Technology: Archives guide

This guide was created by Clare Cowling, IALS Archivist.

Email: ials.archives@sas.ac.uk

This guide covers both the application of the law to technological issues and the use of technology by the institutions listed. The records below in the IALS Archives catalogues were identified using the following keywords: automation; computer; data; database; Lexis; technology; technological; web. The abbreviation “IT” was not searched as it threw up too many irrelevant hits. There will no doubt, therefore, be more relevant material in the general correspondence, minute books and training records of the institutions listed below which was not picked up in word searches. To browse the Archives catalogues for more information see this link: https://ials.sas.ac.uk/ials-library/archives/ials-archives-collections.

Access: some items are not yet open for public access under the various organisations’ closure rules (usually 20 years after last date on file); others are closed for 75 years as they contain personal data. Item descriptions are nevertheless included in this guide as indicative of the various organisations’ work in the technology field. Closed items are designated in red.

British and Irish Association of Law Librarians (BIALL): Archives, 1969-2017

Administrative history: The British and Irish Association of Law Librarians (BIALL) arose from an Ad Hoc Committee which was convened at the First Workshop on Law Librarianship, Leeds, 1968. The purpose of the Ad Hoc Committee was to investigate the possibility of setting up a British equivalent to the International Association of Law Libraries. BIALL was formally established on 16 April 1969 at the Second Workshop on Law Librarianship, in Harrogate. The first AGM was held in September that year. Although affiliation to other groups such as the International Association of Law Librarians and The Library Association had been suggested, BIALL was set up as an independent body.

The original aims of the organisation were: to hold conferences and provide forums for people to meet and discuss questions relating to law libraries; to promote the better administration of law libraries; to promote the role of law librarian; to promote bibliographical study and research; to publish information of interest to the membership; and to work with other bodies for the benefit of the Association.

Selected items:

BIALL 03 Annual Study Conference: records, 1970-2018

Reference	Title	Dates
BIALL 03/17	Documents from 16th Annual Study Conference 1985, Manchester Polytechnic: Information Technology and Law Libraries.	1985
BIALL 03/22	Documents from 21st Annual Study Conference 1990, Trinity College, Dublin: Making Connections: the Impact of Europe and Computers	1990
BIALL 03/27	Documents from 26th Annual Study Conference 1995, University of Manchester: Locks and keys – Assessing Legal Information	1995
BIALL 03/28	Documents from 27th Annual Study Conference 1996, , University of Ulster, Jordanstown: Adapting to Reality Law, Computers and Change in Libraries. Includes Annual Study Conference evaluation	1996
BIALL 03/30	Documents from 29th Annual Study Conference 1998, The Guildhall, Portsmouth: Books, Bytes and Boats	1998
BIALL 03/34	Documents from 33rd Annual Study Conference & Exhibition 2002, Adelphi Hotel, Liverpool: We’ve gotta have IT	2002
BIALL 03/44	Documents from 45th Annual Study Conference & Exhibition, 2014, Harrogate International Centre: Data, Data Everywhere.  Brochure only	2014

BIALL 09 Administration, 1973-2005

Reference	Title	Dates
BIALL 09/06	Equipment and Supplies. Primarily re purchase of a computer to list membership records	1986-1992

BIALL 14: BIALL Committees, 1967-2009

BIALL 14/03: Standing Committee on Automation and Union Catalogues, 1971-1976

Administrative History: This committee merged with the Sub-Committee on Cataloguing and Classification in 1976.

Reference	Title	Scope and Contents	Dates
BIALL 14/03/01	Committees: Automation & Union Catalogues 1971-1975	Correspondence and minutes of the Standing Committee on Automation and Union Catalogues. Includes Report Automation or Research and Development? By D Raistrick.	1971-1976

BIALL 14/07 Standing Committee on Cataloguing and Classification, 1967-1995

Extent and form: 3 files

Administrative History: This was originally the Sub-Committee on Legal Thesauri. It quickly became known as the Sub-Committee on Cataloguing and Classification. In 1976 it merged with the Standing Committee on Automation and Union Catalogues. In 1992/3 it became a sub-committee of the Standing Committee on Library and Information Provision (SCOLIP) – see BIALL 14/13 for further records.

