, reports and financial documents re research grants awarded by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) to the International Law Association (ILA). From 1975 onwards an overall contract was drawn up between the International Social Science Council (ISSC) and UNESCO, whereby a single grant was made by UNESCO to the ISSC. In return the ISSC and its constituent associations undertook the multidisciplinary study of social problems arising from the development process. Although effectively the UNESCO money was distributed to organisations such as the ILA as ISSC grants, the ILA continued to refer to the grants, both in filing and in internal correspondence, as 'UNESCO subventions', and so that name has been retained in the catalogue.

Reference Title Dates

ILA 01/08/01/02

UNESCO subvention 1969. - Copy of contract between UNESCO and the ILA, in which UNESCO agree to fund the ILA to investigate and advise on the operations of existing national groups of international law specialists in Senegal, Ivory Coast, Tanzania and Tunisia, and the possibility of establishing a chair of international law or a specialist documentation centre in these countries (1968);

- Correspondence accompanying this contract, re supplementary payments to Cochaux;

- Correspondence between UNESCO and ILA officials re continuing co-operation between the organisations;

- Letter confirming award of 1969 subvention to the ILA, in return for submission of relevant activity and financial reports;

- 1969 report of activities assisted by subventions;

- Copy of contract between UNESCO and the ILA in which UNESCO agree to fund the ILA to carry out an international survey on the teaching of human rights at university level (1970)

1968-1970

ILA 01/08/14

Organisation of African Unity (OFU). Correspondence concerning role as an observer for the ILA at a United Nations Global Meeting on Environment and Development for Non-Governmental Organisations held 4 to 8 February 1985 at Nairobi, Kenya; ILA observer status at OFU meetings; first multi-party elections after 26 years in Kenya in 1992.

1992-1984

ILA 01/08/21

Asian African Legal Consultative Committee (AALCC). Correspondence concerning AALCC’s consultative relationship with the ILA. Includes a memorandum: ‘Asian Legal Consultative Committee Statues’, 1957

1957-1962

ILA 01/08/31

International Commission of Jurists (ICJ). Correspondence relating to the ILA’s participation to ICJ meetings and events. Also includes: ‘Newsletter of the International Commission of Jurists’, nos. 9 to 13, September 1960 to February 1962; annotated circular letter to the participants and observers of the African Conference in the Rule of Law held in Lagos, Nigeria 3-6 December 1961 and related literature, 1960 to 1961; ‘The Review’ [ICJ journal], no. 35, December 1985

1960-1986

ILA 01/08/35

General correspondence concerning invitations for ILA representatives to attend conferences and other events held by various organisations.  Include: International Fiscal Association; British and Commonwealth Conference on Patent and Trade Marks; International Bureau (Berne) for the Protection of Industrial Property; International Institute for the Unification of Private Law; General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisations at New Dehli, 1956; International Civil Aviation Organisation; International Congress of Military Medicine and Pharmacy; Social Commission of the Economic and Social Council. Some letters are in French

1955-1958

ILA 02: Conference, 1874-2014

Administrative background: the focal point of the ILA's activities is the series of Biennial Conferences.  These conferences, of which 69 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the ILA's international committees.

Reference Title Dates

ILA 02/12

Conference at London, 1887. Paper presented at the 13th Conference: 'The Growth of Civilization and Law among the Native Races of Africa' by Dr. Flickinger (two copies).

1887

ILA 02/13

Conference at Liverpool, 1890. Paper presented at the 14th Conference: 'The Brussels Anti-Slavery Conference' by Joseph G. Alexander, L.L.B. (three copies).

1890

ILA 02/42/05

Reports presented by the following committees:

- International Committee on the Enforcement of Human Rights Law;

- Committee on International Monetary Law;

- Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution;

- Committee on International Criminal Law;

- International Space Law Committee;

- International Committee on the Legal Status of Refugees;

- International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control;

- International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Inter-Country Adoption and Protection of Children;

- International Committee on State Immunity;

- Committee on International Securities Regulation;

- International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Extraterritorial Jurisdiction;

- International Committee on Legal Aspects of a New International Economic Order;

- International Committee on Cultural Heritage Law;

- Committee on International Commercial Arbitration.

