Guide last updated by Clare Cowling, April 2023
This guide was created by Clare Cowling, IALS Archivist.
Email: ials.archives@sas.ac.uk
The records listed, which hold references to race, ethnicity, discrimination and the law, comprise material transferred to the IALS Archives by officers of the organisations listed below. The following keywords were used to find material: Aboriginal; Africa; apartheid; Asian; black; coloured; discrimination; equal opportunities; ethnic minorities; ethnicity; immigration; India; race; racial. There may be more relevant material in the general correspondence, minute books and training records of the organisations below which was not picked up in word searches. To browse the Archives catalogues for more information see this link: https://ials.sas.ac.uk/ials-library/archives/ials-archives-collections.
Access
The records listed below, other than some items held in the Barrow (BARR) collections (closed for 50 years) and some records in the Council of Legal Education (CLE) and the International Law Association (ILA) collections (closed for 30 years), may be viewed by prior appointment in the IALS Library. Some items are further closed to public access as they contain personal data. Item descriptions of closed material are nevertheless included in this guide as indicative of the various organisations’ work to combat racial discrimination in legal education. Closed items are designated in red.
Administrative history
The Committee of Inquiry was established in March 1993 "to conduct a wide-ranging investigation into the policies and practices of the Council of Legal Education (CLE) and the Inns of Court School of Law (ICSL). It was an independent inquiry but funded by the CLE. The creation of the Committee was partly in response to a large disparity in pass rates between black and ethnic minority students and white students on the Bar Vocational Course (BVC), uncovered by ethnic monitoring of the 1991/1992 intake, and partly in response to the large body of complaints about the course which had been lodged with the General Council of the Bar, and the CLE itself." (Final Report, Apr 1994, Introduction 3.1 p.8).
Conditions Governing Access
Printed/published material at BARR 07, BARR 10, BARR 11, BARR 14 and BARR 16, plus all items in BARR 12, are open other than the ICSL Handbooks. The remaining material is closed for 50 years after the last date on each file other than items containing personal data, which are closed for 75 years. Closed items are designated in red.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 01/01 | Independent Equal Opportunities Inquiry - draft terms of reference & membership. CLOSED until 2044 | [1993] |
| BARR 01/02 | Membership list and c.v.s of members of the Barrow Inquiry. Closed for 75 years under the Data Protection Act. CLOSED until 2069 | [1993] |
| BARR 01/03 | "Student perceptions of racial discrimination at the CLE" -a paper prepared for the Barrow Inquiry by Dr Robin Oakley [draft] . CLOSED until 2045 | 4 Mar 1994 |
| BARR 01/04 | Letter from Philip A Jones, University of Sheffield, Faculty of Law, to Dame Jocelyn, with thoughts on the CLE. CLOSED until 2045 | 7 Mar 1994 |
| BARR 01/05 | Paper titled "Submission by ICSL to Inquiry into Equal Opportunities on the Bar Vocational Course - Annex Y: History of the New Vocational Course" [possibly extracted from A7 CLE response to the Interim Report -see BARR 03/02]. CLOSED until 2044 | n.d. |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 02/01 (Parts 1-2) |
Papers relating to BVC final assessments, with covering letters to Inquiry members inviting them to attend. CLOSED until 2044 | 24 May – 30 June 1993 |
| BARR 02/02 | Observations of Inquiry members on classes and training at CLE. CLOSED until 2044 | 29 Apr – 22 Sept 1993 |
| BARR 02/03 | Document entitled "Teaching and academic support", containing Inquiry members' observations on classes from Apr - May 1993 [last pages missing]. CLOSED until 2044 | [1993] |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 03/01 |
List of contents and copies of material previously circulated to Inquiry members:
|
1992-1993 |
| BARR 03/02 |
Background information, numbered A1-A7:
Items in red CLOSED until 2044 |
1992-1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 04 | List of documents numbered B1-B14:
Items in red CLOSED until 2044 |
1991-1994 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 05/01 | Copy of questionnaire, covering letter, comments and analysis of students' survey. CLOSED until 2044 | 2 June 1993 |
| BARR 05/02 | C1 Student questionnaire - Module option responses. CLOSED until 2044 | [1993] |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 06/01 |
Assessment and review papers D1-D3:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1991-1993 |
| BARR 06/02 |
Papers D4-D6:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1990-1993 |
| BARR 06/03 |
Papers D7-D13:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1990-1993 |
| BARR 06/04 |
Papers D14-D18:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1991-1993 |
| BARR 06/05 |
Papers D19-D21:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1991-1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 07 |
Documents I.1-I.3:
|
1990-1992 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 08 |
Documents J1-J8:
CLOSED until 2044 |
1992-1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 09/01 |
Documents K1-K20.
