Social Justice and Diversity: IALS Library Guides

Guide last updated by Katherine Read, January 2025

This guide aims to give a brief introduction to the Library's holdings on Social Justice and Diversity Please consult the Library Catalogue for complete information on current titles and locations. If you require further assistance please contact us.

Monday-Friday 9:30-17:00
Tel (0)20 7862 5790
Email ials@sas.ac.uk

This Subject Guide only lists a selection of Library resources on Social Justice and Diversity. To find additional resources you will need to search the Library Catalogue, which covers the complete holdings of the Library. It is possible to search for books, journals and series of law reports by author, title or keyword. Please note it is not possible to search for individual chapters, journal articles or legislation (e.g. individual Acts or SIs).

IALS Library is mainly open access and readers are able to browse the shelves in the main collection. There are two main exceptions to this:

• Older items (marked RES or Depository on the catalogue record) are kept in the closed basement.
• Key texts for LLM students may be kept in the  Short Loan collection if e-access is not available.

Please request these at the Library Enquiry Desk.

For more information on understanding the catalogue record and further guidance on the location of materials please refer to our guide Classmarks and the Location of Resources in the Library.

Back to TOP

The Library classifies textbooks either by jurisdiction (GO13, GA2 etc.) or according to subject area, examples of which include Comparative Law (SB), Public International Law (SG) and Private International Law/ Conflict of Laws (SH).

All classmark sections have a FOL section for oversize volumes, which is located on the same floor of the Library.

When you are searching the Library Catalogue for books, please note that only the current edition is held on the open shelves or in the Short Loan collection. IALS has a rich collection of previous editions held in the closed basement and these will display a Depository number on the catalogue. Please request previous editions from the Enquiry Desk. 

The following list represents a selection of textbooks on constitutional and administrative law. Please check the catalogue records for further information and location. Titles marked as e-books may also be available in print. Access from home requires your IALS library barcode and your  family name.  E books with 'open access' status on the catalogue are available to all users of this guide. 

Bedi, S.  Private racism  CUP 2020 (e-book) 

Clauss-Ehlers, C. and others  Social justice for children and young people: international perspectives  CUP 2020 (e-book)

Clayton, S. and others  Unaccompanied young migrants: identity care and justice  Policy Press 2019

Cowan, D. & Mumford, A.  Pandemic legalities: legal responses to Covid-19: justice and social responsibility Bristol University Press 2021 (e-book)

Eichler, J. and  Topidi, K.  Minority recognition and the diversity deficit: comparative perspectives Hart 2022 (e-book) 

Gilleri, G. Sex, gender and international human rights law: contesting binaries  Routledge 2024

Harris, N.  Education, law and diversity: schooling for one and all  Bloomsbury 2020 (e-book) 

Hill, M. & Brewster, T.   Seen and unseen : technology, social media and the fight for racial justice  Atria 2023

Holden, L.  Cultural expertise, law and rights: a comprehensive guide  Routledge 2023 (open access)

Langille, B. Social justice and the world of work: possible global futures  Bloomsbury 2023 (e-book)

Michelli, N. and others  Education for social justice: the meaning of justice and current research Taylor & Francis 2023 (e-book) open access

Schabas, W.  The international legal order's colour line : racism, racial discrimination and the making of international law. OUP 2023 (e-book) 

Swilling, M. The age of sustainability: just transitions in a complex world  OAPEN 2020 (open access)

Walker, L.  States-in-waiting: a counter narrative of global decolonization  OUP 2024 (open access) 

IALS Library holds a wide selection of current serial titles which include articles on Social Justice and Diversity from many different jurisdictions. These are located on all floors of the Library. Some titles are only in printed volumes while others or available in both formats. For more detailed help, please refer to the guide on Finding journal articles. The following titles focus particularly on Social Responsibility/Diversity. The selection is limited but many other journals may hold a selection of articles covering these topics. 

Annals in social responsibility (e-journal)

Journal of law, social justice and global development  2017-  Open access journal published by University of Warwick 

If you are interested in legislation or cases concerning Social Justice and Diversity law issues in specific countries you will need to consult the legislation or law reports for that jurisdiction.

Consult the  Library Catalogue to find the general classmark for the country you require. Consult consolidations of legislation, digests or indexes to trace particular acts or cases.

Academic users may also use databases like Lexis/Westlaw to find UK, US, EU or international decisions. For further information please refer to Law Databases or ask at the Library Enquiry Desk.

Please refer to the serials section of this guide to find relevant law report series.

You may also find it useful to refer to our guides on finding Legislation and Cases or check to see if we have a Jurisdiction Research Guide for the country you are interested in.

Eagle-i  is an internet portal maintained and updated by IALS library staff. It allows you to search for quality web resources on Social Justice and Diversity. 

Anti-Colonial Research Library Holds an interdisciplinary collection of articles, books, websites and videos on the topic of decolonising research

Center for Economic and Social Rights (CESR) is an  international NGO working to establish a rights based economy

Justice is a law reform and human rights organisation based in the UK

Systemic Justice  is an NGO dedicated to advancing racial, social and economic justice by means of strategic litigation

Urban Lawyers is a charity which works towards making a career in the legal profession more accessible to socially disadvantaged groups