1990

ILA 02/43/05

Reports presented at the Sixty-Fifth Conference in Cairo by the following committees:

- Committee on the Enforcement of Human Rights Law;

- Committee on International Monetary Law;

- Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution;

- Committee on the Formation of Rules of Customary (General) International Law;

- International Committee on Space Law;

- International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control;

- International Committee on Maritime Neutrality;

- International Committee on State Immunity;

- Committee on International Securities Regulation;

- International Committee on the EEZ [Exclusive Economic Zone];

- International Committee on Legal Aspects of a New International Economic Order;

- International Committee on Cultural Heritage Law;

- Committee on Arms Control and Disarmament Law;

- Committee on International Commercial Arbitration.

1992

ILA 03: International Committees, 1875-2019

Reference Title Dates

ILA 03/43

Cultural Heritage Law Committee - administrative correspondence and emails, agreement, reports and papers. CLOSED until 2038

1988-2017

ILA 03/43/01

Administrative correspondence and memoranda. Predominately administrative correspondence and memoranda re nominations and appointments to the Committee, 1988-1992.  Includes:

-‘ILA Queensland Conference (1990). International Committee on Cultural Heritage Law First Report’.

-Annotated photocopy of report ‘International Committee on Cultural Heritage Law Working Session

Chairman: Professor Fouad Riyad (Egypt)’, 1992.

-Two successive draft conventions on the Underwater Cultural Heritage, 1993

CLOSED until 2024

1988-1993

ILA 03/43/02

Administrative correspondence and emails. Predominately re Final Report and Resolution, project on indigenous cultural landscapes, draft convention on immunity from seizure for cultural objects on loan, conference reports, meetings and an UNECO grant application for the ‘Heritage Law for the 201st Century’ project.

CLOSED until 2038. material). Some material (curricula vitae and private email addresses) CLOSED until 2092 (temporarily separated from the main file

1994-2017

ILA 03/43/03

Photocopy of agreement re ‘Heritage Law of the 201st Century’ project, signed 16 October 2000

CLOSED until 2031

2000

ILA 03/43/04

Reports and papers:

-‘Report and Draft Convention for Consideration’, ILA Cairo Conference, 1992.

-‘Draft Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage. Final Report’, ILA Buenos Aires Conference, August 1994. 3 copies.

-Annotated draft: ‘Working Session Report’, 17 August 1994. Two covering letters.

-‘Working Session Report’, 012 August 1996. Two copies with covering letters.

-Draft: report: ‘The Underwater Cultural Heritage: Comparison of Relevant International Instruments and Discussions. A Report for UNESCO by the International Law Association’, 1997. Together with a covering letter.

-‘Working Session Report’, 26 May 1998.

-Draft report: ‘Heritage Law Creation – Second Report’, 1997. Together with a covering letter.

CLOSED until 2028

1992-1997

ILA 03/62

Rights of Indigenous People Committee -

administrative emails and database printouts, early memoranda

2006-2012

ILA 03/62/01

Administrative emails and database printouts. Predominately re nominations, membership and the Committee’s draft mandate.

CLOSED until 2042. Some material (curricula vitae) CLOSED until 2087 (temporarily separated from the main file).

2006-2012

ILA 03/62/02

Reports -‘Proposal for a Committee of the International Law Association on the Rights of Indigenous People’, undated memorandum by anonymous author.

-‘Preliminary Draft Mandate: ILA Indigenous Rights Committee, undated paper by anonymous author.

CLOSED until 2037.

c.2006

ILA 04: Regional branches of the ILA: records, 1877-2013

ILA 04/15: International Law Association in Gabon, n.d. [twentieth century]

  Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/15

One letter (two copies) from the secretar y of the ILA replying to an expression of interest from R. Tchibota-Souamy about the establishment of a national branch in Gabon.

n.d. 

ILA 04/16: International Law Association in Ghana,1954-1965

 Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/16/01

Drafts of the constitution of the Gold Coast branch, and related correspondence between W. Harvey Moore and Edward Akufo-Addo

1954-1955

ILA 04/16/02

Letters concerning financial returns from the Ghana branch. Includes letters from Thomas D. Hardy regarding political developments in Ghana and the implications for the future of the branch. One letter has been temporarily removed in compliance with the Data Protection Act and is CLOSED until 2041.