Items in red CLOSED until 2046 |
1989-1994 |
| BARR 09/02 |
Documents K21-K35:
Items in red CLOSED until 2045 |
1989-1994 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 10/01 | ICSL Chancery module: conveyancing and real property: introduction and exercises CARP2-CARP11 | n.d |
| BARR 10/02 | Company law module: company law - Practical training exercises C1-C7 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/03 | General practice module: employment law option - Background papers and practical training exercises E1-E3 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/04 | General practice module: family law - Background papers and practical training exercises F1-F6 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/05 | Law of international trade - course outline and practical training exercises I1-I5 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/06 | General practice and Chancery modules: landlord and tenant - Practical training exercises L1-L10 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/07 | General practice/commercial module - Lecture handouts and practical training exercises S1-S7 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/08 | Chancery module: trusts, wills and taxation - Course outline and practical training exercises T1-T3 | 1991 |
| BARR 10/09 | Practical training exercises X1-X6, X9-X11, X13 (conference skills; negotiation; casework skills; opinion writing; drafting; advocacy) | 1991 |
| BARR 10/10 | Practical training exercises X14-X24 (opinion writing; drafting; advocacy; conference skills; negotiation; casework skills) | 1991 |
| BARR 10/11 | Practical training exercises X25-X28, X30, X32-X35, X37 (opinion writing; drafting; advocacy; casework skills; conference skills; negotiation) | 1991 |
| BARR 10/12 | Practical training exercises X38-X40, X42-X50 (advocacy; conference skills; negotiation; casework skills; opinion writing; drafting) | 1991 |
| BARR 10/13 |
Casework skills and drafting:
|
1992 |
| BARR 10/14 |
Instructors' teaching packs:
|
1991/92 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
|
BARR 11/01 |
|
1991/92 |
|
BARR 11/02 |
|
1991/92 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 12 Papers: |
|
1990-1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 13 | Appeal to HM Judges sitting as the visitors to the Inns of Court in the matter of the conduct and assessment of the Bar examination 1992 [2 copies]. CLOSED until 2068 |
11 Mar 1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 14 | Committee of Inquiry into Equal Opportunities on the Bar Vocational Course: Interim Report | Sept 1993 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 15/01 | Interim Report: Notes on Chapters 4, 5 & 6. CLOSED until 2045 | n.d. |
| BARR 15/02 |
Response to Barrow Inquiry - Supplementary Material:
|
1989-1992 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| BARR 16 | Final Report of the Committee of Inquiry into Equal Opportunities on the Bar Vocational Course | Apr 1994 |
Council of Legal Education (CLE): archives, 1852-1997
Introduction
The Council of Legal Education (CLE) was established by Resolutions of the Inns of Court in 1852, following the recommendation that year of a Legal Education Committee of the Four Inns. The CLE, consisting of eight members under the Chairmanship of Richard Bethell Q.C. (later Lord Westbury), was entrusted with the power and duty of superintending the education and examination of students who had been admitted to the Inns and was to consist of an equal number of Benchers appointed by each of the Inns. Five Readerships or Professorships were set up, to each deliver three courses of lectures per year. Students were required to attend a certain number of lectures and to pass public examinations.
Access
Some records may be closed to access under ICBET’s 30 year closure rule. Others, which contain personal data, are closed for 75 years under the Data Protection Act. Item descriptions are nevertheless included in this guide as indicative of the CLE’s work against racial discrimination. Closed items are designated in red.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| CLE 67/01 | Racial discrimination complaints by Bar students. Personal data - CLOSED until 2072 | 1989-1996 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| CLE 68/01 | Agenda, minutes and papers. CLOSED until 2027 | 1992-1996 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| CLE 69/01 | CLE papers concerning race relations and ethnic monitoring. CLOSED until 2044 | 1992-1993 |
| CLE 69/02 | CLE response to the Interim Report of the Inquiry. CLOSED until 2044 | 1993 |
| CLE 69/03 | ICSL submission and related papers. CLOSED until 2044 | 1993 |
Commonwealth Legal Association (CLEA): Records, 1971-1995
Administrative History
The Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) was founded during the Fourth Commonwealth Law Conference in New Delhi in 1971. The idea was initiated by Indian lawyer Dr Laxmi Singhvi, CLEA's first chairman. The Association's objects were to foster high standards of legal education and research in Commonwealth countries: to build up contacts between interested individuals and organizations, and to disseminate information and literature concerning legal education and research. The CLEA's structure, objectives and functions are set out in its Constitution, adopted soon after its foundation. Membership is open to individuals, schools of law and other institutions concerned with legal education and research. Patrons are appointed from various Commonwealth countries. The affairs of the Association are managed by an Executive Committee, drawn from the Commonwealth regions, which meets annually: its actions are reviewed at 5 yearly General Meetings, the first of which was held in Edinburgh during the Fifth Commonwealth Law Conference in 1977. There is an Advisory Panel in the United Kingdom. The administration of the Association was carried out by a chairman and two secretaries, one in London and one abroad. In 1990 the office of chairman was replaced by a president and executive chairperson (since renamed vice president). The President may be elected from any part of the Commonwealth: the Vice President must be established in the UK. In 1994 a South Asian regional chapter was formed.
