Skip to Main Content

Legal Podcasts: Guide and Resources: Legal Podcasts on the Web

Guide to podcasting

Graphical image of a loud hailer or megaphoneTell Us About a Podcast

If you know of a podcast series, let us know and we will add it to our list.

Criteria

Remember, all podcasts submitted will need to be:

  • Current
  • Discursive or informative
  • Reflect legal trends and opinions 

Any courses, blog posts or articles about creating a podcast should include free content or easy availability.

 

Podcasts, Online Tutorials and Articles

 

Browse by A-Z  list or by Type. Click letter to expand the directory contents.  Podcast are available on a variety of platforms including Spotify, Apple Podcasts and SoundCloud.  

Graphical image of a white exclamation mark enclosed in a red circleThe directory lists podcasts that students, academics or the general user may find of interest to broaden the understanding of topics surrounding law but not as a main aide to research on legal issues. The directory also contains links to tutorials, articles or blog posts on how to create a podcast.

 

Nothing to see here yet.

A Beginner's Guide to Academic Podcasting

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Article

Date: 2018

Brief Description:

Introduction to producing podcasts in academia.  Lists example podcast producers along with some additional resources.

 

ABA Law Student Podcast

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2015 - present

Brief Description

Discusses issues that affect law students, law schools and recent graduates in the USA. Includes interviews with academics and practitioners.

BBC Law In Action

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 1984 - present

Brief Description:

Long running  series exploring legal issues, discussed with leading experts from the UK and abroad and those whose lives have been affected by the legal system.

 

Bloomberg Law

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2016 - present

Brief Description:

Analysis and discussion of major legal issues and cases in the news. Predominantly cases and news from the United States.  

City Law School Law and Society Podcast

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2022 - present

Brief Description

A series of interviews with experts in law to discuss legal issues and their context.  The podcast series focus is on UK law but with references to international law.

 

COUNTERSIGN

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 - present

Brief Description

COUNTERSIGN is a podcast hosted by Stewart Motha, Professor of Law at Birkbeck.  Professor Motha and guests discuss books, films, and other materials from across disciplines to consider new perspectives on law, difference, and being in common.

Digital Edge

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2013 - present

Brief Description:

Authors, speakers, and legal technologists discuss topics at the intersection of law and technology in the USA.

 

Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London: The Verdict

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2022 to present

Brief Description:

Podcast produced by the Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London.  Looks at current issues and discusses them with leading commentators and experts.  Subjects discussed include  human rights, human trafficking, intellectual property law and digital rights.

EJIL: The Podcast!

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

EJIL: the podcast! features editors of the European Journal of International Law discussing international law issues.  Provides discursive analysis of current legal issues.

 

Employment Law Matters

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Looks at different aspects of employment law in the UK.

First 100 Years

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief description:

Podcast series looks at the history of women in the legal profession.  Each episode discusses key themes such as diversity, work/life balance and gender stereotypes.  The First 100 Year website has more resources and information on the project: https://first100years.org.uk/

Get Legally Speaking

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Focuses on explaining legal concepts in plain language.  UK law specific.  

Nothing to see here yet.

ICLR Podcasts in Law – A Selection 

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Blog 

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

Cumulative round up of podcasts reviewed by the team at the ICLR.  Primarily concerned with UK law but does include podcasts from other jurisdictions.

 

Insights Techniques: Start Planning a Podcast

Country of origin: UK

TypeVlog (video blog)

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

A selection of video guides on planning a podcast series from the University of the Arts. Includes videos on topics from selecting a format to scripting a podcast.

 

Investigating the Post Office Scandal – the podcast

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2022 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast covers the ongoing Post Office Horizon IT scandal, one of the largest miscarriages of justice in UK legal history.  Includes interviews and discussion with commentators and legal experts.  Content presented by journalists Rebecca Thomson and Nick Wallis.  Accompanying website includes the latest news on the scandal plus links to newsletters and blog posts.

 

Ipse Dixit A Podcast on Legal Scholarship

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

Concentrates on legal scholarship featuring a different guest each week.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

Just Cause: Exploring Social Justice and the Law

Country of origin: Australia

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2023 to present

Brief Description:

Created by staff and students by the University of Sydney Law School Social  Justice Committee.  Looks not only at legal concepts surrounding social justice but also the use of podcasting for law students.

Kids Law

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 to present

Brief Description:

Discusses current UK laws that affect children.  Each week an invited guest looks at a different aspect of the law.  Podcast is aimed at both adults and children.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

LawCareers.Net Podcast

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A podcast focusing on law as a career.  Interview groups include students, trainees and law firm partners.  The podcast is divided into areas such as Practice Area Profiles and Commercial Connect, interspersed with interviews with students and lawyers.   UK law specific.