1954-1965 

ILA 04/20: International Law Association in Ivory Coast, 1966-1968

Reference Title  Dates
ILA 04/20 Letter proposing the formation of a branch of the ILA in the Ivory Coast, with list of interested potential members, and subsequent correspondence re procedures 1966-1968

ILA 04/23: International Law Association in Libya, 1963

 Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/23 Correspondence re the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Libya. 1963 

ILA 04/24: International Law Association in Mali, 1988

Reference Title  Dates
ILA 04/24 Correspondence re the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Mali. 1988

ILA 04/25: International Law Association in Morocco, 1984

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/25 Letter from Mohamed Lamouri introducing his organisation, l'Association Marocaine d'Études et de Récherches Internationales, its aims and statutes, and enquiring about establishment of a branch of the ILA in Morocco; reply from I.M. Phillips. 1984 

ILA 04/27: International Law Association in Nigeria, 1975-1995

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/27 Correspondence re Tenth Annual Celebration of the Nigerian Society of International Law in 1979, and the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Nigeria, inaugurated in 1980 and formally recognised by the Executive Council in 1982. Later correspondence covers subscription fees and conference attendance. Subsequent failure to remit contributions or communication resulted in the declaration of the branch as inoperative in 1986. Also included in the file is a leaflet 'Nigerian Legal Documents Collections and Catalogues 1987/88'. A small number of letters have been withdrawn from the folder and are CLOSED until 2057. Their contents are personal and do not relate to either the Nigerian Society of International Law or the branch of the ILA in Nigeria. Recommended for de-accessioning. Additional correspondence re the possible re-establishment of the Nigerian branch in the mid-1990s has been temporarily separated from the main file and CLOSED until 2070 (private addresses). Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2071 for data protection (temporarily separated from the main file). 1975-1995 

ILA 04/31: International Law Association in Trinidad and Tobago, 1960-1985

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/31 Correspondence re the administration of the Trinidad and Tobago Branch of the ILA, founded in 1960 and dissolved by the Executive Council of the ILA in 1982. Includes statutes of the West Indies Branch of the International Law Association; references to political developments in the West Indies; text of a lecture by the Right Hon. Lord Wilberforce on human rights , delivered by him under the auspices of the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau on Human Rights in 1979; 'An Overview of the Human Rights Situation in Trinidad and Tobago', text of a lecture presented by Mr. Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj at the Human Rights Rally of the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Human Rights in 1985 1960-1985

ILA 04/35: International Law Association in Zambia, 1976-1988

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/35 Correspondence re attempts to establish a branch of the IL A in Zambia in 1977 and 1987-88 (the latter in response to a membership drive initiated by the Association). 1976-1988

ILA 04/36: International Law Association in Zimbabwe, 1975-1994

Reference Title  Dates
ILA 04/36/01 Correspondence re attempts to establish a branch of the ILA in Zimbabwe in 1984. Includes brief exchange (1975-6) re individual membership of Mr. J.N. Talbot in Rhodesia 1975-1984
ILA 04/36/02 Memorandum re later attempt to establish a branch of the International Law Association in Zimbabwe in November 1993. Written by Willem A. Hamel, Honorary Treasurer of the International Law Association.  CLOSED until 2025 1994

ILA 04/41: International Law Association in Egypt, 1940-1988

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/41 Administrative correspondence. Includes: incomplete copy of minutes of an executive council meeting of 012 February 1940 noting resignation of Jasper Brinton; correspondence between Brinton and Arthur Jaffe, Honorary Secretary-General of the ILA, re the organisation of an Egyptian Society for International Law and the establishment of an Egyptian branch of the ILA (1944); statutes of the Société Egyptienne de Droit International/Egyptian Society for International Law; drafts of statutes of the branch of the ILA in the United Arab Republic; continuing correspondence about the establishment and administration of an ILA branch in Egypt (approved in 1963), and its relation to the Egyptian Society for International Law (1946-1948; 1960-1970); ‘Declaration on Cuba’, pamphlet issued by the International Association for Democratic Lawyers, June 1961; correspondence re the absorption of the branch into the main body of the Egyptian Society for International Law in 1970, and transfer of individual membership to the headquarters branch (1971); correspondence re administration of individual membership (1985) and re-establishment of an Egyptian branch (1986); subsequent administrative correspondence (1986-1988). 1940-1988

ILA 04/45: International Law Association in India, [1950]-1989

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/45/01

Administrative correspondence re membership

1961-1965

ILA 04/45/02

Administrative correspondence re membership, branch organisational structure, subscriptions and branch contributions; correspondence and code of procedure for the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding; membership lists; 1974-1975 New Delhi conference.

1970-1979

ILA 04/45/03

Administrative correspondence, much of it dealing with membership, branch remittances and distribution of conference reports. Includes a typed copy of the 'Declaration of the Citizen of the Kolhan Government Estate's Allegiance to the Commonwealth Countries and to the Crown', made by the members-delegates of the Kolhan Raksha Sangh, signed and dated 1981

1981-1989

ILA/4/45/04

Pamphlets and reports:

- ‘The Indian Federation: Some of its Features’ by M.C. Setalvad, nd (c.1950).