Access
Some records are currently closed to public access under the Data Protection Act. Closed items are designated in red.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| CLEA 07/01 | Keynote address: Upendra Bai, Delhi University: Observations on Law, Language and Culture | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/02 | Peter Slinn, SOAS: The Training Course for Young Commonwealth Lawyers | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/06 | Helen Endre, Queensland University of Technology & Erika Martens, University of Adelaide: Deconstruction, Decolonisation and Reconstruction in the Australian Legal Culture: the Place of the Indigeneous Australian | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/07 | Jane Kelsey, University of Auckland: Decolonising Legal Education in Aoteroa [New Zealand] | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/08 | Prof Dr Pyayag Singh, University of Patna: Decolonisation of the Common Law and its Implications | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/15 | William Macneil, University of Hong Kong: Hong Kong, the Bill of Rights and the Question of Identity | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/16 | H M Zafrullah, City Polytechnic of Hong Kong: Law and Language in a Multi-Racial Society – the Switchover from English to the National Languages in Sri Lanka | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/18 | Bart Rwezaura, University of Hong Kong: The Constraints of Adopting Kiswahili as a Language of the Law in Tanzania | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/19 | NRM Menon, National Law School of India, Impact of Cultural Pluralism in Political Discourse and Legal Development: Some Reflections from the Indian Scene | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/20 | Mrs Kazi Ashraf Unnisa, University Law College, Bangalore: Lex Loci and the English Language – Lessons from the Indian Experience | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/21 | Dr Nik Ramlah Mahmood, University of Malaya: Bibngualism in Legal Education – a Malaysia Experience | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/22 | John Nongorr, University of Papua New Guinea: Language Problems in Papua New Guinea Courts | 1992 |
| CLEA 07/25 | Michael Kyriacon Peters, The University of Sydney: Social engineering and the Law: Immigration and Multicultural Legal Principles | 1992 |
Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP): Archives, 1989-1993
Administrative history
The Commonwealth Legal Records Project (CLRP), which began its investigations in 1990, was jointly sponsored by the Association of Commonwealth Archivists and Records Managers (ACARM) and the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA),
and was financed by a grant from the Leverhulme Foundation. It comprised a three-year IALS Archives subject guide: Race, Discrimination and the Law2023 Page 18 of 45 programme of research into modern legal records throughout the Commonwealth. The objectives of the study were to:
Publications
The project produced one book, Legal Records in the Commonwealth, and one major study, Legal Records in Accra (Ghana).
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| CLRP 05/01 | Case study: correspondence and background papers | 1990-1992 |
| CLRP 05/02 | Case study: original manuscript and completed case study | 1992 |
| CLRP 05/03 (Parts 1-2) |
Legal records workshop: aims, objectives and background papers | 1990 |
| CLRP 05/04 | Legal records workshop: correspondence concerning arrangements and participants, with evaluation reports | 1990-1992 |
| CLRP 05/05 | Legal records workshop: correspondence relating to financial arrangements | 1990-1991 |
| CLRP 05/06 | Legal records workshop: working papers - master set with contents list | n.d. |
Biographical History
Sir Dingle Mackintosh Foot (1905–1978), politician and lawyer, was born on 24 August 1905 in Plymouth, the eldest child in the family of five sons and two daughters of Isaac Foot (1880-1960), MP and solicitor, and his wife, Eva Mackintosh (1878-1946). He was educated at BembridgeSchool, Isle of Wight and at Balliol College, Oxford, where he took a second in modern history in 1927. He was president of the University Liberal Club in 1927 and of the Oxford Union one year later, before becoming secretary to his father in the House of Commons after the latter's election in 1929.
He was called to the bar at Gray's Inn in 1930, joining the western circuit.
Foot served several terms as a member of parliament. He became a bencher of Gray's Inn in 1952 and took silk two years later. He was a member of the Royal Commission on Justices of the Peace from 1946 to 1948, was appointed a member of the Committee on Intermediaries in 1949 and chaired the Observer Trust from 1953 to 1955. It was at this time that Foot cultivated his links with legal practice in the Commonwealth, being admitted as an advocate in the Gold Coast, Ceylon, Nigeria, Northern Rhodesia, Sierra Leone, India, Bahrain, Malaysia, and Southern Rhodesia. He specialized in constitutional and civil liberties cases, defending Dr Hastings Banda, then leader of the Nyasaland African Congress Party, when he was gaoled in Southern Rhodesia, and Shaikh Muhammad Abdullah, the former chief minister of Kashmir, in the Kashmir conspiracy case. He was expelled from Nigeria in 1962 while challenging the Emergency Powers Act on behalf of the western Nigerian premier, Alhaji D S Adegbenro, and was refused entry the next year when he sought to represent Chief Enaharo on a treason charge after his expulsion from the United Kingdom. Lord Diplock described him as 'an ambassador of common law throughout theCommonwealth' (The Times, 20 June 1978), and he established one of the first multiracial chambers in the Temple.
He died on 18 June 1978, during a case in Hong Kong, by choking on a sandwich in his hotel room. His remains were cremated in Hong Kong.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| FOOT 01/01 |
Legal file comprising:
|
1957 |
| FOOT 01/02 |
Memoranda and other papers relating to the Minority Commission with reference to the United Muslim Party.
|
n.d.; 1957 |
| FOOT 01/03 |
Correspondence, memoranda, notes and other papers relating to the Toro [or Tooro] Kingdom [subnational constitutional monarchy within Uganda]. Including:
|
1926-1960 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| FOOT 05 |
Newspaper cuttings published reports and other publications mainly relating to Africa, 1961-1967 |
c.1933-c.1967 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| FOOT 06 |
Album of uncaptioned black and white photographs relating to African [Libya? Egypt?] or possibly Middle |
n.d. |
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies: Institutional Archives, 1934-2016
Administrative History
In 1932 a Legal Education Committee under the Chairmanship of Lord Atkin was set up to consider the organisation of legal education in England and to make recommendations as to further provision for advanced research in legal studies. The Committee’s report in 1934 included a recommendation that an Institute of Advanced Legal Studies be established in London. In 1938 another Committee, chaired by Lord Macmillan, was set up to find a practical means of effecting this recommendation. The Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS) was established in 1946 as part of the University of London. Its aims were "the prosecution and promotion of legal research and the training of graduate students in its principles and methods" (39th Annual Report, 1985/86). Since its inception the scope of the Institute has expanded considerably, with sponsorship of and support for many research projects and the provision of facilities for other research bodies and for conferences, seminars and workshops. The Library provides facilities for academic and research staff and postgraduate research students from universities all over the world, and is one of the world's largest legal research libraries.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| IALS 02/02/03 | “Miscellaneous papers relating to applications for Ford African-Asian junior research fellowships”. Includes minutes of the Fellowship Sub-committee, Director’s correspondence and applications | 1969-1970 |
| IALS 02/02/06 | File: Committee on Legal Education for Africans | 1960 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| IALS 13/06/10 | W G Hart Legal Workshop paper: Discrimination and Law | 1990 |
Scope and content
The mss comprise a collection of donated or purchased items relating to
legal education and research, 1870-1936. Several are undated. In some cases the provenance
is unknown, as the transaction, whether by purchase or donation, was unrecorded; in some
other cases the author of the documents is also unknown.