Reference	Title	Scope and Contents	Dates
BIALL 14/07/01	Standing Committee on Cataloguing and Classification	Correspondence and blank questionnaires to be sent to law libraries re cataloguing.	1967-1995
BIALL 14/07/02	(Standing Committee on Cataloguing and Classification): Annual Reports		1973-1993
BIALL 14/07/03	(Standing Committee on Cataloguing and Classification): Minutes		1972-1993

BIALL 14/12 Standing Committee on Library Provision and Information Services (SCOLPIS), 1976-1997

Administrative history: the Sub-Committee on Law Library Provision was formed in 1976, with its focus to be “All matters relating to the provision of legal literature and law library services”. In 1980 this committee merged with the Working Party on Computer-Assisted Legal Information to form the Standing Committee on Library Provision and Information Services. In 1992/3 SCOLPIS was replaced by the Standing Committee on Library and Information Provision (SCOLIP).

Related material: see BIALL 14/13 for the records of SCOLIP.

Reference	Title	Scope and Contents	Dates
BIALL 14/12/01	Committees: Law Library Provision	Includes notes for verbal report to Council regarding the hand-over of work to the newly formed SCOLPIS.	1976-1992
BIALL 14/12/02	Annual Reports 1976/77 – 1992/93		1977-1993
BIALL 14/12/03	Standing Committee on Library Provision and Information Services: Minutes	Includes 1979-1980 minutes of the BIALL Working Party on Computerised Legal Information Retrieval.  Wanting minutes from 1976/77 (2 meetings); 1977/78 (1 meeting); 1983/84 June (?) meeting; 1988; 27 June 1990; 11 September 1991.	1979-1990
BIALL 14/12/04	SCOLPIS: Establishment 1976 and Membership to 1992		1976-1992
BIALL 14/12/05	LAWLIP (Law library and information plan)	Correspondence and articles re LawLIP.	1989-1992

BIALL 14/13 Standing Committee on Legal Information Provision (SCOLIP), 1978- 1999

Administrative history: replaced the Standing Committee on Library Provision and Information Services in 1992/3. In 1999 SCOLIP was disbanded.

Related material: see BIALL 14/12 for records of the Standing Committee on Library Provision and Information Services, and its predecessors.

Reference	Title	Dates
BIALL 14/13/01	SCOLIP: correspondence re membership; reports; and Committee’s aims.  Includes copy of the publication Law and Order: Trends in Legal Information Provision.	1992-1999
BIALL 14/13/02	Annual Reports 1992/93 – 1998/99	1993-1999
BIALL 14/13/03	Minutes	1993-1999
BIALL 14/13/04	BILETA [British and Irish Legal Education Technology Association]	1986-1996
BIALL 14/13/05	Cataloguing and Classification [Sub-Committee]	1992-1996
BIALL 14/13/06	Copyright	1978-1995

BIALL 20 Membership, 1969-2006

Reference	Title	Notes	Dates
BIALL 20/06	Mailing List and Membership Database	Correspondence re database and use of mailing list.	1987-1993
BIALL 20/05	[Membership] Lists. CLOSED until 2064.	At this point membership lists were transferred to the computer.	1978-1988

BIALL 27 Records of Legal Information Management Editorial Board, 1994- 2006

BIALL 27/01 Records of Meetings of the Editorial Board, 1995-2006

Reference	Title	Scope and Contents	Dates
BIALL 27/01/05	Law Librarian Chair	Agendas, minutes, budget, publishing agreement, correspondence with editors, correspondence re name change, annual reports and correspondence re web survey	1995-2001

BIALL 28: Web Editorial Board, 1996-2013

BIALL 28/01 Web Editorial Board Minutes, 1998-2013

Reference	Title	Scope and Contents	Dates
BIALL 28/01/01	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 1998	Minutes from October meeting; related correspondence	1998
BIALL 28/01/02	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2000	Agenda and minutes for May, September and December meetings	2000
BIALL 28/01/03	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2001	Minutes for March, July and October meetings	2001
BIALL 28/01/04	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2002	Minutes for Jan, April, July and October meetings	2002
BIALL 28/01/05	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2003	Minutes for March and October meetings	2003
BIALL 28/01/06	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2004	Minutes for Jan, April, July and October meetings	2004
BIALL 28/01/07	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2005	Minutes for January meeting	2005
	[Minutes for 2006-2008 WANTING]
BIALL 28/01/08	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2009	Minutes from meetings held in February, July and September 2009.	2009
BIALL 28/01/09	Web Editorial Board meeting minutes, 2010	Minutes from meetings held in February, September and November 2010.	2010
BIALL 28/01/10	Web Committee meeting minutes, 2011	Minutes from meetings held in January, March, May, July, October and November.	2011
BIALL 28/01/11	Web Committee meeting minutes 2012. CLOSED until 2033	Minutes from meetings held in March, May, July and October 2012	2012
BIALL 28/01/12	Web Committee meeting minutes, 2013. CLOSED until 2034	Minutes of meetings held in March and May 2013.	2013
BIALL 28/01/13	Web Committee meeting minutes, 2014. CLOSED until 2035	Minutes of meetings held in March, May, July and November 2014.	2014
BIALL 28/01/14	Web Committee meeting minutes, 2015. CLOSED until 2036	Minutes of meetings held in March and May 2015	2015