- International Law Association Regional Branch (India), ‘Annual Meeting, 1951, Proceedings, Part III: Aggression in International Law’.

- International Law Association Regional Branch (India), ‘A Comparative Study of Human Rights in the Constitutions and Laws of the World’ by G.S. Pathak, nd (c.1952).

- International Law Association Regional Branch (India), ‘A Review of the United Nations Charter’ by P.N. Murty, assisted by R. Gopalakrishnan, nd (c.1954).

- Indian Branch of the International Law Association: Branch Sub-Committee on International Rivers, ‘A Paper on “Consideration of the Question of Diversion of Waters in International Rivers by the International Law Association”’, nd (c.1956).

- ‘New International Economic Order Report (1982)’, following the Seminar on New International Economic Order at Bangalore Palace, Bangalore, December 20-201, 1981.

[1950]-1982

ILA 04/50: International Law Association in Pakistan, 1959-2006

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/50/01

Administrative correspondence. Includes completed membership application forms (1959); correspondence re formation of a branch of the ILA in Pakistan; discussio ns of branch remittances, conference attendance and travel expenses, proposed suspension of branch due to non-payment of subscription fees (1983-1984); membership lists. Also includes list of detained lawyers in Pakistan jails, 1985. Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2061 (temporarily separated from the main file).

1959-1988

ILA 04/50/02

Administrative correspondence and emails re: branch contributions; contribution concession to branches in developing countries; membership of International Committees; membership lists; status of the Pakistani branch.  Includes the Pakistani branch constitution, undated. Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2081 (temporarily separated from the main file).

1986-2006

ILA 04/56: International Law Association in South Africa, 1971-1989

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/56

Administrative correspondence re possibility of establishing a branch of the ILA in South Africa, with specific reference to the terms of the UNESCO resolution 8 adopted by the General Conference at its sixteenth session (October-November 1970), and its 'investigation of international non-governmental organisations enjoying relations with UNESC  O, which have branches, sections, af       filiates or constituent parts in the Republic of South Africa or Southern Rhodesia or Portuguese-dominated African territories, with respect to the practice of racial discrimination or racial segregation in their policies, activities, or membership or their co-operation in any way with the apartheid policy of the Government of the Republic of South Africa'. Also included in the file are receipts and payments accounts of headquarters and projects of the Association, issued on 18th February 1971 by Farrow, Bersey, Gain, Vincent and Company, Chartered Accountants.

1971-1989

ILA 04/59: International Law Association in Sri Lanka, 1960-2007

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/59/01 Administrative correspondence re: subscriptions of the Ceylon branch of the ILA, with list of office bearers of the branch (1960-1970); letter about political arrest and the State of Emergency, from the Ceylon Solidarity Campaign to the Secretary of the ILA (1972); annual report of the 29th annual general meeting of the Incorporated Law Society of Ceylon (1972); revival of the ILA branch in Sri Lanka (1975), with list of office bearers 1976/1977; discussions of subsequent revival of the branch (1985-1989. Includes press-cutting [from the Times] with text of speech made by J.R. Jayewardene at the Executive Sessions of the Commonwealth Heads of Government, 17th October 1985. 1960-1989 

ILA 04/63: International Law Association in Canada, 1985-1991

Reference Title  Dates

ILA 04/63

Correspondence re delivery of the Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, and pamphlets containing the texts of the first, third and fourth lectures:

- First Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, 'International Carriage by Air Codification: Uniformity and Diversity', delivered by Nicolas Mateesco Matta at the Centre for Research of Air and Space Law, McGill University, 014 March 1985.

- Third Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, ‘Le dialogue est-ouest, l’Europe et l’option double zero’, by René Jean Dupuy and Pierre Gallois, Montreal, 20 October 1987.

- Fourth Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, ‘La Cour Internationale de Justice: Crise ou renouveau?/The International Court of Justice: Crisis or renewal?’, by Gilbert Guillaume.

1985-1991

ILA 04/64: International Law Association in Australia, 1995

Reference Title  Dates

ILA 04/64

Bound volume 'Martin Place Papers No. 4: The East Timor Case in the ICJ [International Court of Justice]', edited by M. Brewster and I.A. Shearer, papers of a seminar convened by the Australian Branch of the ILA

CLOSED until 2026

1995

ILA 04/65: International Law Association in the Caribbean, 1993-1994

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/65

Correspondence re: attempts to establish a branch of the ILA in Barbados or elsewh ere in the Caribbean.

