Guide last updated by Katherine Read, February 2023
This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.
This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Criminal Law. Please consult the Library Catalogue for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Criminal Law. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).
IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:
Please request these at the Library Enquiries Desk on the 2nd Floor.
For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.
The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). . All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.
When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Enquiries Desk on the 2nd floor.
Criminal Law material for England & Wales is shelved at GA2.D.4
European Union Criminal Law material is shelved at GO1.A1.D.4
Comparative Criminal Law material is shelved at SB30
International Criminal Law and Extradition material is shelved at SG95
The following list represents a selection of textbooks on criminal law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your family name. E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide.
Aksenova, M. and others Breaking the cycle of mass atrocities: criminological and socio-legal approaches in international criminal law 2019
Archbold, J. Archbold: Criminal pleading, evidence and practice 2022 Thomson Reuters (e-book)
Ashworth, A. & Campbell, L. The criminal process 5th ed. 2019
Bassiouni, M. International criminal law 3 vols. 3rd ed. 2008
Blackbourn, J. Accountability and review in the counter-terrorist state 2020
Bogg, A. and others Criminality at work 2020 OUP (e-book)
Cassese, A. International criminal law 3rd ed. 2013
Cassese, A. The Rome statute of the international criminal court 2002
Cryer, R. An introduction to international criminal law and procedure 4th ed. 2019
Dyson, M. Blackstone's statutes on criminal law 32nd ed. 2022
Dennis, I. Law of evidence 8th ed. 2020
Heller, K. and others Oxford handbook of international criminal law 2020 OUP (e-book)
Horder, J. Ashworth's principles of criminal law 10th ed. 2022
Maguire, M. et al. Oxford handbook of criminology 5th ed. 2012
Rider, B Research handbook on international financial law 2015 Elgar (e-book)
Ormerod, D. Smith, Hogan and Ormerod's criminal law 16th ed. 2021
Schabas, W. Introduction to the international criminal court 6th ed. CUP 2020 (e-book)
Simester, A Simester and Sullivan's criminal law: theory and doctrine 6th ed. 2016
Stahn, C. A critical introduction to international criminal law CUP 2019 (e-book open access)
Wieczorek, I. The legitimacy of EU criminal law 2020 Bloomsbury (e-book)
Zander, M. The Police and Criminal Evidence Act 9th ed. 2023 S & M (e-book)
Zander, M. Cases and materials on the English legal system 2007
IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles on criminal law. from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others are also available in e-format. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on criminal law. but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.
American criminal law review Open Access
American journal of criminal law E-Journal
British journal of criminology E-Journal
Canadian journal of criminology and criminal justice E-Journal
Criminal law bulletin E-Journal
Criminal law forum E-Journal
Criminal law review E-Journal
Current issues in criminal justice E-Journal
Howard journal of criminal justice E-Journal
Journal of criminal law E-Journal
Journal of criminal law and criminology Open Access
Journal of international criminal justice E-Journal
Revue de science criminelle et de droit pénal comparé
Rivista italiana di diritto e procedura penale
South African journal of criminal justice E-Journal
Western criminology review E-Journal
If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning criminal law. issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.
Consult the Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.
Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to Law Databases or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.
Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.
You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.
Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on criminal law.
The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on criminal law.
ASIL international electronic resource guide: international humanitarian law
Criminal Cases Review Commission (England, Wales and Northern Ireland)
Crown Prosecution Service (England and Wales)
Lyonette Louis-Jacques 'Comparative Criminal Procedure: A Select Bibliography'. Updated May/June 2021 (Globalex)