BIALL 28/02 Papers of the Web Editorial Board, 1996-2013

Reference	Title	Dates
BIALL 28/02/01	Annual Reports 1998/99 - 2007/08; reports; Web Editorial Survey; Web Editorial Board terms of reference	1996-2008
BIALL 28/02/02	Correspondence and Response to Lord Chancellor’s Department Consultation Paper on metadata scheme for websites in the legal and advice sectors	2000-2001
BIALL 28/02/03	Draft Proposal for a BIALL Communications Policy Annotated by Susan Scorey	2011
BIALL 28/02/04	BIALL Website Access Policy. CLOSED until 2034	July 2013

BIALL 34 Honorary Secretary’s records, 1993-2003

Reference	Title	Dates
BIALL 34/10	Correspondence with Liz Carpenter, Honorary Secretary, re website	1999-2001

Council of Legal Education (CLE): Archives, 1852-1997

Administrative history: the Council of Legal Education (CLE) was established by Resolutions of the Inns of Court in 1852, following the recommendation that year of a Legal Education Committee of the Four Inns. The CLE was entrusted with the power and duty of superintending the education and examination of students who had been admitted to the Inns and was to consist of an equal number of Benchers appointed by each of the Inns.  Five Readerships or Professorships were set up, to each deliver three courses of lectures per year.  Students were required to attend a certain number of lectures and to pass public examinations.  The examinations were held thrice yearly, in Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity terms.  The CLE was given the power to grant dispensations to students unable to attend all required lectures.

The CLE continued to oversee legal education for the Bar until 1997. In that year the CLE transferred most of its responsibilities and assets to the ICSL.  Its responsibility for supporting education and training for the Bar was passed to a new body, the Inns of Court and Bar Educational Trust (ICBET), while its regulatory function was passed to the General Council of the Bar.  In 1997 the CLE ceased to operate.  

Selected items:

CLE 45: Dean of Faculty's (Later Dean Of ICSL) Correspondence, alphabetically arranged, 1960’s-1991

Reference	Title	Dates
CLE 45/02	Computers: Society for Computers and Law	1979-1980

Commonwealth Legal Association (CLEA): Records, 1971-1995

Administrative history: the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) was founded during the Fourth Commonwealth Law Conference in New Delhi in 1971.   The idea was initiated by Indian lawyer Dr Laxmi Singhvi, CLEA's first chairman.  The Association's objects were to foster high standards of legal education and research in Commonwealth countries: to build up contacts between interested individuals and organizations, and to disseminate information and literature concerning legal education and research.

The CLEA's structure, objectives and functions are set out in its Constitution, adopted soon after its foundation.  Membership is open to individuals, schools of law and other institutions concerned with legal education and research.  Patrons are appointed from various Commonwealth countries.  The affairs of the Association are managed by an Executive Committee, drawn from the Commonwealth regions, which meets annually: its actions are reviewed at 5 yearly General Meetings, the first of which was held in Edinburgh during the Fifth Commonwealth Law Conference in 1977.  There is an Advisory Panel in the United Kingdom.  The administration of the Association was carried out by a chairman and two secretaries, one in London and one abroad.  In 1990 the office of chairman was replaced by a president and executive chairperson (since renamed vice president).  The President may be elected from any part of the Commonwealth: the Vice President must be established in the UK.  In 1994 a South Asian regional chapter was formed.

Selected items:

CLEA 02: Papers of W L Twining as a CLEA Officer, 1973-1994

Biographical note: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.  He has been Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961), Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965), Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972) and Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982).  From 1983-1996 he was the Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London.  

Reference	Title	Dates
CLEA 02/64	Papers relating to establishment of a human rights database, University of Dar es Salaam	1991

International Association of Law Libraries (IALL): Archives

Administrative History: the International Association of Law Libraries was founded in 1959 with the purpose of promoting and supporting the work of Law Libraries and related agencies, in order to facilitate research and use of their materials on a multinational and co-operative basis. Its functions and activities have developed to include professional education and development, by means of annual courses, participation in major conferences including the International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA), the publication of the International Journal of Legal Information, and other scholarly publications. It also awards scholarship bursaries for and makes an annual award for the best legal website.