CLOSED until 2025.  Some material (private address) further CLOSED until 2069 (temporarily separated from the main file).

1993-1994

ILA 04/69: International Law Association in Cyprus, 1974-1998

 Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/69

Administrative correspondence re: Cyprus branch’s re-application for membership of the ILA’s HQ branch.

Also includes correspondence and telegrams re: the protest of the Human Rights Committee of the Bar Council of Cyprus that the treatment of the local population during the Turkish invasion of Cyprus in 1974 breached the Geneva Convention.

CLOSED until 2029. Some material (curriculum vitae) further CLOSED until 2073 (temporarily separated from the main file). The private address in the main file relates to a deceased individual.

1974-1998 

ILA 04/74: International Law Association in Malta, 1995-2005

Reference Title Dates
ILA 04/74 Administrative correspondence and emails re: formation of the Maltese branch in 1995; branch contributions; the inactive status of the branch during the mid-2000s
Includes two fax copies of the Maltese branch constitution, April 1995.
CLOSED until 2036. Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2080 (temporarily separated from the main file).		 1995-2005

ILA 04/75: International Law Association in the Pacific Islands, 1992-2010

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/75

Administrative correspondence and emails re: establishment of the Pacific Islands branch in 1995; branch contributions; the future of the branch in 2010.  Includes the Pacific Islands branch constitution and statutes, November 1995.

CLOSED until 2041. Some material (private addresses) further CLOSED until 2085 (temporarily separated from the main file).

1992-2010

ILA 04/76: International Law Association in Singapore, 1978-1995

Reference Title Dates

ILA 04/76

Administrative correspondence re: proposal and eventual formation of the Singaporean branch in 1983; application for the branch to cease to exist, 1995.  Includes the Singaporean branch constitution, undated; statutes (two different versions, one undated and the other dated 014 December 1982); membership approval forms; membersh ip index cards.

CLOSED until 2026. Some material (private addresses) further CLOSED until 2070 (temporarily separated from the main file).

1978-1995

ILA 06: Library, 1866-1969

Reference Title Dates

ILA 06/26

Pamphlets relating to issues of ethnic minorities and state sovereignty:

- ‘An Inquiry into the Ethnography of Afghanistan’ by H.W. Bellew, 18901.

- ‘Abhängige Länder: Eine Analyse des Begriffs von der ursprünglichen Herrschergewalt’ by Dr. Robert Redslog, 19014.

- ‘Carte Ethnographique de l’Europe’, colour-coded map, 1918.

- ‘Nation und Staat: Deutsche Zeitschrift für das europäische Minoritätenproblem’, 1927.

1891-1927

ILA 06/27

Pamphlets relating to issues of empire and colonialism:

- ‘The Native Labour in the Transvaal: Extracts from the “Industrial Commission of Inquiry Report and Proceedings” published in Johannesburg in 1897’.

- ‘Questions of Empire: A Rectorial Address delivered before the Students of the University of Glasgow November the Sixteenth Nineteen Hundred’ by Lord Rosebery, 1900.

- ‘The Present State of India: An appeal to Anglo-Indians’ by K.E. Ghamat, 1905.

- ‘The Australian Natives: Tragedy and Romance’ by Sir John Harris, published by the Anti-Slavery and Aborigines Protection Society, 1937.

- ‘Australian Aborigines’, leading article reprinted from The Times, Thursday November 25 1937.

1897-1937

ILA 06/40/5

- Clippings 1936-1937 relating to Africa and other subjects;

- Book with one page of clippings of poetry from 1916, bookplate with the name Grace V. Woodruff;

- Two scrapbooks with clippings from The Times Law Reports, 1961-1962.

1916-1962

The Law Society: Examination Records, 1836-1989

The Law Society: Examination Records, 1836-1989

Administrative History:  The Law Society was founded in London in 1825 as the Society of Attorneys, Solicitors, Proctors and others not being barristers, having been previously established in 1823 as The London Law Institution. It acquired its first Royal Charter in 1831 and a further charter in 1845 established it as an independent professional organisation. The Society has delivered legal education in England since 1835 and has set examinations since 1836.   From 1887-1984 these were also set for those sitting the examination in the colonies and commonwealth.

Selected items:

LSOC 14: Colonial and Commonwealth Examinations, 1887-1984

Access: files less than 75 years old are closed under the Data Protection Act 1998.  

