Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legislation: Related guides & useful links

A guide to finding legislation both in print and online, in the IALS Library and further afield

Legislation

Useful links for legislation research

BAILII
The British and Irish Legal Information Institute's website provides links to free online legislation.

Eagle-i
A searchable gateway to good quality law websites for research, covering a wide range of jurisdictions. Can be used to find free online sources of legislation.

FLAG Foreign Law Guide
A directory of foreign, international and comparative law holdings in UK universities and national libraries. Can be used to track down legislation not held at IALS Library.

Legislation.gov.uk
The UK government's legislation website.

WorldLII
Provides free online access to legislation for a wide range of jurisdictions.

Related IALS Research Guides

Databases Guide
An introduction to IALS Library's electronic resources. This guide will help you decide which database to use to find legislation on a particular jurisdiction or area of international law.

Jurisdiction Research Guides
A collection of legal research guides for specific jurisdictions. The guides include details of key sources of legislation.

International Law Research Guides
A collection of legal research guides for international law. The guides include details of key sources of legislation.

United Kingdom: Legal Research Guide
A guide to conducting legal research in the UK, including detailed descriptions of legislation sources.

Quick Guides to key Databases
Includes guides to Westlaw and Lexis Library and a comparison table of the two databases.