Human rights law: Archives guide

This guide was created by Clare Cowling, IALS Archivist.

Email: ials.archives@sas.ac.uk

The records listed, which hold references to the law in relation to human rights, comprise material transferred to the IALS Archives by officers of the organisations listed below. The following keywords were used: citizen; discrimination; equality; freedom; human rights; minority.  There may be more relevant material in the general correspondence, minute books and training records of the organisations below which was not picked up in word searches.  To browse the Archives catalogues for more information see this link: https://ials.sas.ac.uk/ials-library/archives/ials-archives-collections.

Related guidance: see also archive guides on Race and the Law, Slavery and the Law, Refugees and the Law.

Access: the records listed below, other than some items are closed to public access as they contain personal data, may be viewed by prior appointment in the IALS Library. Closed items are designated in red.

The PDF version of this guide is available below:

Commonwealth Legal Association (CLEA): Records, 1971-1995

Administrative history: the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) was founded during the Fourth Commonwealth Law Conference in New Delhi in 1971.   The idea was initiated by Indian lawyer Dr Laxmi Singhvi, CLEA's first chairman.  The Association's objects were to foster high standards of legal education and research in Commonwealth countries: to build up contacts between interested individuals and organizations, and to disseminate information and literature concerning legal education and research.

The CLEA's structure, objectives and functions are set out in its Constitution, adopted soon after its foundation.  Membership is open to individuals, schools of law and other institutions concerned with legal education and research.  Patrons are appointed from various Commonwealth countries.  The affairs of the Association are managed by an Executive Committee, drawn from the Commonwealth regions, which meets annually: its actions are reviewed at 5 yearly General Meetings, the first of which was held in Edinburgh during the Fifth Commonwealth Law Conference in 1977.  There is an Advisory Panel in the United Kingdom.  The administration of the Association was carried out by a chairman and two secretaries, one in London and one abroad.  In 1990 the office of chairman was replaced by a president and executive chairperson (since renamed vice president).  The President may be elected from any part of the Commonwealth: the Vice President must be established in the UK.  In 1994 a South Asian regional chapter was formed.

Selected items:

CLEA 01: Secretary's Correspondence and Papers, alphabetically arranged, 1971-1991

Reference	Title	Dates
CLEA 01/20 (Parts1-2)	Human Rights: Part 1: correspondence and papers relating to a seminar on promotion of human rights and the Commonwealth	1986-1988
	Part 2: correspondence and papers relating to an initiative for human rights - meeting at the Royal Commonwealth Society, 1988

CLEA 02: Papers of W L Twining as a CLEA Officer, 1973-1994

Biographical note: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.  He has been Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961), Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965), Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972) and Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982).  From 1983-1996 he was the Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London.  

Other activities have included membership of the Committee on Legal Education in Northern Ireland (1972-1974), presidency of the SPTL (1978-1979) and of the UK Society for Legal and Social Philosophy (1980-1983), chairmanship of the Bentham Committee (1982- ) and of the CLEA (1983-1993).  He has edited the Law in Context series and the Jurists' series and has written and edited many publications concerning legal education, including Legal Records in the Commonwealth (joint editor with E Varnden Quick), for the papers of which project see the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP) collection in the IALS Archives.

Professor William Twining was a CLEA officer as follows:

• Advisory Panel member 1977-1983
• Executive Committee member 1980-1983
• Chairman/President 1983-1990
• Executive Chairman 1990-1994

Scope, content and arrangement: the papers include material (listed below) relating to the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (CHRI), 1988-1990.  CHRI was an area in which the CLEA was involved primarily as a member and supporter.  CLEA nominated one member to CHRI and had representatives on the CHRI's Advisory Commission and Steering Committee: William Twining was one of those representatives.  CLEA also played a major role in drafting the CHRI report Put our World to Rights.  

