Maritime law: Archives guide

IALL 07/07

File: IALL Riga 1990 [IALL International Conference "Ecology and Law in the Baltic Sea Area: Sources and Developments", Riga, Latvia, 1990]

Papers

• ‘The Geneva Session of the Third United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea, 1975. Provisional Interim Report’, Captain Edgar Gold, 6 May 1975.
• ‘Third United Nations Law of the Sea Conference: The Current Status and the “Informal Single Negotiating Text”’, Robert B. Krueger, Chairman and H. Gary Knight, Rapporteur, 15 January 1976.
• ‘The Sixth Session, New York, 1977. Report to the International Law Association’, Professor Edgar Gold, October 1977.
• ‘Italy and the Law of the Sea Newsletter’, no. 01, January 1979.
• ‘Law of the Sea: The Ninth Session Produces More Than Hopes’, Alan D. Wiener, [c1980].
• Untitled report by D. P. O’Connell, [c1982].  

Conference at Edinburgh, 1954. Papers of the 46th Conference: Includes the following report:

• Inland Water Rights and Obligations Between States: ‘Two Instances of Co-operation in Ireland’ (two copies) and ‘Diversion of Water in International Rivers’

ILA 02/29

Conference at the Hague, 1970. Reports presented at the 54th conference in the Hague by committees, including:

• Committee on International Water Resources Law;
• Committee on Deep Sea Mining, and the Australian Branch Committee on Deep Sea Mining;
• Committee on Piracy (Sea and Air);
• Committee on Deep Sea Mineral Resources of the American Branch of the International Law Association (second interim report);
• Corrigenda to the British Branch Committee on Deep Sea Mining Report on a Regime for the Exploration and Exploitation of the Mineral Resources of the Ocean Bed.

Also contains a collection of photographs.  These are CLOSED until 2045    

Conference at New York, 1972. Reports presented at the 55th Conference by the following committees:

• Committee on International Water Resources Law;
• International Committee on Deep Sea Mining;
• British Branch Committee on Deep Sea Mining;
• Committee on Deep Sea Mineral Resources of the American Branch of the International Law Association; 
• Australian Branch Committee on Deep Sea Mining: supplement to the 1970 report    

Conference at New Delhi, 1974-75. Reports presented at the 56th Conference by committees, including:

• International Water Resources Law;
• Committee on the Law of the Sea;
• Committee on the Law of the Sea: ‘Rapport Concernant les Aspects Juridiques de l’Exploitation des Maisons sous la Mer’ by Professor E. du Pontavice;
• Law of the Sea Committee – ‘Ocean Navigation: International Legal Aspects’ by Dr. Leo J. Bouchez;
• British Branch Committee on the Law of the Sea: ‘The Concept of Port State Jurisdiction’;
• ‘The UN Conference on the Law of the Sea (Caracas Session)’: Report by G.W. Haight    

Conference at Madrid, 1976. Reports presented at the 57th Conference by the following committees:

• Committee on the Law of the Sea (I.L.A. American branch): Report on Navigation and Dispute Settlement;
• Committee on the Law of the Sea: Rapport concernant les Aspects Juridiques de l’Exploitation des Maisons sous la Mer;
• Committee on the Law of the Sea: Artificial Islands and Offshore Installations;
• British Branch Committee on the Law of the Sea: Settlements of Disputes;
• Space Law Committee;
• International Water Resource Law    

Conference at Manila, 1978. Reports presented at the 58th Conference in Manila by committees, including:

• Committee on the Law of the Sea (American Branch of the ILA);
• Committee on Collisions at Sea;
• British Branch Committee on the Law of the Sea: The Role of Regional Agreements in the Protection and Preservation of the Marine Environment from Pollution;
• Space Law Committee;
• Committee on International Water Resource Law;

Also contains:

• ‘Freedom of passage in the Straits of Malacca in the context of international law with particular reference to the problems of navigational safety and environmental security’ by Nadaisan Logaraj, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Singapore Branch of the ILA, reprinted by the Philippine Branch for the 58th Conference of the ILA

Conference at Belgrade, 1980. Reports presented at the 59th Conference by committees, including:

• Committee on Collisions at Sea;
• Committee on International Water Resource Law

Conference at Montreal, 1982. Reports presented at the 60th Conference by committees, including:

• Committee on International Water Resource Law;
• Committee on Collisions at Sea: Third interim report. 