 

LawNext

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A weekly podcast concentrating on legal technology and the law.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

LawPod, Queen's University Belfast - School of Law

Country of origin: NI/UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2017 to present

Brief Description:

Podcast explores legal issues with academics and practitioners.  Looks at the student experience and showcases current research, current legal issues and key legal concepts. Contetnt is produced by staff and students at the School of Law, Queen’s University Belfast.

 

Law Pod UK

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2017 to present

Brief Description:

Looks at civil and public law in the UK.  This podcast publishes any additional information to the UK Human Rights Blog, https://ukhumanrightsblog.com/

 

Law Society Podcasts

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A series of podcasts produced by the Law Society.  Includes discussions on cases and legislations with commentary by legal professionals.  Podcasts can be browsed by subject or type. Two podcast series: Human Rights and Education can be found on Spotify or Apple ITunes.

 

Lawyer 2 Lawyer

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2005 to present

Brief Description:

Part of the Legal Talk Network, this podcast takes current news stories and discusses them from a legal point of view.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

Lawyer Stories

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast relates stories from legal professionals in the US looking at their career paths.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

Legal Current

Country of origin:  USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2011 to present

Brief Description:

A podcast series from Thomson Reuters on current legal topics or subjects in the news. Each podcast is accompanied by a brief written introduction.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts but does contain information from other jurisdictions.

 

Legal Room UK

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at legal topics in the UK.  Each topic is discussed with legal experts in the field with an emphasis on explaining legal concepts, terms and usage.  UK law specific.

 

Let's Talk Law, King's College London

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 - 2023

Brief Description:

This podcast is produced by King's College London UK and looks at law as a career.  Guest include graduates who have made law their career.

 

LGBT+ Lawyer: The Law Society

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast series is produced by the Law Society as part of its LGBT+ network.  Includes interviews and discussions on issues surround LGBT law in the UK.

 

Linkubator

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

This series looks at legal technology and innovation.  Produced by Linkaters, this podcast includes guests from both the legal and technical professions. Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

Listen Up Law Students: These Podcasts Could Help You Study 

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Article

Date: 2017

Brief Description:

An article from the Guardian newspaper listing a number of law related podcasts for students of law.

 

LSE Law School Podcast Library

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

Produced by the LSE Law School.  Podcasts are categorised by subject, with discussions from academics in law.

Max Planck Lawcast

Country of origin: Germany

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2023 to present

Brief Description:

Published bi-weekly, this podcast showcases academic research being conducted across the various Institutes within the Max Planck Law network.  The podcast series also has its own research paper series avaiable from their website.  Podcast is in English.

 

Media Law Podcast

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Produced by City Law School and the University of Leeds School of Law, this podcast looks at topical issues surrounding media law.

Nothing to see here yet.
Nothing to see here yet.

PhD Masterclass Podcasts, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2011-2021

Brief description:

A selection of podcasts for research students engaged in academic research for their PhD.  Topics include: critical thinking; socio-legal research; writing your thesis and preparing for the viva.  Each podcast is hosted by academics and lecturers from a number of law schools including the Institute. All podcasts can be found on the School of Advanced Study YouTube channel or from our website.

 

Podcasting for Public Engagement: An Online Tutorial

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Course or tutorial

Date: 2020

Brief Description:

A brief tutorial on producing podcasts with emphasis on public engagement.  Looks at all aspects of podcasting.

 

Pupillage Podcast

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018-2019

Brief Description:

A podcast series produced by the Middle Temple, London.  Each episode looks at aspects of the pupillage process with guests drawn from the legal profession.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

Nothing to see here yet.
Nothing to see here yet.

Serial

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2014-2022

Brief Description:

The podcast consists of three seasons dramatized with actors and music, narrated by the podcast creator/researcher. The podcast divided by seasons, with each season focused on true events in the US:  a murder, espionage and a year inside an American courthouse.  Each season is accompanied by additional materials which can be found on the website.

 

Simple Guide to Academic Podcasting from the LSE

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Blog

Date: 2014

Brief Description:

A three-part blog post from the LSE (London School of Economics), on how to create a podcast series. Part of the LSE Review of Books series

TED Radio Hour

Country of origin:  USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

An offshoot of TED Talks, this podcast looks at a broad range of topics discussed with experts in the field.  This podcast is non-law specific but covers the wider issues.