Reference	Title	Dates
CLEA 02/64	Papers relating to establishment of a human rights database, University of Dar es Salaam	1991
CLEA 02/71	Papers concerning Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative	1993
	Further papers concerning the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative (CHRI):
CLEA 02/74	Letters to other CLEA officers ON sponsoring CHRI	1988-1989
CLEA 02/75	Papers relating to the setting up of CHRI	1988-1990
CLEA 02/76	Folder containing UN material on human rights and related CLEA papers	1989
CLEA 02/77	Background papers and notes on CLEA's role	1989
CLEA 02/78	"Right to development" - Seminar papers	1989
CLEA 02/79	Correspondence with CHRI: survey and background papers	1989
CLEA 02/80	Correspondence relating to financing CHRI, organisation, programme etc.  Includes steering committee reports and minutes	1989-1990
CLEA 02/81	Correspondence, with minutes and agenda of meetings	1989
CLEA 02/82	Copies of UN documents on human rights, agenda and minutes of meetings, supporting documents and articles	1989
CLEA 02/83	Steering committee agenda and notes for meetings	1990
CLEA 02/84	Background papers and correspondence	1990
CLEA 02/85	"CHRI for Hong Kong": correspondence, papers, reports, minutes of steering committee	1991
CLEA 02/86	Reports, agenda and minutes of steering committee	1991-1992
CLEA 02/87	Folder with CHRI operating procedures and principles, plus correspondence	1992-1993
CLEA 02/88	Background papers	1992-1993

Sir Dingle Mackintosh Foot (FOOT): Papers, 1926-1979

Biographical history: Sir Dingle Mackintosh Foot (1905–1978), politician and lawyer, was born on 24 August 1905 in Plymouth, the eldest child in the family of five sons and two daughters of Isaac Foot (1880-1960), MP and solicitor, and his wife, Eva Mackintosh (1878-1946).  He was educated at Bembridge School, Isle of Wight and at Balliol College, Oxford, where he took a second in modern history in 1927. He was president of the University Liberal Club in 1927 and of the Oxford Union one year later, before becoming secretary to his father in the House of Commons after the latter's election in 1929.

He was called to the bar at Gray's Inn in 1930, joining the western circuit.

Foot served several terms as a member of parliament.  He became a bencher of Gray's Inn in 1952 and took silk two years later. He was a member of the Royal Commission on Justices of the Peace from 1946 to 1948, was appointed a member of the Committee on Intermediaries in 1949 and chaired the Observer Trust from 1953 to 1955. It was at this time that Foot cultivated his links with legal practice in the Commonwealth, being admitted as an advocate in the Gold Coast, Ceylon, Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Sierra Leone, India, Bahrain, Malaysia, and Southern Rhodesia. He specialized in constitutional and civil liberties cases, defending Dr Hastings Banda, then leader of the Nyasaland African Congress Party, when he was gaoled in Southern Rhodesia, and Shaikh Muhammad Abdullah, the former chief minister of Kashmir, in the Kashmir conspiracy case. He was expelled from Nigeria in 1962 while challenging the Emergency Powers Act on behalf of the western Nigerian premier, Alhaji D S Adegbenro, and was refused entry the next year when he sought to represent Chief Enaharo on a treason charge after his expulsion from the United Kingdom. Lord Diplock described him as 'an ambassador of common law throughout the Commonwealth' (The Times, 20 June 1978), and he established one of the first multiracial chambers in the Temple.

He died on 18 June 1978, during a case in Hong Kong, by choking on a sandwich in his hotel room. His remains were cremated in Hong Kong.

Selected items:

FOOT 01: Legal files, 1926-1960

Reference	Title	Dates
FOOT 01/01	Legal file comprising: One letter [from Foot?] to Mr Adalabu, 6 December 1957. Concerning whether the Secretary of State will confer powers on the Minority Commission to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of documents. Two untitled summarising typescript memorandum, nd. [Possibly written by Foot]. ‘Memorandum for Submission to the Minority Commission by the Western NCNC [National Council of Nigeria and the Cameroons] Official Opposition’, typescript paper, nd. ‘A Memorandum Submitted by the Central Yoruba State Movement. Sponsored by the NCNC delegation’, typescript paper, 24 May 1957.	1957-c.1957
FOOT 01/02	Memoranda and other papers relating to the Minority Commission with reference to the United Muslim Party.   Including: Minutes of the Proceedings of the Minorities Commission’s Sitting at Lagos on 28 December 1957. ‘The National Muslim League’s Memorandum on the Fears of the Muslim Minorities in the Regions’, typescript paper by Hassan T A Funsho, Administrative Secretary, 28 December 1957. ‘United Muslim Party Memorandum on Chief Obafemi Awolowo’s Threat to Legislate Against Political Parties Based on Islamic Religion’, typescript paper, n.d. ‘Human Rights in Nigeria. United Muslim Party Proposals on Fundamental Rights of Citizens of Nigeria and on Matters Relating to Minorities in a Self-Governing and Independent Nigeria, typescript paper, n.d.	n.d.; 1957