Selected items:

IALL 08: Dr Klaus Menzinger - files, 1973-1986

Historical note: Dr Klaus Menzinger served as:

• President, 1983-1986
• First Vice-President, 1980-1983
• Member of the Board of Directors, 1977-1980

Reference	Title	Dates
IALL 08/06	Conference file: Munchen [49th IFLA Council and General Conference, Munich, 1983]. Correspondence re conference and IALL session "Computers and the Law".	1982-1983

IALL 11: Ann Morrison - files, 1998-2003

Historical note: Ann Morrison held the following positions in IALL:

• Secretary, 2001-2004; 2004-2007
• Board of Directors, 1995-1998; 1998-2001

Reference	Title	Dates
IALL 11/01	IALL Secretary's File. includes Minutes of Board Meetings; budgets; papers re revised constitution; Melbourne Conference 1999; Cape Town Conference 2002; Scholarships; Annual Reports; Website awards.  CLOSED until 2024	1998-2003

IALL 23: Jules Winterton - files, 1988-2013

Administrative history: Jules Winterton held the following IALL positions:

• Immediate Past President, 2010-2013
• President, 2004-2007, 2007-2010
• First Vice-President, 2001-2004
• Board of Directors, 1995-1998; 1998-2001 
• Past Chair of the IALL Scholarships Committee

Reference	Title	Dates
IALL 23/03	File on setting up and awarding IALL website awards.	2001-2009

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS): Institutional Archives, 1934-2021 

Administrative History: the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (IALS) was established in 1946 as part of the University of London.  Its aims were "the prosecution and promotion of legal research and the training of graduate students in its principles and methods" (39th Annual Report, 1985/86).  Since its inception the scope of the Institute has expanded considerably, with sponsorship of and support for many research projects and the provision of facilities for other research bodies and for conferences, seminars and workshops.  The Library provides facilities for academic and research staff and postgraduate research students from universities all over the world, and is one of the world's largest legal research libraries.   In 1994 IALS became a major component of the School of Advanced Study. 

Selected items:

IALS 13: Printed and Published Papers produced by or concerning the Institute, 1947-2019

Reference	Title	Date
IALS 13/08/07	Patricia Hassett, Using Expert System technology to Improve Bail Decisions	1992

IALS 15: IALS Library Catalogues 1978-1995

Scope and contents: the library collections were originally catalogued onto index cards.  A system of microfiche was introduced later before work started to computerise the catalogue.  

IALS 15/05: Temporary Catalogues 1992

Scope and Contents: Vol 1 covers items received but not yet catalogued, and items ordered  and not yet received.  Instructions on the front cover indicate that this list was to be used if the reader was unable to find a specific item in the computer catalogue (post-1981 acquisition ones).

Vols 2 – 3 contain items from the LAQ90-91 Acquest file 
Vol 4 is a revised edition of Vols 2 – 3.

Reference	Title	Date
IALS 15/05/01	Temporary Catalogue	1992
IALS 15/05/02	Temporary Catalogue A – I	1992 May
IALS 15/05/03	Temporary Catalogue J – Z	1992 May
IALS 15/05/04	Temporary Catalogue	1992 Nov

 

Institute of Advanced Legal Studies Library (IALSLIB): Manuscript Material relating to Legal Education and Research

Scope and content: the mss comprise a collection of donated or purchased items relating to legal education and research, 1870-1936. Several are undated.  In some cases the provenance is unknown, as the transaction, whether by purchase or donation, was unrecorded; in some other cases the author of the documents is also unknown.

Selected items:

IALSLIB 17: EUROLEX papers on educating students on the use of an early legal information database, 1985

Administrative note: Eurolex is a network of independent service providers. The members work with advice and training in the fields of law and administration.

Immediate source of acquisition: donated to the Archives in 2016 by Professor Colin T Reid, Dundee Law School. 