Selected Items
| Archives Reference | Original Library Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| IALSLIB 10/2 | a/c 48687 | “Memoranda, judgements etc as to law and jurisprudence in matters of personal status, correspondence [and] memoranda, notes of cases relating to private international law, mainly in Cyprus, Palestine and Egypt” (as per handwritten notes on original file cover, front and back); includes letters, press clippings and papers dated 1930-1937. Purchased 7 Nov 1957 | 1930-1937 |
| IALSLIB 10/4 | 10/4 a/c 49000 | “Mineral rights under Moslem Law in the Zanzibar and Kenya Protectorate”, typescript, 1939; includes letter from Ernest M Dowson to Under Secretary of State, 6/4/39. Purchased 9 Oct 1958 | 1939 |
| Archives Reference | Original Library Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| IALSLIB 13 | R/A a/c 116854 | DENNING, Alfred Thompson, Baron Denning (1899-1999), judge, Master of the Rolls, Chairman, Committee on Legal Education for Students from Africa and Committee on Legal Records: Sunday Times Weekly Review; folder of articles on Lord Denning dated 17 & 24 June 1973. | 1973 |
International Law Association (ILA): Archives, 1866-2019
Administrative History
The International Law Association (ILA) was founded in Brussels in 1873 as an association 'to consist of Jurists, Economists, Legislators, Politicians and others taking an interest in the question of the reform and Codification of Public and Private International Law, the Settlement of Disputes by Arbitration, and the assimilation of the laws, practice and procedure of the Nations in reference to such laws' (afternoon sitting of the first conference of members, 19 November 1873: reference ILA 01/01). It was initially called the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Law of Nations, changing its title to the International Law Association in the early 20th century.
The Association was to consist of a Council of officers comprising a President, vice presidents, secretaries and other members of the Conference (called the Bureau), plus a series of local, departmental or provincial committees who were to report to the President. These committees have since expanded into International Committees. The ILA's activities are now organised by an Executive Council, assisted by the Headquarters Secretariat in London. Membership of the Association, at present about 4,200, is spread among branches throughout the world and ranges from lawyers in private practice, academia, industrial and financial spheres, and representatives of bodies such as shipping and arbitration organisations and chambers of commerce. The ILA has consultative status, as an international non-governmental organisation, with a number of the United Nations specialised agencies.
The ILA's objectives are pursued primarily through the work of its International Committees and the focal point of its activities is the series of Biennial Conferences. These conferences, of which over 70 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the committees.
Access
The ILA operates a 30 year closure rule. Some items are further closed to public access under The Data Protection Act. Closed items are designated in red.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 01/07/01 | Three letters from Henry Dunant [to Henry Diedrich Jencken] re the formation of the Association for the Reform and Codification of the International Law; newsletters of the English branch of the Universal Alliance; proposal paper of the International Anti-Slavery Committee of the Universal Alliance; occasional bulletin of the Alliance (French language); pamphlet ‘International Society for the Protection of Prisoners of War: A lecture delivered at Brighton, on the 15th of September, 1873 … by Henry Dunant’. Also includes envelope addressed to Wyndham Anstis Bewes in which the material was found. | 1873-1910 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 01/07/05/01 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Log books. Journals, with enclosed correspondence, chronicling Grey's participation on the mission, with details of health conditions and provisions, supplies required and action pursued. Also contains loose sheets of hand-written notes, possibly drafts for correspondence. 2 volumes | 1918-1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/02 |
Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Equipment and Stores. Lists of equipment ordered under Grey's instructions; correspondence and telegrams re orders and attempts to fill them. Includes orders of drugs and medical supplies, food and bedding. Telegrams also refer to outbreak of influenza, deaths among the soldiers | 1918-1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/03 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Routine Orders. Notebook labelled 'Samoa Relief Force 1918 Order Book', outlining staff duties, and several loose sheets of numbered 'Routine Orders', again allocating staff duties and timetables. Includes notes on rations; list of instructions for treatment and prevention of disease, entitled 'Lectures by Medical Officers to Men: Treatment of Patients'; sick notes; special orders for individual deployment. Also includes 'Windcharts of the Samoa-Islands: Made with the assistance of natives by H. Neffgen, Government Interpreter, Apia' | 1918-1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/04 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Medical notes made by Grey on conditions and treatments. Includes his notes for a survey into deaths on the islands; 'Reports of medical officers in charge of Sections'; notes on conditions in Tonga; 'Notes on Epidemic Bronchopneumonia (Spanish Influenza) in Samoa' by Francis Temple Grey (multiple copies); notes on insect borne disease, with sketch of insect [mosquito]; two small notebooks labelled A.T.S. 66 and 67, Royal Australian Navy, with details of patient symptoms; 'List of deaths of natives of Savaii', December 1918; lists of births and deaths in Savaii for the quarter ending 31st December 1918, forwarded to Grey by the Deputy Administrator of the British Military Occupation of Samoa; reports of medical relief cruises, 3rd and 14th December 1918 | 1918-1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/05 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Cables and correspondence sent and received between Grey, the Administrator of Samoa, and the Governors of Fiji and New Zealand; Melbourne; Major Alexander and H.M.A.S. Encounter | 1918-1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/06 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 – Crimes. Charge sheets detailing names of accused, offences and punishments | 1919 |
| ILA 01/07/05/07 | Samoa Relief Force 1918 - Costs | 1918 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 02/12 | Conference at London, 1887. Paper presented at the 13th Conference: 'The Growth of Civilization and Law among the Native Races of Africa' by Dr. Flickinger (two copies). | 1887 |