Scope and contents:  the volumes include correspondence regarding the administration of examinations, results, some photographs, and examination papers.  There is also a box of incomplete, loose examination papers for Commonwealth countries.  Details of each item are given in the Scope and Contents field.

Finding aids: records up to 1946 (ref: LSOC 14/01-08) have been digitised by Ancestry and access to the digitised versions, including downloading digital copies for private research, is subject to Ancestry’s terms and conditions.  To find the examination record of any individual in the collection search here: https://www.ancestry.co.uk/search/collections/62335/.  

Reference Title Scope and Contents Dates

LSOC 14/01

Colonial Examinations: Barbados

Correspondence re examinations taking place in Barbados.

1887-1906

LSOC 14/02

Colonial Examinations: Barbados

Correspondence re examinations taking place in Barbados.

1907-1922

LSOC 14/03

Colonial Examinations: Barbados 1914-1922; British Guiana 1922-1923

Bound examination papers for Barbados and British Guiana.

1914-1923

LSOC 14/04

Barbados Intermediate and Final Examinations

Divided into 2 sections - intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. 

Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. 

Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total.

1889 -1954

LSOC 14/05

Colonial Examinations: British Guiana

Correspondence re examinations taking place in British Guiana. Including photograph of Joseph Gonsalves.

1905-1922

LSOC 14/06

Colonial Examinations Jamaica

Correspondence, photographs of candidates; copies of relevant legislation.

1897-1906

LSOC 14/07

Colonial Examinations Jamaica

Correspondence re holding of examinations in Jamaica.

1907-1922

LSOC 14/08

Colonial Examinations Jamaica

Copies of examination papers.

1914-1924

LSOC 14/09

Jamaica Intermediate and Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED

Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. 

Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; remarks; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. 

Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total.

1899-1954

LSOC 14/10

Northern Rhodesia Intermediate and Final Examinations (Including results for Grenada). Entries from 1948 CLOSED

Divided into 4 sections:  intermediate [Rhodesia?],1922-1952; intermediate Grenada 1941-1949; finals [N Rhodesia?], 1925-1953; finals Grenada 1945-1950.

Arranged chronologically according to sitting 

Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. 

Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total.

1922 -1949

LSOC 14/11

Colonial Examinations: Trinidad

Correspondence re examinations taking place in Trinidad.

1894-1906

LSOC 14/12

Colonial Examinations: Trinidad

Correspondence re examinations.

1907-1922

LSOC 14/13

Colonial Examinations: Trinidad

Bound examination papers for Trinidad.

1914-1924

LSOC 14/14

Trinidad Intermediate and Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED

Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. 

Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; remarks; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. 

Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total.

1916-1954

LSOC 14/15

Colonial Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED

Information recorded: name of candidate; Degree and University (if any); Address; Name and Address of Solicitors to whom Articled (and further articled); Remarks; [Marks] - compulsory papers; [Marks] - Optional Papers; Home country of candidate; whether exam held in London; Date of exam. 

Arranged roughly chronologically according to year.

1954-1962

LSOC 14/16

[Colonial Intermediate and Final Examinations]  Entries from 1948 CLOSED

Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. 

Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. 

Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; address; date and place of exam[marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. 

This volume is difficult to identify.  It is titled "British Guiana Final Examinations {Including Trust Accounts and Book-Keeping}.  However, elsewhere trust accounts and Book Keeping form part of the intermediate exams.  In addition, on the spine alongside the embossed "British Guiana" written in ball point pen is "Hong Kong".  There is no immediate indication in the volume of there being two separate countries as the entries are chronological.  Other volumes containing two or more countries generally are clear as to which country is being referred to.

1914-1954

LSOC 14/17

Colonial Intermediate Examinations  CLOSED until 2038

Information recorded: Name of Candidate; Address; Remarks; [Marks] - Legal portion - Real Property; Contract and Tort; Public Law; Total; [Marks] Trust Accounts & Book-Keeping; Total.  Arranged chronologically and then according to country.

1954-1962

LSOC 14/18

Colonial CLOSED until 2046

Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country. 

Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname.  Part I and Part II

Feb 1963 –

Aug 1970

LSOC 14/19

Colonial, volume 2 CLOSED until 2051

Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country.  Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname.  Part I and Part II

Nov 1970 - Aug 1975

LSOC 14/20

Commonwealth CLOSED until 2055

Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country.  Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname.  Part I and Part II

Nov 1975 - Aug 1979

LSOC 14/21

Commonwealth. Volume 4 CLOSED until 2058

Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country.  Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname.  Part I and Part II.  Second half of volume is blank

Nov 1979 –

Feb 1982

LSOC 14/22

Commonwealth examination papers (loose)

Examination papers (incomplete):

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Jamaica, Trinidad May 1963; Nov 1967

Qualifying Examinations Part 1: Barbados Nov 1963

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Trinidad Nov 1963; May 1964; May 1965; May 1966

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Hong May 1963; Nov 1963; May 1964; Nov 1966; May 1967

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Northern Rhodesia, Nov 1964

Qualifying Examinations Part II: Guyana, Nov 1967

May 1963 -Nov 1967

LSOC 14/23

Commonwealth examination papers (loose)

Examination papers (incomplete):

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Kong, May 1968; Nov 1968; May 1969; Nov 1969

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: possibly Zambia, May 1970, Nov 1971; Nov 1972

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Jamaica, Nov 1970

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Trinidad, May 1971; Nov 1971

May 1968 – Nov 1972

LSOC 14/24

Commonwealth examination papers (loose)

Examination papers (incomplete):

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Barbados Nov 1973; Nov 1974

Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Kong Nov 1973

Qualifying Examinations Part I: Jamaica Nov 1973

Nov 1973 – Nov 1974

Professor William L Twining, Law Teacher (TWIN): Papers, 1944-2006

Professor William L Twining, Law Teacher (TWIN): Papers, 1944-2006

Biographical History: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.  
He was Chair of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) from 1983-1993 and Supervisor of the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (records held in the IALS Archives; ref: CLRP). 

University posts:

  • Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961)
  • Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965)
  • Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972)
  • Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982)
  • Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London (1983-1996)
  • Director of University of London LLM Review (1992-1993)

TWIN 02 Papers relating to organisations and bodies of which Prof Twining was a member, 1965-1996

TWIN 02/02 Papers relating to the Commonwealth Legal Education Association, 1975-1992

Scope and content: Papers created or gathered by Prof Twining as a member of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA).  Prof Twining held various posts with the CLEA: 

  • Advisory Panel member 1977-1983
  • Executive Committee member 1980-1983
  • Chairman/President 1983-1990
  • Executive Chairman 1990-1994. 

He was also involved in the project to survey "Legal Awareness Programmes" (a phrase used by the project to denote "legal education activities for non-lawyers”) in Commonwealth countries

Selected items: 

Reference Title Scope and content Dates

TWIN 02/02/01

Programme and papers delivered at the CLEA Seminar 1975

Joint seminar between CLEA and International Legal Center, December 1975, taking as its starting point the ILC Report on Legal Education in a Changing World.  Includes Commonwealth Institute for Legal Education and Training Proposal for teacher training. 

Papers collated by Fiona Cownie.

1975

TWIN 02/02/02

Papers re the CLEA

Correspondence, Includes African law schools and legal skills taught in the Commonwealth.

1982-1992

TWIN 02/02/03

Printed material and correspondence regarding legal teaching and provision of legal information in Zimbabwe and South Africa

Includes correspondence with Cassandra Goldie re "Notes on visits to Nairobi, Lesotho, Harare."

1988-1993

TWIN 02/02/04

Outline of training weekend entitled Reforming legal education to meet society's needs: the Xanadu case

Faxed document, pages 3 to 5 only.

1989

TWIN 02/02/05

File: "Legal Awareness": Papers re the CLEA

Includes correspondence with the Ford Foundation and the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative

1991-1992

TWIN 03 Papers relating to research projects, 1965-2014

Reference Title Scope and content Dates

TWIN 03/02/03

Report: Law for Non-Lawyers: Some Preliminary Reflections, William Twining, prepared for Meeting of Commonwealth Law Ministries, Sri Lanka, Feb 1983

Prepared for the Meeting of Commonwealth Law Ministers, Colombo, Sri Lanka, 14-18 February 1983

1983

TWIN 03/27/03

Papers relating to William Twining’s role as an External Examiner for law examinations at: Ahmadu Bello University; University of East Africa and the University of Ife, Nigeria

 

1967-1970

TWIN 04 Third party research material and articles, 1944-2006 

TWIN 04/01 Third party articles and research regarding clinical legal education, 1960s-1995

 

Reference Title Dates

TWIN 04/01/05

Report: Clinical Training Committee, Clinical Education Report Spring 1980, Osgoode Hall Law School [York, UK]; and related papers

