Skip to main content

Data Protection and Privacy: IALS Library Guides

An introduction to the library's holdings on Data Protection and Privacy law

In this Guide

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Data Protection and Privacy. Please consult the Library Catalogue and the List of Current Serials for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

Update information

Last updated:

Katherine Read, August  2020

About the author KR

This guide was created by Katherine Read, Principal Library Assistant at the IALS Library.

Email katherine.read@sas.ac.uk

Your comments

We'd love to hear your comments about this Research Guide.

Email ials@sas.ac.uk

Introduction to the Library Catalogue

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Data Protection and Privacy. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

  • Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
  • Key texts for LLM students are often kept in the Short Loan collection.

Please request these at the Library Enquiries Desk on the 2nd Floor.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

Books

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH). . All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Enquiries Desk on the 2nd floor.

Data Protection and Privacy material for England & Wales is shelved at GA2.C.5
European Union Data Protection and Privacy  material is shelved at GO1.A1.C.5
Comparative Data Protection and Privacy material is shelved at SB50

 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on  Data Protection. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your  family name. 

Austloos, J.  The Right to erasure in EU data protection law OUP 2020 (e-book)

Azevedo, Celso de  Cyber risks insurance: law and practice  Sweet & Maxwell/Thomson Reuters 2019 (e-book)

​Bernal, P. The internet, warts and all: free speech, privacy and truth.  Cambridge Core 2019 (e-book)

Burdon, M. Digital data collection and information privacy law  Cambridge Core 2019 (e-book)

Bygrave, L. Data privacy law: an international perspective OUP 2014 (e-book)

Carey, P.  Data protection: a practical guide to UK and EU law   5th ed. OUP 2018

Cate, F. and Dempsey, J.  Bulk collection; systematic government access to private sector data  2nd ed. OUP 2017 (e-book)

Cullen, S. Freedom of information in the UK  Sweet and Maxwell  2019 (e-book)

Encyclopedia of data protection and privacy  Sweet and Maxwell  1988- (e-book)

Encyclopedia of information technology law (ed. Saxby)  Sweet and Maxwell  1990- (e-book)

Cole, D and others  Surveillance, privacy and transatlantic relations  Bloomsbury 2017 (e-book)

Erdos, D.  European data protection regulation, journalism and traditional publishers: balancing on a tightrope?  OUP 2020 (e-book)

Feiler, L and others  The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) : a commentary  Globe 2018

Gatley, C. Gatley on libel and slander  Sweet and Maxwell 2013 (e-book)

Kuschewsky, M.  Data protection and privacy 2016 : jurisdictional comparisons  Sweet and Maxwell 2016 (e-book)

Lambert, P.  The right to be forgotten: interpretation and practice   Bloomsbury  2019 (e-book)

Leenes, R. and others   Data protection and policy: the internet of bodies   Bloomsbury 2019 (e-book)

Long, C. & Brisby, P.  Global telecommunications law and practice   Sweet and Maxwell  2000- (e-book)

Lynskey, O. The foundations of EU data protection law  OUP  2015

Monti, A. and Wacks, R.  Protecting personal information: the right to privacy reconsidered. Bloomsbury 2019 (e-book)

Morgan, R. & Boardman, R. Data protection strategy: implementing data protection compliance  Sweet & Maxwell /Thomson Reuters 2019  (e-book) 

Murphy, M. Surveillance and the law: language, power and privacy  Routledge 2019

Selinger, E and others  The Cambridge  handbook of consumer privacy Cambridge Core 2019 (e-book)

Van Alsenoy, B.  Data protection law in the EU: Roles, responsibilities and liability   Cambridge Core 2019 (e-book)

Walters, R. Data protection law: a comparative analysis of Asia-Pacific and European approaches  Springer 2019

 

Back to TOP

Serials

IALS Library holds a selection of current serial titles covering aspects of data protection. These are mostly online journals but the link below will provide details of any hard copy if available. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on data protection. but there may be relevant articles in less specialised journals.

Communications law

Compliance & risk

Computer law and security review

Computers and law

International data privacy law 

Information & communications technology law

International journal of information security

International review of law computers and technology

Journal of computer security

Privacy and data protection

Back to TOP

Legislation and law reports

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning data protection and privacy issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the List of Serials and Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to the Electronic Law Library or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

 

Back to TOP

Free internet sources

Eagle-i is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on data protection and privacy isses.

The following represent a sample of the available quality individual web resources on criminal law.

Council of Europe website  

https://ials.sas.ac.uk/eagle-i/council-europe-data-protection-website?position=6&list=2jxAtejBOEjSMHQ1QI10rK0TKuAGrontyygoaQG1CPo

​Official website of the European Union 

https://ials.sas.ac.uk/eagle-i/2018-reform-eu-data-protection-rules?position=4&list=2jxAtejBOEjSMHQ1QI10rK0TKuAGrontyygoaQG1CPo

Information Law and Policy Centre blog. The ILPC is based a IALS and the site gives access to their online publicatons and events

https://infolawcentre.blogs.sas.ac.uk/

 

Back to TOP