| ILA 02/13 | Conference at Liverpool, 1890. Paper presented at the 14th Conference: 'The Brussels Anti-Slavery Conference' by Joseph G. Alexander, L.L.B. (three copies). | 1890 |
| ILA 02/42/05 |
Reports presented by the following committees:
|
1990 |
| ILA 02/43/05 |
Reports presented at the Sixty-Fifth Conference in Cairo by the following committees:
|
1992 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 03/43 | Cultural Heritage Law Committee - administrative correspondence and emails, agreement, reports and papers. CLOSED until 2038 | 1988-2017 |
| ILA 03/43/01 |
Administrative correspondence and memoranda. Predominately administrative correspondence and memoranda re nominations and appointments to the Committee, 1988-1992. Includes:
CLOSED until 2024 |
1988-1993 |
| ILA 03/43/02 |
Administrative correspondence and emails. Predominately re Final Report and Resolution, project on indigenous cultural landscapes, draft convention on immunity from seizure for cultural objects on loan, conference reports, meetings and an UNECO grant application for the ‘Heritage Law for the 201st Century’ project. CLOSED until 2038. material). Some material (curricula vitae and private email addresses) CLOSED until 2092 (temporarily separated from the main file) |
1994-2017 |
| ILA 03/43/03 |
Photocopy of agreement re ‘Heritage Law of the 201st Century’ project, signed 16 October 2000 CLOSED until 2031 |
2000 |
| ILA 03/43/04 |
Reports and papers:
CLOSED until 2028 |
1992-1997 |
| ILA 03/62 | Rights of Indigenous People Committee -administrative emails and database printouts, early memoranda | 2006-2012 |
| ILA 03/62/01 |
Administrative emails and database printouts. Predominately re nominations, membership and the Committee’s draft mandate. CLOSED until 2042. Some material (curricula vitae) |
2006-2012 |
| ILA 03/62/02 |
Reports -‘Proposal for a Committee of the International Law Association on the Rights of Indigenous People’, undated memorandum by anonymous author.
CLOSED until 2037. |
c.2006 |
ILA 04: Regional branches of the ILA: records, 1877-2013
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/15 |
One letter (two copies) from the secretary of the ILA replying to an expression of interest from R. Tchibota-Souamy about the establishment of a national branch in Gabon. | n.d. |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/16/01 | Drafts of the constitution of the Gold Coast branch, and related correspondence between W. Harvey Moore and Edward Akufo-Addo | 1954-1955 |
| ILA 04/16/02. |
Letters concerning financial returns from the Ghana branch. Includes letters from Thomas D. Hardy regarding political developments in Ghana and the implications for the future of the branch. One letter has been temporarily removed in compliance with the Data Protection Act and is CLOSED until 2041 |
1954-1965 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/20 | Letter proposing the formation of a branch of the ILA in the Ivory Coast, with list of interested potential members, and subsequent correspondence re procedures | 1966-1968 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/23 | Correspondence re the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Libya. | 1963 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/24 | Correspondence re the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Mali. | 1988 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/25 |
Letter from Mohamed Lamouri introducing his organisation, l'Association Marocaine d'Études et de Récherches Internationales, its aims and statutes, and enquiring about establishment of a branch of the ILA in Morocco; reply from I.M. Phillips. | 1984 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/27 |
Correspondence re Tenth Annual Celebration of the Nigerian Society of International Law in 1979, and the establishment of a branch of the ILA in Nigeria, inaugurated in 1980 and formally recognised by the Executive Council in 1982. Later correspondence covers subscription fees and conference attendance. Subsequent failure to remit contributions or communication resulted in the declaration of the branch as inoperative in 1986. Also included in the file is a leaflet 'Nigerian Legal Documents Collections and Catalogues 1987/88'. A small number of letters have been withdrawn from the folder and are CLOSED until 2057. Their contents are personal and do not relate to either the Nigerian Society of International Law or the branch of the ILA in Nigeria. Recommended for de-accessioning. Additional correspondence re the possible re-establishment of the Nigerian branch in the mid-1990s has been temporarily separated from the main file and CLOSED until 2070 (private addresses). Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2071 for data protection (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1975-1995 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/31 |
Correspondence re the administration of the Trinidad and Tobago Branch of the ILA, founded in 1960 and dissolved by the Executive Council of the ILA in 1982. Includes statutes of the West Indies Branch of the International Law Association; references to political developments in the West Indies; text of a lecture by the Right Hon. Lord Wilberforce on human rights, delivered by him under the auspices of the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau on Human Rights in 1979; 'An Overview of the Human Rights Situation in Trinidad and Tobago', text of a lecture presented by Mr. Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj at the Human Rights Rally of the Trinidad and Tobago Bureau of Human Rights in 1985 | 1960-1985 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/32/02 | Administrative correspondence of the Turkish Branch of the ILA, possibly relating to Turkish members of the ILA. Mainly in Turkish, some letters are in English. Appears to focus on the work of the UN Security Council’s International War-Crime Suspects Tribunal re: BosniaHerzegovina, and the ethnic Turkish population in Western Thrace, Greece. CLOSED until 2028 | 1996-1997 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/35 | Correspondence re attempts to establish a branch of the ILA in Zambia in 1977 and 1987-88 (the latter in response to a membership drive initiated by the Association). | 1976-1988 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/36/01 | Correspondence re attempts to establish a branch of the ILA in Zimbabwe in 1984. Includes brief exchange (1975-6) re individual membership of Mr. J.N. Talbot in Rhodesia | 1975-1984 |