1974-1980

TWIN 04/01/09

Article: Clinical Course Design and the Supervisory Process, Peter Toll Hoffman (from the Arizona State Law Journal); and covering letter from Peter T Hoffman, University of Nebraska to Neil Gold, University of Windsor, Ontario

[1982?]-1987

TWIN 04/01/13

Article: Lawyer Interviews with Simulated Clients: A methodological Pilot Study by Constance K Lundberg and Larry C Farmer, draft; and covering letter from William T Loris, Program Legal Counsel, IDLI to Neil Gold, Faculty of Law, Windsor, Ontario re proposed establishment of Commonwealth Institute for Legal Education and Training

1987

TWIN 04/01/21

Lecture: Are Skills Really Frills, delivered by Neil Gold at the Cyprus Bar Association 10th Commonwealth Law Conference, May 1993

1993

TWIN 04/02 Third party papers relating to the teaching of legal skills and legal education, 1944-2006

Reference Title Dates

TWIN 04/02/03

Report on the Committee on Legal Education from Students from Africa

1961

TWIN 04/02/04

Report of the Commission for the Reorganisation of Legal Education in Kerala

1964

TWIN 04/02/16

Report: Profile of Published Legal Research, A report to the Consultative Group on Research and Education in Law based on a survey of Canadian legal publications, Alice Janisch

[c1980?]

TWIN 04/02/20

Canadian Law Faculties, A Report of the Consultative Group on Research and Education in Law based on the 1981 survey of Canadian law Faculties and statistics of the Canadian deans of law, John S McKennirey

[1981?]

TWIN 04/02/21

Report: Sources of Support for Legal Research, A report to the Consultative Group on Research and Education in Law based on a survey of foundations, law reform commissions, departments of justices, and attorneys and solicitors general in Canada, John S McKennirey

1982

TWIN 04/02/22

A summary of Law and Learning Report of the Consultative Group on Research and Education in Law, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

[1982]

TWIN 04/02/23

Report of Academic Course Appraisal Committee on Legal Knowledge Required for Admission to Practise, Council of Legal Education, Victoria, Australia

1982

TWIN 04/02/25

Report: Draft Interim Report to Faculty on Implementation of Decision Arising from the Review of the Legal Workshop, The Australian National University Faculty of Law, Legal Workshop Committee of Management

1984

TWIN 04/02/27

Report: A Strategy Plan for the Practical Legal Training Course (Full Time) for the Year 1986-87, The College of Law [New South Wales, Australia]

[1985?]

TWIN 04/02/28

Review of the [New South Wales, Australia] College of Law's Practical Legal Training Course

1985

TWIN 04/02/29

Report: The Canadian Law Clinics: Reflections and Prospects (Including a Report Concerning the Fifth Canadian Law Teach Clinic), Neil Gold and LA Fisher

1985

TWIN 04/02/30

Legal Education in Australia: The Submission of Australian Law School Deans to the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission Assessment Committee for the Discipline of Law

1986

TWIN 04/02/33

Report on the Reform of Professional Legal Training in New Zealand for The New Zealand Law Society and Council of Legal Education, Neil Gold

1987

TWIN 04/02/34

Report to the Council of the Nova Scotia Barristers; Society on Professional Legal Education and Training, Legal Education Committee

1987

TWIN 04/02/39

Education and Work in a Changing Society: Strategic Research Grant Proposal. The Impact of Admissions Criteria on Access to Legal Education and Legal Work in a Changing Society, Faculty of Law, University of Windsor, Ontario, Canada

1989

TWIN 04/02/42

Conference programme for Lawasia '93, held in Sri Lanka

1993

TWIN 04/02/45

The Law Society of British Columbia: Requirements of Newly Called Lawyers, a Consultation Document

1996

TWIN 04/02/33

Report on the Reform of Professional Legal Training in New Zealand for The New Zealand Law Society and Council of Legal Education, Neil Gold

1987

TWIN 04/02/34

Report to the Council of the Nova Scotia Barristers; Society on Professional Legal Education and Training, Legal Education Committee

 

TWIN 04/02/39

Education and Work in a Changing Society: Strategic Research Grant Proposal. The Impact of Admissions Criteria on Access to Legal Education and Legal Work in a Changing Society, Faculty of Law, University of Windsor, Ontario, Canada

1989

TWIN 04/02/42

Conference programme for Lawasia '93, held in Sri Lanka

1993

TWIN 04/02/45

The Law Society of British Columbia: Requirements of Newly Called Lawyers, a Consultation Document

1996