Reference	Title	Dates
IALSLIB 17	Eurolex papers on educating students on the use of an early legal information database, comprising: A note of the Eurolex Scottish Academic User Forum meeting, 24 May 1985 Eurolex Notes for Tutors (copyright 1985, European Law Centre Ltd) Eurolex Notes for Students (copyright 1985, European Law Centre Ltd) Note of Lexis Educational Users Group meeting, 22 May 1985, prepared by Prof Reid (copyright IALS)	1985

International Law Association (ILA): Archives, 1866-2019

Administrative History: the International Law Association (ILA) was founded in Brussels in 1873 as an association 'to consist of Jurists, Economists, Legislators, Politicians and others taking an interest in the question of the reform and Codification of Public and Private International Law, the Settlement of Disputes by Arbitration, and the assimilation of the laws, practice and procedure of the Nations in reference to such laws' (afternoon sitting of the first conference of members, 19 November 1873: reference ILA 01/01). It was initially called the Association for the Reform and Codification of the Law of Nations, changing its title to the International Law Association in the early 20th century. 

The Association was to consist of a Council of officers comprising a President, vice presidents, secretaries and other members of the Conference (called the Bureau), plus a series of local, departmental or provincial committees who were to report to the President. These committees have since expanded into International Committees. The ILA's activities are now organised by an Executive Council, assisted by the Headquarters Secretariat in London. Membership of the Association, at present about 4,200, is spread among branches throughout the world and ranges from lawyers in private practice, academia, industrial and financial spheres, and representatives of bodies such as shipping and arbitration organisations and chambers of commerce. The ILA has consultative status, as an international non-governmental organisation, with a number of the United Nations specialised agencies. 

The ILA's objectives are pursued primarily through the work of its International Committees and the focal point of its activities is the series of Biennial Conferences. These conferences, of which over 70 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the committees.

Access: some items are closed to public access under the ILA’s 30 year closure rule; applications for accelerated access should be made to the Chief Operating Officer (chief.operations@ila-hq.org).  Some other records are closed for 75 years under The Data Protection Act.  Closed items are designated in red.

Selected items:

ILA 01: Records of the Executive Council, 1873-2010

ILA 01/09 Seminars and conferences, 1973-2015

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 01/09/04	Conference on Operational and Legal Aspects of Transborder Data Flows. Administrative correspondence re organisation of seminar held in London 16-17 October 1985. Includes completed hotel reservation forms, letters of invitation to speakers, promotional leaflet and 'Speaker's guide and checklist', programme.	1984-1985

ILA 01/11: Publications, 1936-2005

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 01/11/06	Correspondence and papers relating to a proposal to publish an International Law Association Conference Report Index Database’	2001

ILA 02: Conference, 1874-2014

Administrative background: the focal point of the ILA's activities is the series of Biennial Conferences.  These conferences, of which 69 have so far been held in different locations throughout the world, provide a forum for the comprehensive discussion and endorsement of the work of the ILA's international committees.

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 02/55/04	Conference in London, 2000.  Conference workshop and session reports including: - Workshop 1. Problems and Prospects for Regulating Biotechnology’.	2000
ILA 02/58/01	Conference in Berlin, 2004.  Administrative correspondence and emails . Subjects include updating of conference website.  Some material (participation list and private addresses) CLOSED until 2080	2002-2005

ILA 03: International Committees, 1875-2019

 

Reference	Title	Dates
ILA 03/26/02	Committee on International Trade Law.  Administrative correspondence.  Includes announcement and programme of a Conference on the Exhaustion of Intellectual Property Rights and Parallel Importation in World Trade, November 1998, organised by the Committee in cooperation with the Graduate Institute of International Studies, Geneva, and the World Bank Science and Technology Network (TechNet). CLOSED until 2030. One item CLOSED until 2050 (temporarily separated from the main file).	1994-1999
ILA 03/32/01	Committee on Maritime Neutrality.   In 1989 the Committee for the Study of Humanitarian and Medical Law (1957-1989) was reorganised to form the Committee on Maritime Neutrality (established in 1990). Administrative correspondence. Subjects discussed include report on: ‘The Adoption of a Code of Conduct relating to Reproductive Technologies’, presentation at the Warsaw ILA Conference by Professor Bartha Maria Knoppers, paper for the Committee for the Study of Humanitarian and Medical Law.  CLOSED until 2025. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2049 (temporarily separated from the main file).	1990-1994
ILA 03/58	International Law on Biotechnology Committee - administrative emails and database printouts. Predominately re establishment of the committee, nominations, and membership. CLOSED until 2039. Some material (curricula vitae and address lists) CLOSED until 2083 (temporarily separated from the main file.	2003-2008

The Society of Legal Scholars: Archives, 1909-2020

Administrative history: the Society of Public Teachers of Law (SPTL) was founded in 1909 by Dr Edward Jenks, the then Principal and Director of Studies of the Law Society. 