 

Talking Law:  Women in the Law UK

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at a wide range of subject around the legal professions.  Guests include leading figures in UK law.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

UK Law Weekly

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2016 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at recent decisions and news from the UK courts.  Each episode is published weekly. Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

Nothing to see here yet.
Nothing to see here yet.
Nothing to see here yet.

Yours Lawfully, Produced by QMUL Postgraduate Law and Technology Students

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 to present

Brief Description:

Produced by postgraduate law and technology students at Queen Mary University London, this podcast explores the themes of technology, intellectual property and media.  

Nothing to see yet.

Browse by Type

 

Click on Type to expand selection.

 

ICLR Podcasts in Law – A Selection 

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Blog

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

Cumulative round up of podcasts reviewed by the team at the ICLR.  Primarily concerned with UK law but does include podcasts from other jurisdictions.

 

Insights Techniques: Start Planning a Podcast

Country of origin: UK

TypeVlog

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

A selection of video guides on planning a podcast series from the University of the Arts. Includes videos on topics from selecting a format to scripting a podcast.

 

Simple Guide to Academic Podcasting from the LSE

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Blog

Date: 2014

Brief Description:

A three-part blog post from the LSE (London School of Economics), on how to create a podcast series. Part of the LSE Review of Books series

A Beginner's Guide to Academic Podcasting

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Article

Date: 2018

Brief Description:

Introduction to producing podcasts in academia.  Lists example podcast producers along with some additional resources.

 

Listen Up Law Students: These Podcasts Could Help You Study 

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Article

Date: 2017

Brief Description:

An article from the Guardian newspaper listing a number of law related podcasts for students of law.

Podcasting for Public Engagement: An Online Tutorial

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Course or tutorial

Date: 2020

Brief Description:

A brief tutorial on producing podcasts with emphasis on public engagement.  Looks at all aspects of podcasting.

 

ABA Law Student Podcast

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2015 - present

Brief Description

Discusses issues that affect law students, law schools and recent graduates in the USA. Includes interviews with academics and practitioners.

 

BBC Law In Action

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 1984 - present

Brief Description:

Long running  series exploring legal issues, discussed with leading experts from the UK and abroad and those whose lives have been affected by the legal system.

 

Bloomberg Law

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2016 - present

Brief Description:

Analysis and discussion of major legal issues and cases in the news. Predominantly cases and news from the United States.  

 

City Law School Law and Society Podcast

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2022 - present

Brief Description

A series of interviews with experts in law to discuss legal issues and their context.  The podcast series focus is on UK law but with references to international law.

 

COUNTERSIGN

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 - present

Brief Description

COUNTERSIGN is a podcast hosted by Stewart Motha, Professor of Law at Birkbeck.  Professor Motha and guests discuss books, films, and other materials from across disciplines to consider new perspectives on law, difference, and being in common.

 

Digital Edge

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2013 - present

Brief Description:

Authors, speakers, and legal technologists discuss topics at the intersection of law and technology in the USA.

 

Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London: The Verdict

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2022 to present

Brief Description:

Podcast produced by the Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London.  Looks at current issues and discusses them with leading commentators and experts.  Subjects discussed include  human rights, human trafficking, intellectual property law and digital rights.

 

EJIL: The Podcast!

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

EJIL: the podcast! features editors of the European Journal of International Law discussing international law issues.  Provides discursive analysis of current legal issues.

 

Employment Law Matters

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Looks at different aspects of employment law in the UK.  

 

First 100 Years

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief description:

Podcast series looks at the history of women in the legal profession.  Each episode discusses key themes such as diversity, work/life balance and gender stereotypes.  The First 100 Year website has more resources and information on the project: https://first100years.org.uk/

 

Get Legally Speaking

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Focuses on explaining legal concepts in plain language.  UK law specific.  

 

Ipse Dixit A Podcast on Legal Scholarship

Country of origin : USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

Concentrates on legal scholarship featuring a different guest each week.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

Just Cause: Exploring Social Justice and the Law

Country of origin: Australia

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2023 to present

Brief Description:

Created by staff and students by the University of Sydney Law School Social  Justice Committee.  Looks not only at legal concepts surrounding social justice but also the use of podcasting for law students.

 

Kids Law

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 to present

Brief Description:

Discusses current UK laws that affect children them.  Each week an invited guest looks at aspects of the law.  Podcast is aimed at both adults and children.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

LawCareers.Net Podcast

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A podcast focusing on law as a career.  Interview groups include students, trainees and law firm partners.  The podcast is divided into areas such as Practice Area Profiles and Commercial Connect, interspersed with interviews with students and lawyers.   UK law specific.

