Guide last updated by Isabel Patterson, December 2024
This guide was created by Isabel Patterson, Graduate Trainee Library Assistant at the IALS Library.
We'd love to hear your comments about this Research Guide.
Email ials@sas.ac.uk
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on artificial intelligence. To find additional resources you will need to search Library Search, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword.
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/Conflict of Laws (SH).
All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching Library Search for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Enquiry Desk on the 2nd floor.
Artificial intelligence material is shelved at SB80.
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on artificial intelligence. Please follow the links to Library Search for further information and location. Some titles are only available in print, while others are available in print and online.
Barfield, Woodrow & Pagallo, Ugo Research handbook on the law of artificial intelligence 2018
De Bruyne, Jan & Vanleenhove, Cedric Artificial intelligence and the law 2nd rev. ed. 2023
Buyers, John Artificial intelligence: the practical legal issues 2018 (print only)
Collins, Ronald K.L. Robotica: speech rights and artificial intelligence 2018 CUP (online only)
Crawford, Kate Atlas of AI: power, politics, and the planetary costs of artificial intelligence 2021
Custers, Bart & Fosch-Villaronga, Eduard Law and artificial intelligence: regulating AI and applying AI in legal practice 2022 (print only)
DiMatteo, Larry A. The Cambridge handbook of artificial intelligence: global perspectives on law and ethics CUP 2022 (online only)
Girasa, Rosario J. Regulation of innovative technologies: blockchain, artificial intelligence and quantum computing 2022 (print only)
Girasa, Rosario J. Artificial intelligence as a disruptive technology: economic transformation and government regulation 2020
Hervey, Matt & Lavy, Matthew The law of artificial intelligence 2024 (print only)
Pihlajarinne, Taina & Alén-Savikko, Anette Artificial intelligence and the media: reconsidering rights and responsibilities 2022
Sourdin, Tania Judges, technology and artificial intelligence: the artificial judge 2021
Turner, Jacob Robot rules: regulating artificial intelligence 2019 (print only)
Tzimas, Themistoklis Legal and ethical challenges of artificial intelligence from an international law perspective 2021 (print only)
Wischmeyer, Thomas & Rademacher, Timo Regulating artificial intelligence 2020 (print only)
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on artificial intelligence from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only available in print, while others are available in print and online. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on artificial intelligence but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
Computer and telecommunications law review
Computer law & security review: the international journal of technology law and practice
Computer law review international (print only)
Harvard journal of law and technology
Information & communications technology law
International journal of law and information technology
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning artificial intelligence issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the Jurisdiction Guides and Library Search to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the A-Z Databases page or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on artificial intelligence law.
A valuable free source is BAILII, the British and Irish Legal information Institute which is based and maintained at IALS. It provides free access to full text UK judgments and legislation on a wide range of subjects including artificial intelligence law and also links to other free World Law databases.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on artificial intelligence law:
Berkeley Technology Law Journal
Yale Law School, Information Society Project
IViR, University of Amsterdam, Institute for Information Law
IALS Information Law & Policy Centre
SCL, Society for Computers and Law (leading UK organisation for practitioners in IT law)