Conference at Paris, 1984. Reports presented at the 61st Conference by committees, including: 

• Committee on Collisions at Sea: Final report;
• ‘The Right to Development: A paper of the Netherlands Branch of the ILA’, report for the ILA International Committee on Legal Aspects of a New International Economic Order’;
• ‘Settlement of Disputes in the UN Convention of the Law of the Sea’, report of the Philippine Branch Committee on the Law of the Sea  

Conference at Helsinki, 1996. Reports presented by committees, including:

• Committee on Coastal State Jurisdiction Relating to Marine Pollution (two copies);
• Committee on Maritime Neutrality 

Reports presented by committees, including:

• Committee on Coastal State Jurisdiction Relating to Marine Pollution;
• Committee on Maritime Neutrality 

Conference at Dubrovnik, 1956. Contains the following reports:

• ‘The Uses of the Waters of International Rivers: Observations on “Comments on the First Report of the Committee” by Mr. S.M. Sikri, Member of the International Committee and Advocate General of the Punjab (East Punjab)’.
• Committee on Rights to the Seabed and Subsoil 

Conference in London, 2000. Committee reports, including: 

• Coastal State Jurisdiction Relating to Marine Pollution Committee, Final Report.
• Water Resources Law Committee, Second Report. Two copies of each report 

One bound volume containing an index to the committees, their membership and reports. Inserted are loose copies of circulars and reports, including:

• Two circulars regarding the formation and proceedings of the Committee on the International Law of Affreightment and Bills of Lading, a copy of the Committee's report to the Liverpool Conference of 1882, and circulars re relevant discussion and resolutions at the Genoa Conference of 1892
• Circulars relating to the Committee on Territorial Waters, including a report and questionnaire circulated to members of the Association for the Reform and Codification in 1889 of the Law of Nations and two papers by Sir George Baden-Powell, 'Territorial Waters: Their Limits and Privileges' (1887) and 'Ocean Fishery Rights in Territorial and Extra-Territorial Waters' (1890)

Maritime Law Committee. Minutes and publications.  The ILA involved itself in maritime law at an early stage, achieving at its 1877 Antwerp Conference the feat of unifying the Rules of General Average, which almost immediately came into use as the York-Antwerp Rules of General Average (see ILA 03/014). These were revised again at ILA conferences in Liverpool in 1890, and in Stockholm in 1924. The Maritime Law Committee of the ILA drafted the Hague Rules, 1921. They were adopted by the ILA at their thirtieth Conference at the Hague, September 1921.

The ILA also played a key role in the formation of the International Maritime Committee/ Comité Maritime International, after Antwerp lawyer Louis Franck addressed a plea to the ILA for the formation of an international organisation to achieve international unification of maritime law through the elaboration of relevant international draft treaties. This was approved and supported by the ILA in 1896, leading to the formation of the Belgian Association of Maritime Law in Antwerp. In 1897, several National Associations, taking the Belgian Association as a model, joined together to form the International Maritime Committee. 

ILA 03/05/02

 Publications on regulations. Pamphlets produced by the Maritime Law Committee and by other organisations:

• ‘The Hague Rules, 1921: English and French Texts, Together with Translations of the Rules into Spanish, Italian, Dutch, German and Norwegian’, publication of the ILA’s Maritime Law Committee, 1921.
• ‘The Hague Rules, 1921: Paper read at a meeting of the Shipping Staffs’ Association of the Port of Liverpool, on Monday, the 31st October, 1921, by Sir Norman Hill, Bart.’.
• ‘Notes on the Hague Rules, 1921’ by Francesco Berlingieri, Professor of Maritime Law at the University of Genoa, 1922.
• ‘The York-Antwerp Rules, 1950 as adopted by the International Maritime Committee at the Amsterdam Conference of September 1949’.
• ‘Texte Français des Règles d’York et d’Anvers 1950 adopté par le Comité Maritime International et par l’International Law Association.’  

Administrative correspondence. Subjects discussed include reorganisation of the Committee for the Study of Humanitarian and Medical Law to form the Committee on Maritime Neutrality in 1989; composition and administration of the Committee; nominations and appointments to Committee membership. 
Includes:

• ‘Tendencies of and Prospects for National Law and International Law Regulation of “Surrogate Motherhood”’ by L.V. Korbut and A.A. Rubanov, Soviet ILA, paper for the Committee for the Study of Humanitarian and Medical Law.
• Report on: ‘The Adoption of a Code of Conduct relating to Reproductive Technologies’, presentation at the Warsaw ILA Conference by Professor Bartha Maria Knoppers, paper for the Committee for the Study of Humanitarian and Medical Law.
• ‘International Committee on Maritime Neutrality: Report on the Committee’s session at the Cairo Conference (1992) of the International Law Association’ by Dr. Wolff Heintachel v. Heinegg.
• Minutes of the 56th meeting of the Committee on International Monetary Law, 1993.
• Draft Committee report to the 1994 ILA Conference in Buenos Aires.
• Committee reports to the 1992 International Law Association Conference in Cairo and the 1994 International Law Association Conference in Buenos Aires.