| ILA 04/36/02 | Memorandum re later attempt to establish a branch of the International Law Association in Zimbabwe in November 1993. Written by Willem A. Hamel, Honorary Treasurer of the International Law Association. CLOSED until 2025 | 1994 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/41 | Administrative correspondence. Includes: incomplete copy of minutes of an executive council meeting of 012 February 1940 noting resignation of Jasper Brinton; correspondence between Brinton and Arthur Jaffe, Honorary SecretaryGeneral of the ILA, re the organisation of an Egyptian Society for International Law and the establishment of an Egyptian branch of the ILA (1944); statutes of the Société Egyptienne de Droit International/Egyptian Society for International Law; drafts of statutes of the branch of the ILA in the United Arab Republic; continuing correspondence about the establishment and administration of an ILA branch in Egypt (approved in 1963), and its relation to the Egyptian Society for International Law (1946-1948; 1960-1970); ‘Declaration on Cuba’, pamphlet issued by the International Association for Democratic Lawyers, June 1961; correspondence re the absorption of the branch into the main body of the Egyptian Society for International Law in 1970, and transfer of individual membership to the headquarters branch (1971); correspondence re administration of individual membership (1985) and reestablishment of an Egyptian branch (1986); subsequent administrative correspondence (1986-1988). | 1940-1988 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/45/01 | Administrative correspondence re membership | 1961-1965 |
| ILA 04/45/02 | Administrative correspondence re membership, branch organisational structure, subscriptions and branch contributions; correspondence and code of procedure for the Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding; membership lists; 1974-1975 New Delhi conference. | 1970-1979 |
| ILA 04/45/03 |
Administrative correspondence, much of it dealing with membership, branch remittances and distribution of conference reports. Includes a typed copy of the 'Declaration of the Citizen of the Kolhan Government Estate's Allegiance to the Commonwealth Countries and to the Crown', made by the members-delegates of the Kolhan Raksha Sangh, signed and dated 1981 | 1981-1989 |
| ILA/4/45/04 |
Pamphlets and reports:
|
[1950]-1982 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/50/01 |
Administrative correspondence. Includes completed membership application forms (1959); correspondence re formation of a branch of the ILA in Pakistan; discussions of branch remittances, conference attendance and travel expenses, proposed suspension of branch due to nonpayment of subscription fees (1983-1984); membership lists. Also includes list of detained lawyers in Pakistan jails, 1985 Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2061 (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1959-1988 |
| ILA 04/50/02 |
Administrative correspondence and emails re: branch contributions; contribution concession to branches in developing countries; membership of International Committees; membership lists; status of the Pakistani branch. Includes the Pakistani branch constitution, undated. Some material (private addresses) CLOSED until 2081 (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1986-2006 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/56 | Administrative correspondence re possibility of establishing a branch of the ILA in South Africa, with specific reference to the terms of the UNESCO resolution 8 adopted by the General Conference at its sixteenth session (October-November 1970), and its 'investigation of international non-governmental organisations enjoying relations with UNESCO, which have branches, sections, affiliates or constituent parts in the Republic of South Africa or Southern Rhodesia or Portuguese-dominated African territories, with respect to the practice of racial discrimination or racial segregation in their policies, activities, or membership or their co-operation in any way with the apartheid policy of the Government of the Republic of South Africa'. |
1971-1989 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/59/01 | Administrative correspondence re: subscriptions of the Ceylon branch of the ILA, with list of office bearers of the branch (1960-1970); letter about political arrest and the State of Emergency, from the Ceylon Solidarity Campaign to the Secretary of the ILA (1972); annual report of the 29th annual general meeting of the Incorporated Law Society of Ceylon (1972); revival of the ILA branch in Sri Lanka (1975), with list of office bearers 1976/1977; discussions of subsequent revival of the branch (1985-1989). Includes press-cutting [from the Times] with text of speech made by J.R. Jayewardene at the Executive Sessions of the Commonwealth Heads of Government, 17th October 1985. | 1960-1989 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/65 |
Correspondence re: attempts to establish a branch of the ILA in Barbados or elsewhere in the Caribbean. CLOSED until 2025. Some material (private address) further CLOSED until 2069 (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1993-1994 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/75 |
Administrative correspondence and emails re: establishment of the Pacific Islands branch in 1995; branch contributions; the future of the branch in 2010. Includes the Pacific Islands branch constitution and statutes, November 1995. CLOSED until 2041. Some material (private addresses) further CLOSED until 2085 (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1992-2010 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| ILA 04/76 |
Administrative correspondence re: proposal and eventual formation of the Singaporean branch in 1983; application for the branch to cease to exist, 1995. Includes the Singaporean branch constitution, undated; statutes (two different versions, one undated and the other dated 014 December 1982); membership approval forms; membership index cards. CLOSED until 2026. Some material (private addresses) further CLOSED until 2070 (temporarily separated from the main file). |
1978-1995 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
|
ILA 06/26 |
Pamphlets relating to issues of ethnic minorities and state sovereignty:
|
1891-1927 |
| ILA 06/27 |
Pamphlets relating to issues of empire and colonialism:
|
1897-1937 |
| ILA 06/40/5 |
Clippings 1936-1937 relating to Africa and other subjects;
|
1916-1962 |
The Law Society: Examination Records, 1836-1989
Administrative History
The Law Society was founded in London in 1825 as the Society of Attorneys, Solicitors, Proctors and others not being barristers, having been previously established in 1823 as The London Law Institution. It acquired its first Royal Charter in 1831 and a further charter in 1845 established it as an independent professional organisation. The Society has delivered legal education in England since 1835 and has set examinations since 1836. From 1887-1984 these were also set for those sitting the examination in the colonies and commonwealth.