International Association of Law Libraries (IALL): Archives

Administrative History: the International Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1959 with the purpose of promoting and supporting the work of Law Libraries and related agencies, in order to facilitate research and use of their materials on a multinational and co-operative basis. Its functions and activities have developed to include professional education and development, by means of annual courses, participation in major conferences including the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA), the publication of the International Journal of Legal Information, and other scholarly publications. It also awards scholarship bursaries for and makes an annual award for the best legal website.

Selected items:

IALL 13: IALL Annual Courses and Conferences, 1979-2018

Reference	Title	Dates
IALL 13/08	16th IALL Course on International Law Librarianship, Lund, Aug 24-28: Human Rights Law: Global Issues and Information Sources -papers	1997

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS): Institutional Archives, 1934-2016

Administrative History: in 1932 a Legal Education Committee under the Chairmanship of Lord Atkin was set up to consider the organisation of legal education in England and to make recommendations as to further provision for advanced research in legal studies.  The Committee’s report in 1934 included a recommendation that an Institute of Advanced Legal Studies be established in London.  In 1938 another Committee, chaired by Lord Macmillan, was set up to find a practical means of effecting this recommendation.  The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS) was established in 1946 as part of the University of London.  Its aims were "the prosecution and promotion of legal research and the training of graduate students in its principles and methods" (39th Annual Report, 1985/86).  Since its inception the scope of the Institute has expanded considerably, with sponsorship of and support for many research projects and the provision of facilities for other research bodies and for conferences, seminars and workshops.  The Library provides facilities for academic and research staff and postgraduate research students from universities all over the world, and is one of the world's largest legal research libraries. 

Selected items:

IALS 26: International and Professional Training Unit (IPTU): records, 1988-1996 

Administrative note:  the International and Professional Training Unit (IPTU), aimed at furthering the education of professional lawyers around the world, was active from c.1988-c.1997.  Training programmes run by the Law and Development Forum (LDP), the Middle East Legal Practitioners Forum (MELPF), the cross-cultural Continuing Legal Education (CLE) and the Commonwealth Young Lawyers Course (CYLC) were managed by Hilary Lewis-Ruttley under the IPTU umbrella.  Several fellowship programmes were also administered by the IPTU, including the Nuffield fellowship, British Council fellowships and the Temple Bar Foundation scholarship.

IALS 26/03 Nuffield Foundation Fellowship programme: Hilary Lewis-Ruttley’s papers, 1993-1997

Administrative background: the Nuffield Foundation Fellowship Scheme was intended to “strengthen the capacity of legal and judicial institutions in Commonwealth developing countries, in addressing current problems relating to law and the profession, in particular through indigenous designs for law reform and continuing legal education (CLE)” (see pamphlet in IALS 26/03/01).  The programme formed part of the IALS’s law reform and initiatives in professional legal education and was co-ordinated by the IPTU.  The first Nuffield programme took place at IALS in 1994 and ran until 1997.

From 1996-97 IALS provided mixed research/training fellowships into law reform and initiatives in professional legal education, also sponsored by the Nuffield Foundation and the British Council and running in tandem with the Nuffield Foundation Scheme.

Reference	Title	Dates
IALS 26/03/05	Nuffield Fellows’ final proposals (originals), including: Md Nizamul Huq Nasim and Md Moazzam Husain, Comparative Study of Mechanisms for the Protection of Human Rights, with a Particular Focus on the right to Personal Liberty, the Right to Freedom from Arbitrary Arrest and Detention and the Right to Freedom from Torture	1994
IALS 26/03/08	Nuffield Fellows’ final proposals (originals)and synopses, including: Sarah Banenya, Matrimonial Property from the Human Rights and Law reform Perspectives: which Way Uganda	1995

IALS 26/06 Hilary Lewis Ruttley’s personal papers relating to programmes and conferences in which she participated, 1990-1996

Biographical note:  Hilary Lewis Ruttley (HLR) (b.1956) was born in Hong Kong. She is a graduate in Law and Anthropology from SOAS and is a Barrister (Inner Temple, 1980).  She was Joint Director of Studies at the International Professional training Unit (IPTU) at IALS and also the Co-ordinator of academic and practitioner groups based at IALS.