CLOSED until 2025. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2049 (temporarily separated from the main file).  

Administrative correspondence. Subjects discussed include nominations and appointments to Committee membership. Includes:

• Later drafts of Committee reports to the 1994 ILA Conference in Buenos Aires.
• ‘Committee on Maritime Neutrality: Report of Buenos Aires Session’, 1994.
• Membership lists.

CLOSED until 2029. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2044 (temporarily separated from the main file). 

Committee on International Law in Municipal/National Courts. Includes:

• ‘Executive Order No. 473, its accompanying agreement and the law of the sea’ by Ranhilio C. Aquino, article in ‘The Lawyer’s Review: For an effective administration of justice and practice of law, Manila, Philippines’, 1993.

CLOSED until 2024. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2057 (temporarily separated from the main file).

Minutes of the first meeting of the Committee at the Hague, 1967, and the following publications:

• ‘Legal Aspects of International Water Pollution’ by K.W. Cuperus, reprinted from ‘The Role of Environmental Factors in the Epidemiology’ (editors A. Giovanardi, G.M. Fara and S. Gorini).
• ‘Helsinki Rules on the Uses of the Waters of International Rivers, adopted by the ILA at the 52nd Conference Held in Helsinki on 20th August, 1966.’
• ‘Principles of Law and Recommendations on the Uses of International Rivers’, statement submitted to the International Committee of the ILA by the Committee on the Uses of Waters of International Rivers of the American Branch, 1958.
• ‘Principles of Law Governing the Uses of International Rivers and Lakes: Resolution Adopted by the Inter-American Bar Association at its Tenth Conference’, 1957-1958.
• ‘Principles of Law Governing the Uses of International Rivers’, resolution adopted by the ILA at its Conference in Dubrovnik, 1956    

Administrative correspondence, mostly dated 1990-1993. Subjects discussed include the establishment and composition of the Committee.  Includes:

• ‘Summary of the meeting of members of the former Water Resources Committee held on Sunday, 201 August 1988, at the Victoria Hotel, Warsaw’, where the subject of further study on international water law was discussed.
• ‘Legal aspects of World Bank policy on projects on international waterways’ by David Goldberg, article published in ‘Water Resources Development’, Vol 7 No 4 December 1991.
• ‘The Development of the Law of International Water Resources and the Work of the International Law Commission’ by Guillermo J. Cano, International Association for Water Law, published in ‘Water International’, 014 (1989).
• ‘Eco ’92 – ILA Future Work’, report by Professor Maureen Williams on the question of future ILA work in the field of environmental law, 1992.
• ‘Transboundary Resources Report’, newsletter published by the International Transboundary Resources Center/Centro Internacional de Recursos Transfronterizos, 1989-1995 (incomplete run).
• ‘Transboundary Groundwaters: The Bellagio Draft Treaty’, revised and augmented by Robert D. Hayton and Albert E. Utton, published by the International Transboundary Resources Center/Centro Internacional de Recursos Transfronterizos, 1989, reprinted from 'Natural Resources Journal’.

Published material open.  Remainder CLOSED until 2026. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2047 (temporarily separated from the main file).

Reports.

• ‘Working Party on Water Problems. Report of the Seventh Session as adopted by the Working Party on 10 February 1994’, United Nations Economic and Social Council, 1994.
• ‘Working Party on Water Problems. Report of the Eighth Session as adopted by the Working Party on 3 March 1995’, United Nations Economic and Social Council, 1995.
• ‘Convention on the Protection and Use of Transboundary Watercourses and International Lakes. Report of the First Meeting held in Helsinki from 2 to 4 July 1997 at the invitation of the Government of Finland’, United Nations Economic and Social Council, 1997.
• ‘Seminar on the Prevention and Control of Groundwater Pollution from the Storage of Chemicals and from Waste Disposal. Organisation of the Seminar. Note by the Secretariat’, United Nations Economic and Social Council, 1995.
• Interim Report, ILA Buenos Aires Conference, 1994.
• Paper critiquing recently adopted cross-media pollution rules, Dr Harald Hohmannn, 1995, with a covering letter from Dr Hohman.
• ‘Report of the Sessions of the Water Resources Committee of the International Law Association’, 1996.
• ‘Re: Future of the Water Resources Committee’, Alan Boyle, 1996. Together with a covering letter from Alan Boyle.
• Ninth Draft of the “Revised ILA Rules”, memorandum sent to member to the Water Resources Committee, 2003.
• ‘ILA Berlin Conference 2004 - Water Resources Committee Report. Dissenting Opinion, 2004.’