Selected items
| Reference | Title | Scope and Contents | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| LSOC 14/01 | Colonial Examinations: Barbados | Correspondence re examinations taking place in Barbados. | 1887-1906 |
| LSOC 14/02 | Colonial Examinations: Barbados | Correspondence re examinations taking place in Barbados. | 1907-1922 |
| LSOC 14/03 | Colonial Examinations: Barbados 1914-1922; British Guiana 1922-1923 | Bound examination papers for Barbados and British Guiana. | 1914-1923 |
| LSOC 14/04 | Barbados Intermediate and Final Examinations | Divided into 2 sections - intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. | 1889 -1954 |
| LSOC 14/05 | Colonial Examinations: British Guiana | Correspondence re examinations taking place in British Guiana. Including photograph of Joseph Gonsalves. | 1905-1922 |
| LSOC 14/06 | Colonial Examinations Jamaica | Correspondence, photographs of candidates; copies of relevant legislation. | 1897-1906 |
| LSOC 14/07 | Colonial Examinations Jamaica | Correspondence re holding of examinations in Jamaica. | 1907-1922 |
| LSOC 14/08 | Colonial Examinations Jamaica | Copies of examination papers. | 1914-1924 |
| LSOC 14/09 |
Jamaica Intermediate and Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED |
Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; remarks; marks -Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. | 1899-1954 |
| LSOC 14/10 | Northern Rhodesia Intermediate and Final Examinations (Including results for Grenada). Entries from 1948 CLOSED |
Divided into 4 sections: intermediate [Rhodesia?],1922-1952; intermediate Grenada 1941-1949; finals [N Rhodesia?], 1925-1953; finals Grenada 1945-1950. Arranged chronologically according to sitting Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; marks - Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. Finals,information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. |
1922 -1949 |
| LSOC 14/11 | Colonial Examinations: Trinidad | Correspondence re examinations taking place in Trinidad. | 1894-1906 |
| LSOC 14/12 | Colonial Examinations: Trinidad | Correspondence re examinations. | 1907-1922 |
| LSOC 14/13 | Colonial Examinations: Trinidad | Bound examination papers for Trinidad. | 1914-1924 |
| LSOC 14/14 |
Trinidad Intermediate and Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED |
Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; remarks; marks -Stephen's commentaries; Trust Accounts and Book- Keeping. Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. | 1916-1954 |
| LSOC 14/15 |
Colonial Final Examinations Entries from 1948 CLOSED | Information recorded: name of candidate; Degree and University (if any); Address; Name and Address of Solicitors to whom Articled (and further articled); Remarks; [Marks] -compulsory papers; [Marks] -Optional Papers; Home country of candidate; whether exam held in London; Date of exam. Arranged roughly chronologically according to year. | 1954-1962 |
| LSOC 14/16 |
[Colonial Intermediate and Final Examinations] Entries from 1948 CLOSED |
Divided into 2 sections - Intermediate at front, finals at rear of volume, then arranged chronologically according to sitting. Intermediate, information recorded: name of candidate; [marks] Trust Accounts and Book Keeping. Finals, information recorded: name of candidate; address; date and place of exam[marks] conveyancing; equity; common law and bankruptcy; divorce, probate etc; total. This volume is difficult to identify. It is titled "British Guiana Final Examinations {Including Trust Accounts and Book-Keeping}. However, elsewhere trust accounts and Book Keeping form part of the intermediate exams. In addition, on the spine alongside the embossed "British Guiana" written in ball point pen is "Hong Kong". There is no immediate indication in the volume of there being two separate countries as the entries are chronological. Other volumes containing two or more countries generally are clear as to which country is being referred to. | 1914-1954 |
| LSOC 14/17 |
Colonial Intermediate Examinations CLOSED until 2038 |
Information recorded: Name of Candidate; Address; Remarks; [Marks] - Legal portion - Real Property; Contract and Tort; Public Law; Total; [Marks] Trust Accounts & Book-Keeping; Total. Arranged chronologically and then according to country. | 1954-1962 |
| LSOC 14/18 |
Colonial CLOSED until 2046 |
Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country. Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname. Part I and Part II | Feb 1963-Aug 1970 |
| LSOC 14/19 | Colonial, volume 2 CLOSED until 2051 | Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country. Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname. Part I and Part II | Nov 1970-Aug 1975 |
| LSOC 14/20 |
Commonwealth CLOSED until 2055 |
Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country. Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname. Part I and Part II | Nov 1975-Aug 1979 |
| LSOC 14/21 |
Commonwealth. Volume 4 CLOSED |
Results volume: (no candidate number) name, degree, age, address, Principal, remarks, results, country. Arranged according to exam sitting (Feb, May, Aug, Nov) and then by country and roughly alphabetically by surname. Part I and Part II. Second half of volume is blank | Nov 1979-Feb 1982 |
| LSOC 14/22 |
Commonwealth examination papers (loose) |