 

LawNext

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A weekly podcast concentrating on legal technology and the law.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

LawPod, Queen's University Belfast - School of Law

Country of origin: NI/UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2017 to present

Brief Description:

Podcast explores legal issues with academics and practitioners.  Looks at the student experience and showcases current research, current legal issues and key legal concepts. Contetnt is produced by staff and students at the School of Law, Queen’s University Belfast.

 

Law Pod UK

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2017 to present

Brief Description:

Looks at civil and public law in the UK.  This podcast publishes any additional information to the UK Human Rights Blog, https://ukhumanrightsblog.com/

 

Law Society Podcasts

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

A series of podcasts produced by the Law Society on a range of topic.  Includes discussions on cases and legislations with commentary by legal professionals.  Podcasts can be browsed by subject or type. Two podcast series: Human Rights and Education can be found on Spotify or Apple ITunes.

 

Lawyer 2 Lawyer

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2005 to present

Brief Description:

Part of the Legal Talk Network, this podcast takes current news stories and discusses them from a legal point of view.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

Lawyer Stories

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast relates stories from legal professionals in the US looking at their career paths.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts.

 

Legal Current

Country of origin:  USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2011 to present

Brief Description:

A podcast series from Thomson Reuters on current legal topics or subjects in the news. Each podcast is accompanied by a brief written introduction.  Primarily concerned with US law and legal concepts but does contain information from other jurisdictions.

 

Legal Room UK

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at legal topics in the UK.  Each topic is discussed with legal experts in the field with an emphasis on explaining legal concepts, terms and usage.  UK law specific.

 

Let's Talk Law, King's College London

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 - 2023

Brief Description:

This podcast is produced by King's College London UK and looks at law as a career.  Guest include graduates who have made law their career.

 

LGBT+ Lawyer: The Law Society

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast series is produced by the Law Society as part of its LGBT+ network.  Includes interviews and discussions on issues surround LGBT law in the UK.

 

Linkubator

Country of origin : UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019

Brief Description:

This series looks at legal technology and innovation.  Produced by Linkaters, this podcast includes guests from both the legal and technical professions. Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

LSE Law School Podcast Library

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2020 to present

Brief Description:

A podcast produced by the LSE Law School.  Podcasts are categorised by subject, with discussions from academics in law.

 

Max Planck Lawcast

Country of origin: Germany

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2023 to present

Brief Description:

Published bi-weekly, this podcast showcases academic research being conducted across the various Institutes within the Max Planck Law network.  The podcast series also has its own research paper series avaiable from their website.  Podcast is in English.

 

Media Law Podcast

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2019 to present

Brief Description:

Produced by City Law School and the University of Leeds School of Law, this podcast looks at topical issues surrounding media law.

 

PhD Masterclass Podcasts, Institute of Advanced Legal Studies

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2011-2021

Brief description:

A selection of podcasts for research students engaged in academic research for their PhD.  Topics include: critical thinking; socio-legal research; writing your thesis and preparing for the viva.  Each podcast is hosted by academics and lecturers from a number of law schools including the Institute. All podcasts can be found on the School of Advanced Study YouTube channel or from our website.

 

Pupillage Podcast

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018-2019

Brief Description:

A podcast series produced by the Middle Temple, London.  Each episode looks at aspects of the pupillage process with guests drawn from the legal profession.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

Serial

Country of origin: USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2014-2022

Brief Description:

The podcast consists of three seasons dramatized with actors and music, narrated by the podcast creator/researcher. The podcast divided by seasons, with each season focused on true events in the US:  a murder, espionage and a year inside an American courthouse.  Each season is accompanied by additional materials which can be found on the website.

 

TED Radio Hour

Country of origin:  USA

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

An offshoot of TED Talks, this podcast looks at a broad range of topics discussed with experts in the field.  This podcast is non-law specific but covers the wider issues.

 

Talking Law:  Women in the Law UK

Country of origin:  UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2018 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at a wide range of subject around the legal professions.  Guests include leading figures in UK law.  Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

UK Law Weekly

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2016 to present

Brief Description:

This podcast looks at recent decisions and news from the UK courts.  Each episode is published weekly. Primarily concerned with UK law and legal concepts.

 

Yours Lawfully, Produced by QMUL Postgraduate Law and Technology Students

Country of origin: UK

Type:  Podcast

Date: 2021 to present

Brief Description:

Produced by postgraduate law and technology students at Queen Mary University London, this podcast explores the themes of technology, intellectual property and media.