Scope and content: HLR was a member of numerous organizations and contributed to a number of programs and conferences in a quasi-private capacity; the items below comprise her papers.  

Reference	Title	Dates
IALS 26/06/03	“Africa CLE network, Commonwealth law reporting; ODA/human rights NGOs”: HLR’s papers	1991-1992
IALS 26/06/08	“Human rights; law and development NGOs 1994” HLR was a member of the Human Rights and Development Forum; includes minutes and a handwritten paper by HLR	1996
IALS 26/06/09	“Human rights training” 1994-7.  Seminar for MA students given by HLR, 3-17 Oct 1996	1996

International Law Association (ILA): Archives, 1866-2019

Administrative History: the International Law Association (ILA) was founded in Brussels in 1873 as an association 'to consist of Jurists, Economists, Legislators, Politicians and others taking an interest in the question of the reform and Codification of Public and Private International Law, the Settlement of Disputes by Arbitration, and the assimilation of the laws, practice and procedure of the Nations in reference to such laws' (afternoon sitting of the first conference of members, 19 November 1873: reference ILA 01/01). It was initially called the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Law of Nations, changing its title to the International Law Association in the early 20th century. 

The Association was to consist of a Council of officers comprising a President, vice presidents, secretaries and other members of the Conference (called the Bureau), plus a series of local, departmental or provincial committees who were to report to the President. These committees have since expanded into International Committees. The ILA's activities are now organised by an Executive Council, assisted by the Headquarters Secretariat in London. Membership of the Association, at present about 4,200, is spread among branches throughout the world and ranges from lawyers in private practice, academia, industrial and financial spheres, and representatives of bodies such as shipping and arbitration organisations and chambers of commerce. The ILA has consultative status, as an international non-governmental organisation, with a number of the United Nations specialised agencies. 

The ILA's objectives are pursued primarily through the work of its International Committees and the focal point of its activities is the series of Biennial Conferences. These conferences, of which over 70 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the committees.

Access: the ILA operates a 30 year closure rule. Some items are further closed to public access under The Data Protection Act. Closed items are designated in red.

Selected items:

ILA 01 Records of the Executive Council, 1873-2010

ILA 01/08 Projects and partnerships with external organisations, 1968-2003

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 01/08/01/02	UNESCO subvention 1969. Copy of contract between UNESCO and the ILA, in which UNESCO agree to fund the ILA to investigate and advise on the operations of existing national groups of international law specialists in Senegal, Ivory Coast, Tanzania and Tunisia, and the possibility of establishing a chair of international law or a specialist documentation centre in these countries (1968); Correspondence accompanying this contract, re supplementary payments to Cochaux; Correspondence between UNESCO and ILA officials re continuing co-operation between the organisations; Letter confirming award of 1969 subvention to the ILA, in return for submission of relevant activity and financial reports; 1969 report of activities assisted by subventions; Copy of contract between UNESCO and the ILA in which UNESCO agree to fund the ILA to carry out an international survey on the teaching of human rights at university level (1970)	1968-1970
ILA 01/08/01/03	UNESCO subvention 1970. Copy of contract between UNESCO and the ILA in which UNESCO agree to fund the ILA to carry out an international survey on the teaching of human rights at university level (1970), with accompanying administrative correspond     ence; Correspondence re ILA representation at liaisons with UNESCO; 1970 report on activities assisted by subvention	1969-1971
ILA 01/08/02/01	UNESCO overall contract 1977-1978. Correspondence re the initial establishment of the International Social Science Council (ISSC) overall contract, and discussion of the ILA contribution via its committees on Monetary Law; Landlocked States; Legal Aspects of the Conservation of the Environment; and Human Rights. Includes reports of these committees to the ISSC, 1978	1976-1978

ILA 01/08/06 International Association of Penal Law/Association Internationale de Droit Penal, 1992

Scope and content: correspondence re International Law Association co-sponsorship of a World Conference on the Establishment of an International Criminal Tribunal to Enforce International Criminal Law and Human Rights at Siracusa, December 2 - 5 1992