Examination papers (incomplete): Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Jamaica, Trinidad May 1963; Nov 1967 Qualifying Examinations Part 1: Barbados Nov 1963 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Trinidad Nov 1963; May 1964; May1965; May 1966 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Hong May 1963; Nov 1963; May Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Northern Rhodesia, Nov 1964 Qualifying Examinations Part II: Guyana, Nov 1967 |
May 1963-Nov 1967 |
| LSOC 14/23 | Commonwealth examination papers (loose) |
Examination papers (incomplete): Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Kong, May 1968; Nov 1968; May 1969; Nov 1969 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Possibly Zambia, May 1970, Nov 1971; Nov 1972 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Jamaica, Nov 1970 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Trinidad, May 1971; Nov 1971 |
May 1968-Nov 1972 |
| LSOC 14/24 | Commonwealth examination papers (loose) |
Examination papers (incomplete): Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Barbados Nov 1973; Nov 1974 Qualifying Examinations Parts I-II: Hong Kong Nov 1973 Qualifying Examinations Part I: Jamaica Nov 1973 |
Nov 1973-Nov 1974 |
Socio-Legal Studies Association (SLSA): Archives, 1972-2017
Administrative History
According to a statement of ethical practice in the Socio-Legal Studies Association's 1995 Directory of Members, socio-legal studies may be defined as embracing "disciplines and subjects concerned with the social effects of the law, legal processes, institutions and services". SLSA was established to promote and support the work of sociolegal scholars, to facilitate the regular exchange of ideas and information and to represent the socio-legal research interest in discussions with other bodies.
The SLSA grew out of an informal group of academics who met at annual conferences to discuss matters of interest. In 1988 it was decided that the group needed a higher profile, and a conference was arranged in Oxford which was attended by over 100 people. The success of the conference permitted another to be held in Edinburgh in 1989, at which the proposal was made to create a formal Association. A Steering Committee was set up to formally establish the SLSA at the 1990 conference in Bristol, using some funds from various law faculties and from the Nuffield Foundation. A newsletter was first published in March 1989; in 1990 an editor was appointed to produce a regular newsletter.
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Scope and Contents | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| SLSA 5/15 | SLSA Postgraduate Conference, Birkbeck, 2009 | Equality Monitoring Form | 2009 |
Professor William L Twining, Law Teacher (TWIN): Papers, 1944-2006
Biographical History
William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education. He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of
Chicago. He was Chair of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) from 1983-1993 and Supervisor of the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (records held in the IALS Archives; ref: CLRP).
University posts:
Selected Items
| Reference | Title | Scope and Contents | Dates |
|---|---|---|---|
| TWIN 02/02/01 |
Programme and papers delivered at the CLEA Seminar 1975 | Joint seminar between CLEA and International Legal Center, December 1975, taking as its starting point the ILC Report on Legal Education in a Changing World. Includes Commonwealth Institute for Legal Education and Training Proposal for teacher training. Papers collated by Fiona Cownie. | 1975 |
| TWIN 02/02/02 | Papers re the Commonwealth Legal Education Association | Correspondence, Includes African law schools and legal skills taught in the Commonwealth. | 1982-1992 |
| TWIN 02/02/03 | Printed material and correspondence regarding legal teaching and provision of legal information in Zimbabwe and South Africa | Includes correspondence with Cassandra Goldie re "Notes on visits to Nairobi, Lesotho, Harare." | 1988- 1993 |
| TWIN 02/02/04 | Outline of training weekend entitled Reforming legal education to meet society's needs: the Xanadu case | Faxed document, pages 3 to 5 only. | 1989 |
| TWIN 02/02/05 | File: "Legal Awareness": Papers re The Commonwealth Legal Education Association | Includes correspondence with the Ford Foundation and the Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative | 1991-1992 |
| TWIN 02/04/09 | Equal Opportunities at the Inns of Court School of Law: Final Report of the Committee of Inquiry into Equal Opportunities on the Bar Vocational Course | Annotated. | 1994 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| TWIN 03/02/03 | Report: Law for Non-Lawyers: Some Preliminary Reflections, William Twining, prepared for Meeting of Commonwealth Law Ministries, Sri Lanka, Feb 1983. | 1983 |
| TWIN 03/04/02/30 |
"W&N Dummett & Nicol 1982 Pub". Correspondence re proposed volume British Nationality and Immigration by Ann Dummett and Andrew Nicol | 1981-1982 |
| TWIN 03/27/03 | Papers relating to William Twining’s role as an External Examiner for law examinations at: Ahmadu Bello University; University of East Africa and the University of Ife, Nigeria | 1967-1970 |
| Reference | Title | Dates |
|---|---|---|
| TWIN 04/02/03 | Report on the Committee on Legal Education from Students from Africa | 1961 |
| TWIN 04/02/04 | Report of the Commission for the Reorganisation of Legal Education in Kerala | 1964 |
| TWIN 04/02/42 | Conference programme for Lawasia '93, held in Sri Lanka | 1993 |