Since its inception, the SPTL has acted to improve the quality of legal education and research through publishing reports, setting up working parties, putting forward submissions, holding conferences and producing journals and newsletters on matters relevant to legal education. Its representation on the different law teaching bodies in England and Wales has meant that it has operated with great effectiveness as a pressure group for change.

In 2002 the Society of Public Teachers of Law was renamed the Society of Legal Scholars.

Selected items:

SPTL 33: Nick Wikeley’s Papers as Honorary Secretary and President of the SPTL/SLS, 1998-2006

Reference	Title	Dates
SPTL 33/01/13	Data Protection: Correspondence regarding Society’s need to be registered for the purposes of data protection	2001

SPTL 34: Records of Peter Niven, Administrative Secretary of the SPTL, July 1996-2001

Reference	Title	Dates
SPTL 34/01/01	General Correspondence File 1. Includes organisation chart of SPTL; Report on Database Proposals for SPTL.	Aug 1996 -Dec 1997
SPTL 34/07/04	Executive Papers Meeting 5 Feb 1998 including Report on Database Proposal for SPTL	Feb 1998

SPTL 44/02: Honorary Secretary’s Files, 1997-2006

Reference	Title	Dates
SPTL 44/02/20	Miscellaneous: correspondence re SPTL membership of other bodies, administration of society, LexisNexis, CHULS Minutes 2006, and copy of Alexander Maxwell Law Scholarship Trust. CLOSED until 1 January 2027	2002-2006
SPTL 44/02/36	Website. CLOSED until 1 January 2026	2001-2005

Socio-Legal Studies Association Archives, 1972-2017

Administrative history: according to a statement of ethical practice in the Socio-Legal Studies Association's 1995 Directory of Members, socio-legal studies may be defined as embracing "disciplines and subjects concerned with the social effects of the law, legal processes, institutions and services".  SLSA was established to promote and support the work of socio-legal scholars, to facilitate the regular exchange of ideas and information and to represent the socio-legal research interest in discussions with other bodies.

SLSA grew out of an informal group of academics who met at annual conferences to discuss matters of interest.  In 1988 it was decided that the group needed a higher profile, and a conference was arranged in Oxford which was attended by over 100 people.  The success of the conference permitted another to be held in Edinburgh in 1989, at which the proposal was made to create a formal Association.  A Steering Committee was set up to formally establish the SLSA at the 1990 conference in Bristol, using some funds from various law faculties and from the Nuffield Foundation.  A newsletter was first published in March 1989; in 1990 an editor was appointed to produce a regular newsletter.

Selected items:

SLSA 10: Financial Records, 1989-2004 

Reference	Title	Dates
SLSA 10/3/7	Papers re FEMLAW (Feminist Legal Network Website). CLOSED until 2024	2002-2003

SLSA 17: Rosemary Hunter (Secretary): Correspondence and miscellaneous papers, 2011-2016

 

Reference	Title	Dates
SLSA 17/6	Miscellaneous correspondence; Includes correspondence re: website design. CLOSED until 2034	2011-2013

Professor William L Twining, Law Teacher (TWIN): Papers, 1944-2006

Biographical History: William Lawrence Twining (b.1934) has had a long and distinguished career in law teaching and has been involved in many projects relating to legal education.  He was educated at Charterhouse School, Brasenose College, Oxford and the University of Chicago.  

He was Chair of the Commonwealth Legal Education Association (CLEA) from 1983-1993 and Supervisor of the Commonwealth Legal Records Project (records held in the IALS Archives; ref: CLRP). 

University posts:

• Lecturer in Private Law at the University of Khartoum (1958-1961)
• Senior Lecturer in Law at University College, Dar-es-Salaam (1961-1965)
• Professor of Jurisprudence at the Queen's University, Belfast (1965-1972)
• Professor of Law at the University of Warwick (1972-1982)
• Quain Professor of Jurisprudence at University College London (1983-1996)
• Director of University of London LLM Review (1992-1993)

Selected items:

TWIN 03 Papers relating to research projects, 1965-2014

Reference	Title	Dates
TWIN 03/04/02/100	Correspondence with Colin Tapper re Computers and the Law	1973

TWIN 04 Third party research material and articles, 1944-2006

Reference	Title	Dates
TWIN 04/02/26	Report: Computer Assisted Instruction in the Practical Legal Training Course, Peter Underwood, The College of Law	1984