Item list:

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 01/08/06	Correspondence	1992
ILA 01/08/11	United Nations Secretariat, Geneva. Correspondence concerning the annual re-appointment of Michael Brandon as the ILA’s permanent representative to the United Nations office at Geneva, UN European Regional Conference for Non-Governmental Organisations in 1979, the ILA Enforcement of Human Rights Law International Committee, and other matters	1977-1989
ILA 01/08/13	United Nations Office for Legal Affairs, New York. Correspondence concerning the UN Colloquium on Progressive Development and Codification of International Law in New York held on 28 October 1997 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the International Law Commission; implementation of Commission on Human Rights resolutions 1996/301 and 1997/201; New Wood Staff Union of the UN. CLOSED until 2029	1997-1998
ILA 01/08/26	Council of Europe. Correspondence, draft letters and copies of minutes concerning collaboration with the ILA, including the possibility of there being any unsigned or unratified agreements prepared by the ILA which could be taken up by the member governments of the Council of Europe. Includes two Council of Europe publications: ‘Information Bulletin on Legal Activities Within the Council of Europe and in Member States’ June 1978; press release ‘Information Note No. 26 on the 0136th Session of the European Commission of Human Rights (Strasbourg, Monday 4 December to Friday 15 December 1978), 6 January 1979.	1954-1979

ILA 01/09 Seminars and conferences, 1973-2015

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 01/09/07	Study Groups on Principles for the Development of International Law; Business and Human Rights; Socially Responsible Investment. Administrative email correspondence.  Includes:  ‘The Use of Private Law Principles for the Development of International Law. Short Briefing’, Alejandro Carballo, Rapporteur, October 2011. ‘Proposal for ILA Study Group on Socially Responsible Investment’, May 2012.  CLOSED until 2049	2011-2018

ILA 02: Conference, 1874-2014

Administrative background: the focal point of the ILA's activities is the series of Biennial Conferences.  These conferences, of which 69 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the ILA's international committees.