CLOSED until 2035 other than published material

International Law Association in India: Pamphlets and reports, including:

• Indian Branch of the International Law Association: Branch Sub-Committee on International Rivers, ‘A Paper on “Consideration of the Question of Diversion of Waters in International Rivers by the International Law Association”’, nd (c.1956).

'Germany after the First World War'. Material concerning the international treatment of Germany following the Treaty of Versailles, including:

• 'The Truth about the German Submarine Atrocities’ by William S. Sims, Rear-Admiral, United States Navy’, [1923].

Shipping law. Pamphlets:

• ‘Frei Schiff unter feindes Flagge: Urkundliche Darstellung der Bestrebungen zur Fortbildung des Seerechts seit 1856, auf Handelskammer’, by Ludwig Karl Aegidi and Alfred Klauhold, 1866 (two copies). 
• ‘A Juridical Review of the Case of the British Barque “Springbok”’ by Louis Gessner, [c.1873].
• ‘Some Plain Reasons for Immunity from Capture of Private Property at Sea’ by Sir John MacDonell, 1910 (two copies).
• ‘Das Seekriegsrecht nach der Londoner Deklaration vom 26. Februar 1909’ by Dr. Theodor Niemeyer, 1910.
• ‘Die Stellung der feindlichen Kauffahrteischiffe in Seekrieg’ by Dr. L. Oppenheim, [c.19013] (two copies).
• ‘The Historical Association of Scotland: Freedom of the Seas’ [by A.A. Mitchell], May 1917.
• ‘German Submarines Identification Book’, Naval Staff Intelligence Department, October 1918.
• ‘Sea Law and Sea Power’ by Sir Graham Bower, reprinted from the January-February American Law Review, 1919 (two copies).
• ‘Defensively-armed Merchant Ships and Submarine Warfare’ by A. Pearce Higgins, 1917.
• ‘The Pirate’s Progress’ by William Archer, 1918.
• ‘The Treatment of Commerce in Naval Warfare: A Paper read at the National Peace Congress held in London, May 16, 19012’ by Francis W. Hirst, printed by the International Arbitration League, [19012].
• ‘Future of Navies: Great Ships or - ?: Leading Articles reprinted from The Times with Letters from Admiral Sir Percy Scott and Others’, [1921]. 

Pamphlets and newspaper clippings re various treaties, including: 

• ‘Procès-verbal relating to the Rules of Submarine Warfare set forth in Part IV of the Treaty of London of April 22, 1930.
• ‘Treaty … for the Limitation of Naval Armament’, London, March 25, 1936.

Historical pamphlets.  Facsimiles of early modern treaties:

• ‘A Treaty Marine Between The Most Serene and Mighty Prince Charles II By the Grace of God, King of England, Scotland, France and Ireland, Defender of the Faith, etc., And the Most Serene and Mighty Prince Lewis XIV the Most Christian King. Concluded at St. Germains in Laye, the Twenty fourth day of February 1676/7.’
• ‘Treaty of Navigation and Commerce between His Britannick Majesty and the Most Christian King. Signed at Versailles, the 26th of September, 1786.’

Shipping law. Pamphlets:

• ‘Frei Schiff unter feindes Flagge: Urkundliche Darstellung der Bestrebungen zur Fortbildung des Seerechts seit 1856, auf Veranlassung der Bremer Handelskammer’, by Ludwig Karl Aegidi and Alfred Klauhold, 1866 (two copies).
• ‘A Juridical Review of the Case of the British Barque “Springbok”’ by Louis Gessner, [c.1873].
• ‘Some Plain Reasons for Immunity from Capture of Private Property at Sea’ by Sir John MacDonell, 1910 (two copies).
• ‘Das Seekriegsrecht nach der Londoner Deklaration vom 26. Februar 1909’ by Dr. Theodor Niemeyer, 1910.
• ‘Die Stellung der feindlichen Kauffahrteischiffe in Seekrieg’ by Dr. L. Oppenheim, [c.19013] (two copies).
• ‘The Historical Association of Scotland: Freedom of the Seas’ [by A.A. Mitchell], May 1917.
• ‘German Submarines Identification Book’, Naval Staff Intelligence Department, October 1918.
• ‘Sea Law and Sea Power’ by Sir Graham Bower, reprinted from the January-February American Law Review, 1919 (two copies).
• ‘Defensively-armed Merchant Ships and Submarine Warfare’ by A. Pearce Higgins, 1917.
• ‘The Pirate’s Progress’ by William Archer, 1918.
• ‘The Treatment of Commerce in Naval Warfare: A Paper read at the National Peace Congress held in London, May 16, 19012’ by Francis W. Hirst, printed by the International Arbitration League, [19012].
• ‘Future of Navies: Great Ships or - ?: Leading Articles reprinted from The Times with Letters from Admiral Sir Percy Scott and Others’, [1921].