ILA 02/03 – ILA 02/49 Conference papers arranged by date and venue, 1874-2014

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 02/18	Conference at Warsaw, 1928. Reports, including: 'Summary of a paper prepared by signor Mariano d'Amelio, Senator and First President of the court of Cassazione, upon the international protection of radio-electric communication and in particular concerning interference with the emission of communication'; 'Report of the Aerial and Radio Law Committee'	1928
ILA 02/25	Conference at Copenhagen, 1950. Reports presented at the 44th Conference, including the Air Law Committee	1948-1950
ILA 02/28	Conference at Hamburg, 1960. Administrative correspondence, programmes and list of members. Reports presented at the 49th Conference by committees, including the Air Law Committee	1960
ILA 02/29	Conference at Brussels, 1962. Reports presented at the 50th Conference by committees, including the Air and Space Law Committee	1962
ILA 02/30	Conference at Tokyo, 1964. Administrative documents and correspondence, with directory (programme and list of delegates). Reports presented at the 51st Conference by committees, including the Space Law Committee	1964
ILA 02/31	Conference at Helsinki, 1966. Reports presented at the Fifty-Second Conference in Helsinki by committees, including the Space Law Committee	1966
ILA 02/32	Conference at the Hague, 1970. Administrative documents and correspondence, with programme and list of delegates. Reports presented at the 54th conference in the Hague by committees, including: Air Law Committee Space Law Committee Committee on Piracy (Sea and Air)	1970
ILA 02/35	Conference at Madrid, 1976. Reports presented at the 57th Conference by committees, including the: Space Law Committee Air Law Committee; ‘Air Law: The unification of certain rules relating to hovercraft – resolution and draft convention’.	1976
ILA 02/36	Conference at Manila, 1978. Reports presented at the 58th Conference in Manila by committees, including the Space Law Committee	1978
ILA 02/37	Conference at Belgrade, 1980. Reports presented at the 59th Conference by committees, including the: Air Law Committee Space Law Committee	1980
ILA 02/38	Conference at Montreal, 1982. Reports presented at the 60th Conference by committees, including the Air Law Committee	1981-1983
ILA 02/39/01	Conference at Paris, 1984.  Reports presented by committees, including: Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution Space Law Committee; Discussion Paper on the Legal Aspects of the Present and Projected Military Uses of Outer Space	1984
ILA 02/40/04	Conference at Seoul, 1986. Reports presented by committees, including International Space Law Committee	1986
ILA 02/41/07	Conference at Warsaw, 1988. Reports by committees, including: Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution; International Committee on Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control International Space Law Committee	1988
ILA 02/42/03	Conference at Queensland, 1990. Promotional material. Includes programme (two copies); pre-publicity flyer; promotional leaflet (three copies) for 'The Cape York Space Port: The legal and business issues', a two-day seminar held immediately prior to the conference by the Australian branch of the ILA	1989-1990
ILA 02/42/05	Conference at Queensland, 1990.  Reports presented by committees, including: Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution; International Space Law Committee; International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control	1990
ILA 02/43/05	Conference at Cairo, 1992. Reports presented at the Sixty-Fifth Conference in Cairo by committees, including: Committee on Legal Aspects of Long-Distance Air Pollution; International Committee on Space Law; International Committee on the Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control	1992
ILA 02/45/05	Conference at Helsinki, 1996.  Reports presented by committees, including the Space Law Committee	1966
ILA 02/46/06	Conference at Taipei, 1998.  Reports presented by committees, including the Space Law Committee	1998
ILA 02/47	Conference at New York, 1958.  Contains the following reports: Air Law: ‘Crimes in Aircraft: Status of Aircraft with reference to Criminal Law for Aircraft, Report, case materials, draft texts’, contributed by Professor Arnold W. Knauth, rapporteur. Air Law: ‘International Court for Air Law’. Air Law: ‘Air Sovereignty and the Legal Status of Outer Space’ by Professor Dr. D. Goedhuis, rapporteur	1958
ILA 02/49	Conference at Buenos Aires, 1968. Reports presented at the 53rd Conference by committees, including: Space Law Committee; Air Law Committee: ‘Introduction’ by Professor Bin Cheng; Air Law Committee: ‘Liability of Air Carriers’, report by Professor A.B. Rosevear, Q.C.; Air Law Committee: ‘Aerial Collisions Liability’, report by Dr. Werner Guldimann	1968-1969
ILA 02/55/06	Conference in London, 2000.  Committee reports, including Space Law Committee	2000

ILA 03: International Committees, 1875-2019

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 03/04	Air Law Committee. Correspondence, reports and administrative papers.  Variously known as Aerial Law/Aviation Law/Air and Space Law Committee, the Committee was established in 1912 following a decision taken at the Paris Conference of that year and was initially engaged in preparatory work for the first international Air Convention. This work was interrupted by the war, and when the Committee resumed, it was to find that work in the field had been accelerated by international events. In 1919, an International Air Convention was signed by several states of the Allied and Associated Powers, with air navigation between the signatories and the enemy states being governed by several Treaties of Peace. The 1919 Convention also provided for the establishment of a permanent International Commission for Air Navigation as part of the organisation of the League of Nations. The role of the Aerial Law Committee of the ILA thus became to comment and advise on the 1919 Convention, as noted in the Conference Report of the 29th Conference held at Portsmouth in 1920.	1911-1937
ILA 03/21	Space Law Committee. Established in 1976	1980-1992
ILA 03/21/01	Administrative correspondence re constitution and membership of the Committee; representation at the 1986 ILA Conference in Seoul, and text of closing statement of Rapporteur of the Committee, Dr. Böckstiegel, to the Conference. Includes report of the Committee to the 1980 ILA Conference in Belgrade. One item (curriculum vitae) CLOSED until 2028 (temporarily separated from the main file).	1985-1986
ILA 03/21/02	Administrative correspondence, discussing the outcome of the Committee's 1986 ILA Conference discussions at Seoul, and a questionnaire, drawn up by Professor D. Goedhius, circulated to members of the Committee. Includes: ‘The Environmental Impact of Space Activities’ by Luboš Perek, circulated as a background paper for the new topic to be investigated by the Committee. ‘Questionnaire on the continuing conflicts in the interpretation of the legal rules governing military space activities’ by the Chairman of the Space Law Committee.	1986-1987
ILA 03/21/03	Administrative correspondence, discussing the 1988 ILA Conference in Warsaw; nominations and Committee membership lists; resignation of Dr. Goedhius as Chairman of the Committee. Includes a report by Professor Maureen Williams on the 'International Colloquium on the Environmental Aspects of Activities in Outer Space: State of the Law and Measures of Protection' (Cologne, 16-19 May 1988); copy of the report of the Committee to the ILA Warsaw Conference (1988)	1988
ILA 03/21/04	Administrative correspondence re nominations to the Committee, funding by UNESCO Subvention Grant.	1989
ILA 03/21/05	Administrative correspondence re nominations to the Committee and membership lists; the report of the Committee to the 1990 ILA Conference in Queensland; collaboration with the Human Dimensions of Global Change Programme, UNESCO, the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS), and other external agencies; 'Suggestions for the future?', Section B of the Committee Report to Queensland conference, by Professor Maureen Williams, Rapporteur of the Committee. Includes a copy of the Committee's Report to the 1990 ILA Conference in Queensland.  One item (curriculum vitae) CLOSED until 2048 (temporarily separated from the main file).	1990
ILA 03/21/06	Administrative correspondence re Committee nominations, appointments and membership; World Environmental Law Congress and International Council on Social Sciences. Includes: Statement by Prof. Dr. K.H. Böckstiegel as the representative of the International Law Association at the 34th Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) of the United Nations, 1991. ILA report for a publication on Space Activities of the United Nations and International Organisations.	1991
ILA 03/21/07	Administrative correspondence re nominations to the Committee and membership lists; collaboration with the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS), and other external agencies; participation in an International Colloquium on Manned Space Flight: Legal Aspects in the Light of Scientific and Technical Development, organised by Institute of Air and Space Law, University of Cologne, in co-operation with German Space Agency (DARA) and German Aerospace Research Establishment (DLR), held in Cologne, 1992. Includes: Statement by Prof. Dr. K.H. Böckstiegel as the representative of the International Law Association at the 31st Session of the Legal Subcommittee of the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) of the United Nations, Geneva, April 1992. Text of the Space Law final resolution, as adopted at the ILA’s Cairo Conference closing session, 1992. Report of the Legal Subcommittee of the Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space of the United Nations on the work of its 31st Session, 1992. Statement by Prof. Dr. K.H. Böckstiegel as the representative of the ILA at the 35th Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) of the United Nations, 1992 (two copies).  Report by Professor Maureen Williams on the question of future ILA work in the field of environmental law.	1992
ILA 03/31	Committee on Legal Aspects of Air Traffic Control. Administrative correspondence. Subjects discussed include nominations and appointments to Committee membership. Includes: ‘Some considerations on the liability of Air Traffic Control Agencies’ by Prof. Dr. Kim Doo Hwan, photocopied article from ‘Air Law’, Volume XIII, Number 6, 1988. Programme and booking form for the Third European Aerospace Conference, ‘Civil Aviation Operations – Problems, Solutions and Actions’, organised by the Royal Aeronautical Society and co-sponsored by l’Association Aéronautique et Astronautique de France, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt eV and Associazione Italiana di Aeronautica e Astronautica, and held in London, 22-24 May 1990.	1985-1992

ILA 04: Regional branches of the ILA: records, 1877-2013

ILA 04/57 International Law Association in the Soviet Union, 1958-1985

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 04/57/01	Branch and internal headquarters correspondence (1960-1961), much of it concerning position statements and protests issued by the Soviet Association on matters of disarmament, alleged incursions by the United States Air Force into Soviet air space, and the assassination of Patrice Lumumba. Includes headquarters' correspondence re the cessation of the Czech branch of the ILA and the political situation in Hungary. Also includes pamphlet containing the constitution of the Soviet Association of International Law, 1958.	1958-1961
ILA 04/57/02	Correspondence re membership lists, organisational structure and nominations to International Committees. Includes a page of 'The Law Times', 1963, with an article on Soviet Law; 'Soviet Association of International Law Space Law Committee, Helsinki Conference (1966) Memorandum: World-Wide Telecommunication Systems by Satellites (Legal Aspects)'; 'Soviet Association of International Law, Helsinki Conference (1966) Memorandum: Non-Intervention Principle in Contemporary International Law'	1963-197

ILA 04/63 International Law Association in Canada, 1985-1991

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 04/63	Correspondence re delivery of the Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, and pamphlets containing the texts of the first, third and fourth lectures, including: First Louis M. Bloomfield Memorial Lecture in International Law, 'International Carriage by Air Codification: Uniformity and Diversity', delivered by Nicolas Mateesco Matta at the Centre for Research of Air and Space Law, McGill University, 014 March 1985.	1985-1991

ILA 06: Library, 1866-1969

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 06/31	Pamphlets relating to air law: ‘Provisional Manual of Air-Force Law’, [United Kingdom] Air Ministry, 1918. ‘Archiv für Luftrecht: Vierteljahresschrift des Instituts für Luftrecht’, 1932. ‘Bombing of Civilians’, reprinted from the Journal of Air Law, July, 1938. ‘International Law and the Naval, Military and Air Force Courts of Foreign Governments in the United Kingdom’, 1942.	1918-1942

Administrative history: the Society of Public Teachers of Law (SPTL) was founded in 1909 by Dr Edward Jenks, the then Principal and Director of Studies of the Law Society. 

Aims: Rule 2 of the Society states that "The objects of the society shall be the furtherance of the cause of legal education in England and Wales, and of the work and interests of public teachers of law therein by holding discussions and enquiries, by publishing documents, and by taking other steps as may from time to time be deemed desirable" (see SPTL 06: List of Members and Rules 1910).

Since its inception, the SPTL has acted to improve the quality of legal education and research through publishing reports, setting up working parties, putting forward submissions, holding conferences and producing journals and newsletters on matters relevant to legal education. Its representation on the different law teaching bodies in England and Wales has meant that it has operated with great effectiveness as a pressure group for change.

In 2002 the Society of Public Teachers of Law was renamed the Society of Legal Scholars.

Selected items:

SPTL 16: Annual Dinners and Conferences: Programmes and Printed Papers, 1968-2020

Reference	Title	Dates
SPTL 16/36	2010 Conference: Programme, Annual Dinner menu, information sheets and attendee list. Together with a copy of ‘The Human Rights Act and Family Law-10 Years On’, an address given by Lord Justice Munby at the Conference.	2010

Biographical History: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.

He was Chair of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) from 1983-1993 and Supervisor of the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (records held in the IALS Archives; ref: CLRP). 

University posts:

• Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961)
• Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965)
• Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972)
• Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982)
• Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London (1983-1996)
• Director of University of London LLM Review (1992-1993)

Selected items:

TWIN 02/02 Papers relating to the Commonwealth Legal Education Association, 1975-1992

Scope and content: these papers were created or gathered by Prof Twining as a member of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA).  Prof Twining held various posts with the CLEA: 

• Advisory Panel member 1977-1983
• Executive Committee member 1980-1983
• Chairman/President 1983-1990
• Executive Chairman 1990-1994.  

He was also involved in the project to survey "Legal Awareness Programmes" (a phrase used by the project to denote "legal education activities for non-lawyers”) in Commonwealth countries.

Reference	Title	Dates
TWIN 02/02/05	File: "Legal Awareness": Papers re The Commonwealth Legal Education Association. Includes correspondence with the Ford Foundation and the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative	1991-1992

TWIN 03/04/02 Law in Context Proposals, 1966-1988

Administrative history: in 1965 Prof Twining (then at the University of Warwick) and Robert Stevens (then at Tulane University, New Orleans) planned a new series of law books which would challenge existing textbook orthodoxy.  The series became the "Law in Context" series.  The aim of the series was to stimulate the writing of books which were broader in aim than traditional law text books, treating legal subjects from a broader base than in the past, using material from other social sciences, business studies and any other discipline that helped to explain the law in action in its social and economic context.  The books were to be written with the needs of university students of law and related disciplines in mind.  The publishers were Weidenfeld & Nicholson (Butterworths later took over publication of the series) and the editors were initially Prof Twining and Robert Stevens.  They were later joined by Christopher McCrudden (University of Oxford).  The first book was published in 1970.

Reference	Title	Dates
TWIN 03/04/02/16	"Bonner D NI and European Convention". Correspondence re proposal for volume on Northern Ireland and European Convention of Human Rights	1976
TWIN 03/04/02/81	"Michael O Boyle". Correspondence re proposed volume on European human rights.	1981-1983